We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
171
84
11
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
84
11
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfamily holidayon site restaurantlodge numberlog cabingreat weekdownstairs bedroomminute walkplay areacocoa bean factorymabie farmshort breaklovely locationeaster breakliving arealake districtred squirrels
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This was our first visit to the Village & the area. We had a wonderful holiday, the chalet we were in was in a good position on the site & contained everything we needed. It goes without saying it was spotless & well maintained, with excellent tv & wifi facililities( should it be needed). The staff on site were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them & they made us really welcome, which also made the whole holiday enjoyable. There is also a bar/ restaurant on site, if the chef wants a day off. We didn't use the pool, but did pop our head inside the area and it looked lovely, very clean & well maintained. We travelled with our dog & he was also welcomed as much as us & there were plenty of walk for him as well. We will go back again & are already looking forward to that thought.

Room Tip: As you are in Scotland, if you want to sit out at night on the lovely balconies, buy a citronella candle to ward off the midges.
Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Locky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

It sounds like you really enjoyed your first visit to the area Locky5 we are so glad you (and the pooch) had a good time and are looking forward to a return visit!
We have been working on upgrading the wifi in our chalets to a more reliable and free service so we are glad to hear you enjoyed this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to Barend again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed in one of those that is now in private hands. It was clean and tidy with all mod cons (including WiFi), but no washing machine. The promotional photos did make it look larger inside than it was, but for a week it was OK. The grounds are well kept and there is a nice walk around the loch. A short walk away is a clean and sandy beach, great for children. However throughout children should be kept an eye on due to all the water around. We ate at the restaurant on one occasion and although I didn't care for my meal (it was well cooked and presented), everyone else enjoyed theirs. Each property has parking for 2 cars.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Tilt-scale-gyro we are glad to hear you enjoyed Barend and the surrounding area, a couple of chalets that let out through ourselves have washing machines but I cannot speak for the ones which are privately let.
We hope you will consider returning to the area in the future :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Great accommodation in a fantastic rural setting. Kids had a great time with the on site pool and freedom to safely play around the site. Special mention to Gary and his staff at the Barend Bar & restaurant who were exemplary made us feel really welcome and were great with the kids. The food the several times we dined there was also top notch, I recommend the fillet steak "wow". Overall a lovely area in the surrounding towns, people were friendly. A hidden gem. Ian, Kirsty & (kids - Elisa,Lee, Abbie & Harrison)

Room Tip: Loch side chalets have a fantastic view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review Ian, we will pass your comments along to Gary and his staff they will be very pleased!
Glad the kids enjoyed the site and you enjoyed exploring the area, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I had a week away with my 2 sons and we all had a fantastic time at Barend. The lodge was immaculate , very well furnished and was a regular home from home. The location is stunning with great loch views being local to the beach and walking/biking trails meant we had some fantastic adventures out and about. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

It sounds like you had a great week in number 17 Keith! Great to hear you took full advantage of what the area has to offer and enjoyed plenty of adventures! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Lovely site very clean nice area and friendly. Nearest shop very handy, Dalbeati a selection of banks and shops, we liked the small villages this is our second time the down side was having to use your car most of the time apart from that enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area Janice! We look forward to welcoming you back to Barend Holiday Village again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews