We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was here for a business trip. Very clean, nice staff. This is a "North Woods" feel kinda place. There was breakfast in the morning. Close to many places to eat and shop. I was on the lower level that had a door that walked out to a small patio with a chair. Large clean room. Great place if you have kids that want to swim and hang out. Free WiFi.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great looking hotel with a North Woods theme throughout - spacious lobby area and nice grounds. We got a deluxe room overlooking the marsh on 2nd floor and were very pleased. The room has 2 queen beds and a bar area with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Big room with a clean bathroom.

There is a small shelf with a clothes pole underneath angled in the corner, next to the ironing board and iron. It's sufficient for hanging a few clothes, but the room REALLY needs a row of hooks or something in the bathroom or by the front door for hanging coats, or towels and suits. Although we were there only two nights, we really could have used something like that!

The breakfast was standard fare ...... juices, coffee, donuts, muffins, toast and bagels, a few pieces of fruit, instant oatmeal, light yogurt, biscuits and gravy. I realize that free breakfast can't be all things to all people, but it would be nice to have some gluten-free options and some more fresh fruit. Also, the coffee was NOT good, but there's a Starbucks very close by!

We attended a wedding reception/dinner/dance at the hotel and the conference facilities are VERY nice. The floor plan was perfect for a separate bar area, plenty of room outside the large hall to mingle, a lovely fireplace area, cozy seating areas to talk. It really was lovely.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We found this hotel to be very clean with spacious rooms and set in a quiet area. The morning breakfast although free was not out standing, but it was edible with some healthy options like fruit, yogurt and cereal. The hotel is about 6 miles from downtown La Crosse which made it a bit inconvenient. The beds were a bit soft for us as we are used to quite firm mattresses. Overall a very good place to stay for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The area is near the Mississippi River and known for its good sunfish fishing. Rooms facing the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canigooilywrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed there one Sunday night in the end of July!
Very nice place, spacious clean rooms, convenient location!
I have just one recommendation. They have great pool area, awesome whirlpool and nice outdoor pool. But the outdoor pool and the area around it are very small. It looks like they have enough space to extend it so it will be a nice change. The cleanness of the pool area can be improved as well.

Room Tip: Second floor, garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank inat4eto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a terrific rooms that was clean, comfortable and uniquely appointed. Stayed here before the rooms are always clean, the staff is curteous and friendly. Definately a go to every time we are in LaCrosse. Special thanks to the manager Katie....

Room Tip: We request king bed with whirlpool... feels great to soak after a long day of riding motorcycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed in Room 255, the whirlpool suite on several occasions for special occasions; birthdays, anniversaries. It is a very nice room with a jacuzzi and balcony overlooking the marsh, which is a gorgeous view. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and furnished with 5 large pillows.

I was disappointed to find large make up stains on the duvet, which was really the only "warm" blanket on the bed. I understand they do not wash the bedspreads daily, but the top "bedspreads" were very light covers and the duvet was the heaviest blanket on the bed.

Also, the jacuzzi jets were extremely weak and it may need servicing. It was nice for a relaxing soak but very weak as far as power.

To be extremely fussy, there were a few mildew spots below the step in shower. But again, I am being very picky.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and if we didn't love the room, we wouldn't reserve it time after time. The location is wonderful for many choices of restaurants, shopping and convenience.

Room Tip: We were in Room 255, at the far end of the hall. However, the only elevator is located in the cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, We had our bikes with us which they had a place to store them.Our room was 235 which was very nice. I really enjoyed the hot tub especially after biking we were sore. Onalaska is beautiful....Outstanding dining opportunity.We went to Fridays for the first time excellent ribs, right across the street.The Great River Trail was not what we expected..You are not by a river.We went 25 miles north to Marshland.There is no where to stop for drinks or food.Had to bike back 8 miles to get something to eat & drink.From a 1-10 rating.We give the trail a 3.Maybe the LaCrosse trail is better which runs south.Now the drawbacks to Stoney Creek.The room above us had children, that were running & jumping.(Very,very loud) they kept us up until 1:00 a.m.The second night a couple well placed thumps on our ceiling from us quieted them down.The breakfast was very dissappointing thats all I have to say about that!:( Overall we will stay at the Hampton next time around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: £77 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing