We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
171
84
11
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
84
11
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfamily holidayon site restaurantlodge numberlog cabingreat weekdownstairs bedroomminute walkplay areacocoa bean factorymabie farmshort breaklovely locationeaster breakliving arealake districtred squirrels
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Swimming pool on site is great to relax after day seeing sights or at the beach. Staff friendly. Restaurant and bar good for meals when needing a break from cooking. Views down to loch and to seashore are excellent.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DorsetScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us DorsetScot, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Barend holiday village lovely. Fab location, walks, scenery. The swimming pool clean and family loved it. The rating for Barend is higher than the two above for the chalet, so please don't confuse the site with this particular chalet.

The chalet had an en suite but en suite loo had no toilet seat. The grill tray was filthy (pre used and not cleaned by precious residents or cleaner). Glass doors full of finger marks. Sofas and chairs desperately in need of a good steam cleans as are smelly and greasy. We solved this by putting our own sheets (from home) over the top so we could sit on them. For what we paid we had expected spotless. We would say ok to stay here if you don't mind smell of dog/urine on sofas otherwise book direct with Barend. The balcony had a rotten board on it which we reported but apparently tly it's getting fixed when the bookings ae quieter. Won't help the person who may fall through it!

Watch out for the badgers, visit around 9.30, great to see.

We have relatives in the area and they weren't impressed with the quality of this particular chalet. Desperately in need of some TLC. Laminate floors /wood would not smell as much if used by families with pets. Love Barend though, just be aware of issues by booking direct.

Room Tip: Book with Barend directly. Don't chose 58 if you want to use the sofas
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay Diane and thank you for understanding that this particular chalet is privately let and has nothing to do with us as a letting business (we rent around 30 of the chalets on site).

The chalets we rent have all been awarded either 3 or 4 stars by Visit Scotland, with the exception of one chalet which has been graded as 2 stars and has been reduced in price to reflect this.

We are so sorry the chalet you booked was a let down to you and are glad this has not put you off returning to the site in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We visited Bar End Holiday Village in August 2016 for a week to reminisce our holiday destination of Sandyhills from 30 years ago. Bar End is a wonderfully peaceful place with terrific facilities - the pool was perfect for our two boys and the restaurant and bar just sensational - the very fact that our dog was made super welcome inside the bar area was a huge bonus enabling long dog walks to be ended with a cheeky drink before retiring in the evenings. We enjoyed the week and will doubtlessly be going back in the future to enjoy it all over again.

The proximity to Sandyhills bay was our main driver for this property as is easy walking distance from the wonderful beach of Sandyhills and from there, there are plenty of wonderful coastal walks.

Room Tip: We stayed in pet friendly chalet 47 which was nice and close to the facilities, had a lovely view of the lake, was perfect for my mother who has limited abilities with steps these days and would easily sleep two families with a total of 8 beds in three bedrooms. There were plenty of toys that either belong to the owner or have been left by previous tenants - we felt it right to leave a couple of buckets and spades to enable the next tenants to gain rapid access to tools for the beach :-)
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

It sounds like you all had a great time exploring the area Simon, I'll bet you found that not that much has changed!
So glad you had the chance to enjoy our facilities and the dog was made very welcome at the bar :)

Look forward to welcoming you back to Barend again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Our second family visit to Barend, but the first for our 22 month old grandson. The main reason we come here is because it's close to where other relatives live. However, I have looked to stay at other local places and nothing quite fits the bill. Barend is good value for money, it's tranquil, it's friendly. The recently refurbished pool is an added bonus. Sandyhills beach is great for rockpools, games and water adventure( we swam to another land!) probably lucky we were there on the hottest day!
Both our stays have been easy to book and I welcomed the returners discount. On arrival the chalet was exceptionally clean-well done!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juliab582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words Julia we are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us!
It sounds like you all had a great time at the beach (yes, the weather does help!) and got to visit with family.
I will pass your comments about the exceptional cleanliness of chalet 3 along to the housekeeping staff - they will be so happy to hear this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barend again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Just returned from a short stay at barend holiday village, we stayed in one of the larger chalets which was of a good standard, but what makes this place special is the beautiful setting of the village, on site there is a bar restaurant which serves good food and drink also there is a indoor pool which we used and again is good, overall a very good relaxing place to enjoy a holiday, would recommend this place to anybody, and do it with confidence that they would also enjoy there stay at barend

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank walshy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBHV, Guest Relations Manager at Barend Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay in Chalet 10 walshy40 and had a relaxing holiday with us! Thank you for your kind comments on the setting and for recommending a stay with us, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews