We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of "up north" in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A bit of "up north" in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our "go to" hotel was booked so chose Stoney Creek. It was not a let down. We were met with a wonderful, pleasant person at registration (Sara I believe) who was well informed of all the activities in town resulting in hotels being booked. You could tell she loved her job and the hotel. We had a hotel on the lower level (panic came across me when I heard that...it was on same level as the pool...all I thought about was noise!) but the room was generous in size, had a view outside not filled with cars or buildings but of nature. It was very clean and comfortable. Upon wondering around we found the saloon. Great bartender! The beds were comfortable and we slept ok (this was the only downside)...we were hot then cold. The temperature regulation was difficult. The weather was also stormy outside. Shower was smaller than most - but fine. All in all recommended to those looking for something outside of the regular chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    122
    26
    9
    13
See reviews for
153
104
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We attended a wedding and the wedding reception at this venue. Everything was near perfect. The staff were friendly, the room was very nice, with a view of the wedding right from our window. The hotel provided it's own security for the reception, and the gentleman did a very good job controlling the alcohol, crowd and noise, while remaining polite. The hotel, overall, was very nice. We would stay here again for any occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Suburbs of Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice hotel that is comfortable, has a very nice bar, a wide variety of room types, and a large pool/hot tub. They even have an adult swim hour between 10pm to 11pm. Very close off of I-90. Everything you could need is within a mile of this place. Starbucks is across the street! THis was the 4th time we have stayed here for an extended weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdojaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past and again they did an excellent job. We book a large number of rooms and they make it easy. Susan Safronoff and her team do a great job of communicating as we check and recheck reservations. Check in was very fast as we all arrive at one time (C.H.R.O.M.E. is a motorcycle group from our church). Thanks again and I am sure we will be back. I also like the covered parking close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riceball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great place, good beds, nice rooms. Down / down replacement pillows, comfy firm bed. Windows maybe a bit thin (highway construction last night). Maybe ask for facing the hills. Super great price compared to competition.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with our choice of Stoney Creek. Very friendly service, very clean, quite(had lower floor end room}, and a nicely decorated room. The pool facility was very cool, goes indoors and outdoors. Breakfast was a little lacking, not many items. It was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBNY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, WI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for a seminar, for which a block of rooms had been held. Pros: 1) The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and checking in and out was quick; 2) The hotel had a cute, woodsy theme; 3) Our room was clean and overall appealing, and the bed was very comfortable. Cons: 1) Our room did not have a refrigerator; it would have been nice at the time I called to book a room for the seminar if I had been informed that amenities in the room were so sparse as I likely would have upgraded to a better room; 2) Paper-thin walls meant we could clearly hear peoples’ footsteps & conversations as they passed by our door; 3) Hard to find a parking spot; 4) Breakfast was lackluster. This hotel does well on the key issues, but it's the little things that could use some work.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LadybugRiceLake_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing