We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
171
84
11
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
84
11
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfamily holidayon site restaurantlodge numberlog cabingreat weekdownstairs bedroomminute walkplay areacocoa bean factorymabie farmshort breaklovely locationeaster breakliving arealake districtred squirrels
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were visiting relatives in the area and required a base to relax in. The lodge was well equipped but a little tired and required a few niggly faults rectifying such as a faulty TV remote. Small but annoying. and overall did not detract from a good break.
The on site restaurant provided us with an excellent take away meal on one evening.
The location was perfect for us to visit relatives in Castle Douglas and Dalbeattie and we also visited Sweetheart Abbey and Threave Gardens

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kgordonmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review kgordonmitchell we are glad you enjoyed your time in the area with family and that the location was ideal for you!

We are sorry you had a few issues with your chalet, if we had been made aware of the problem with the remote control we could have given you a new one right away.

We hope to see you for another visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Had a wonderful relaxing holiday at Barend holiday Village. The area is beautiful, small loch nearby with swan, ducks and visiting heron. Also near a beautiful Sandy beach. Each evening badgers came into the garden to eat fruit and nuts left out for them. Lots of small birds at the feeders each day including two different kinds of woodpeckers. Had some lovely meals out, one place I loved was the Steamboat Inn just a few miles along the coast from Sandyhills. Great family holiday. Plenty to to in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: We were in a lodge, very clean and well equipped, had everything we needed
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank 84norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at Barend 84norma! Nice to hear some appreciation for the wonderful wildlife we have in this area!
The Steamboat is fab isn't it?!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

A lovely comfortable lodge in a peaceful location. Very well equipped Lodge, which is nicely furnished.Suitable for Walkers Cyclists and Golfers, or just some quiet relaxation..Swimming pool on site ideal for families. Would highly recommend the pub/ Restaurant very good menu.Including Gluten Free selection. many places of interest to visit from this location. Our 2nd visit to this site.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L1331ZTchristinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review Christine we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in number 2!
We are proud to be able to provide accommodation to walkers, cyclist and golfers as the area has so much to offer, and you can always relax in the pool & sauna and have a chilled out meal in the bar afterwards!
We will pass on your comments about the Bar & Restaurant to Gary & Lesley, they will really appreciate them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barend again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This was our first visit to the Village & the area. We had a wonderful holiday, the chalet we were in was in a good position on the site & contained everything we needed. It goes without saying it was spotless & well maintained, with excellent tv & wifi facililities( should it be needed). The staff on site were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them & they made us really welcome, which also made the whole holiday enjoyable. There is also a bar/ restaurant on site, if the chef wants a day off. We didn't use the pool, but did pop our head inside the area and it looked lovely, very clean & well maintained. We travelled with our dog & he was also welcomed as much as us & there were plenty of walk for him as well. We will go back again & are already looking forward to that thought.

Room Tip: As you are in Scotland, if you want to sit out at night on the lovely balconies, buy a citronella candle to ward off the midges.
Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Locky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

It sounds like you really enjoyed your first visit to the area Locky5 we are so glad you (and the pooch) had a good time and are looking forward to a return visit!
We have been working on upgrading the wifi in our chalets to a more reliable and free service so we are glad to hear you enjoyed this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to Barend again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed in one of those that is now in private hands. It was clean and tidy with all mod cons (including WiFi), but no washing machine. The promotional photos did make it look larger inside than it was, but for a week it was OK. The grounds are well kept and there is a nice walk around the loch. A short walk away is a clean and sandy beach, great for children. However throughout children should be kept an eye on due to all the water around. We ate at the restaurant on one occasion and although I didn't care for my meal (it was well cooked and presented), everyone else enjoyed theirs. Each property has parking for 2 cars.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Tilt-scale-gyro we are glad to hear you enjoyed Barend and the surrounding area, a couple of chalets that let out through ourselves have washing machines but I cannot speak for the ones which are privately let.
We hope you will consider returning to the area in the future :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews