We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed there one Sunday night in the end of July!
Very nice place, spacious clean rooms, convenient location!
I have just one recommendation. They have great pool area, awesome whirlpool and nice outdoor pool. But the outdoor pool and the area around it are very small. It looks like they have enough space to extend it so it will be a nice change. The cleanness of the pool area can be improved as well.

Room Tip: Second floor, garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inat4eto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    124
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
164
105
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colton, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a terrific rooms that was clean, comfortable and uniquely appointed. Stayed here before the rooms are always clean, the staff is curteous and friendly. Definately a go to every time we are in LaCrosse. Special thanks to the manager Katie....

Room Tip: We request king bed with whirlpool... feels great to soak after a long day of riding motorcycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed in Room 255, the whirlpool suite on several occasions for special occasions; birthdays, anniversaries. It is a very nice room with a jacuzzi and balcony overlooking the marsh, which is a gorgeous view. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and furnished with 5 large pillows.

I was disappointed to find large make up stains on the duvet, which was really the only "warm" blanket on the bed. I understand they do not wash the bedspreads daily, but the top "bedspreads" were very light covers and the duvet was the heaviest blanket on the bed.

Also, the jacuzzi jets were extremely weak and it may need servicing. It was nice for a relaxing soak but very weak as far as power.

To be extremely fussy, there were a few mildew spots below the step in shower. But again, I am being very picky.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and if we didn't love the room, we wouldn't reserve it time after time. The location is wonderful for many choices of restaurants, shopping and convenience.

Room Tip: We were in Room 255, at the far end of the hall. However, the only elevator is located in the cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolph, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, We had our bikes with us which they had a place to store them.Our room was 235 which was very nice. I really enjoyed the hot tub especially after biking we were sore. Onalaska is beautiful....Outstanding dining opportunity.We went to Fridays for the first time excellent ribs, right across the street.The Great River Trail was not what we expected..You are not by a river.We went 25 miles north to Marshland.There is no where to stop for drinks or food.Had to bike back 8 miles to get something to eat & drink.From a 1-10 rating.We give the trail a 3.Maybe the LaCrosse trail is better which runs south.Now the drawbacks to Stoney Creek.The room above us had children, that were running & jumping.(Very,very loud) they kept us up until 1:00 a.m.The second night a couple well placed thumps on our ceiling from us quieted them down.The breakfast was very dissappointing thats all I have to say about that!:( Overall we will stay at the Hampton next time around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Picked this over some similarly-rated hotels because the Thurs night price was a bit less than some and reviews seemed better than most. Not much of a noise issue, especially if you request a room facing the pool. Some noise from pool swimmers, but not that late. It's not fancy, but it was clean and king bed was very good, perhaps a bit softer than I like but fine for one night. The only criticism we have is that when the hotel is full or nearly full, the breakfast space is too small and you must wait for a table to open up. Breakfast food is average; stick with fruit and cereal, and if you like stronger coffee, find a nearby Starbucks or similar.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbowers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here in May of 2014 for a business trip for 5 days. I thought I had uploaded a review but it must not have posted, so I'm doing it again.
I stayed in room 305 and I must say the hotel itself was very nice. I liked the cabin feel, and the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Plus the hotel is within a short drive; five mins or less of lots of choices for lunch/dinner options.

Now for the bad part, first seeing as how it was the end of May, it was starting to get warm out (over 80). So I decided to take a dip in the indoor/outdoor pool. I was the only one out there at the time. The pool had not been vacuumed in quite some time as there was a ton of dead bugs on the bottom of the pool. Either that, or the pump/filter hadn't been ran. This wasn't that big of a deal but I swam anyway. Upon going into the indoor portion of the pool, there was a small dead frog floating on the top of the water. So, needless to say, I was done for the day.

On the second day of my trip, I was preparing to work midnight's as this was a business trip. I dropped my iphone plug and couldn't find it right away. This necessitated me to get down on my hands and knees using the flashlight on the phone to look for it. As I looked under the bed, I was amused to see a small sign that said "Yes; we cleaned under here too"
Well, I'm here to tell you they didn't. About a foot and half behind that sign; I find a used pair of men's underwear (not mine!) Now, I didn't say anything as I wanted to see would the cleaning personnel catch it. Nope. That underwear sat under the bed until I checked out that Saturday morning ( three more days)
Also of note, The bedside lamp had a large splash of what appeared to be some type of cola or drink that exploded up inside the lampshade. This was clearly visible while standing next to the bed. (see photos)
I had a nice time while at Stoney Creek, I just hope the cleaning personnel take a little better pride in cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in Stoney Creek cottage 8 for six weeks on my business trip in La Crosse. It is very close to the shopping mall and there are a lots of restaurants within 5 min walk. Behind the hotel there's a swamp where you can see deers sometimes. My stay was May and June so I always went to its swimming pool. I would recommand stoney creek to anyone who's looking for a hotel in Onalaska.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feng F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing