We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A B&B where you are treated like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brayton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Oshkosh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A B&B where you are treated like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We felt like we were welcomed into the home of a family member. Nicole left nothing to chance in her attention to detail and it shows. The public spaces were comfortable for eating, watching TV, working, or just chatting with fellow travelers. WiFi was available for those who wanted to be connected.

Nicole offered two choices each day of a hot breakfast and made sure to ask upon your arrival about dietary constraints she should know about. There will always be characters at a B&B but we found all of our discussions with fellow travelers at the breakfast table to be interesting, lively, and friendly. Besides, there were three different rooms to have your breakfast, so if you wanted alone time, Nicole made it easy. She and Scott offered guests a little wine and cheese in the late afternoon for those who were interested. There was always a yummy late night snack available. When I asked about local bike rentals, Scott pulled a couple of bikes out of their garage and sent us on our way to a bike trail that followed the river that goes through Oshkosh.

Each room was beautifully furnished and spotless. When I say spotless, I mean spotless.
Each room also had a bathroom. Some rooms were smaller than others and required a little ingenuity to insert a shower, sink and toilet, but it fit our needs just fine. Other rooms had bathrooms that were quite large.

The location of the B&B was central to the Oshkosh downtown business district. It was within a 5 minute walk of some excellent dining. It's a small town, so everyone knows everyone. Just ask for a recommendation. We had several delicious and reasonably priced dinners. My wife and I commented that we would have spent much more $ back home for the same meals. On Saturday there was a farmer's market on the main street with local foods (including cheese) and crafts for sale.

They're also about a mile from Lake Winnebago and a lovely park and beachfront. The temperatures were oppressively hot when we were there (100s) so we spent more time indoors than we might have otherwise. We always felt welcome and relaxed. It was galactically better than a hotel!

- Great location.
- Friendly and attentive hosts.
- Attention to detail in every corner of the house (great for those of you interested in antiques)
- Delicious breakfasts and generous snacks

We had a wonderful B&B experience at Brayton. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has what is basically a 2 bedroom apartment if you are traveling with a family or anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STL_Teacher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
61
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We visited Oshkosh for a few days during our honeymoon and enjoyed this B&B very much. The room was beautiful and Nicole was very friendly. She was helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat in the area, which we greatly appreciated.
The only thing we didn't like so much was that it was a bit noisy at night, due to being so close to downtown. This may also have been because it was graduation weekend. On the positive side, the location allowed us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go.
Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here for just one night, with my wife.

Pros:
Nicole is a gracious and kind host.
Our room was very cute.
Breakfast was pleasant, and accommodating to vegetarians.
The price was reasonable.
It wasn't soullessly oppressive like your average chain hotel room.

Cons:
The in-room toilet having no enclosing door was a little weird, but not a big deal.
The room was very cold at night (in late April) and the mattress warmer, while making me sweat all night, was not great at fighting this.
The pillows were very uncomfortable, and both my neck and my wife's hurt considerably all the next day.
Scott dispensed annoying right-wing political talking points over breakfast.

I can't affirmatively recommend this B&B and I would be ambivalent about staying here again, but neither was it entirely unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolebrayton, Owner at Brayton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our inn. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We really strive to do everything possible to make our guests' stay welcoming and enjoyable. Reviews like yours though help us to strive to make a better experience for others in the future.

Though I am thrilled that you found our prices reasonable, enjoyed the vegetarian breakfast that was requested and that you found your accommodations to be cute, I am sorry that the restroom was a surprise to you. We try to do our best to advertise that some of the rooms have restrooms that are only separated by a half wall or curtains. I have started to look into this further and see how I can do a better job at trying to portray that on our website.

We do our best at trying to make the inn a comfortable temperature for everyone, however as an innkeeper, I have found that is almost impossible. The radiators in each of the rooms allow guests to turn the heat on or off and the provided space heaters in the rooms as well, allow our guests to make the room warmer. The electric mattress pads on the each of the beds is an added luxury most of our guests have come to enjoy. The one thing I have learned from your comment though, is I may want to mention to future guests that it may be comfortable to get into a warm bed, however you may have to adjust the temperature before retiring for the evening since it does keep you plenty warm.

Pillows are another aspect of running an inn that you never really know the preference of every guest. We thought that we had come up with a pretty good selection on offering a firm pillow and a softer pillow in each room to give guests a choice, however we may have to reevaluate what we are offering to come up with something more midstream.

Breakfast is always a lot of fun for us. We have found that so many of guests that come from all over the country and world always have something common when sitting down together for a meal. It is always interesting to hear opinions and thoughts of our guests that come from so far and see the interaction that takes place. Many times are guests plead us to sit down with them for a cup of coffee and morning conversation. Occasionally though the subject may turn to a direction that can be controversial. I like to keep those types of views or comments to myself, but I will admit, that when asked, my husband will speak his opinion. I will have to give him a little pinch or kick under the table though, in case this comes up again.

Once again, I would like to thank your for candid review. Whether it is positive, negative or neutral, comments make us better innkeepers and make your experience, where every it may take you, better for everyone.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elvisrock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived in Oshkosh in the midst of a driving rain storm. At first sight the B&B was most warm and inviting. That was, we found in a moment, just a taste of the warmth and hospitality exhibited by the owners Nicole and Scott. A welcoming glass of wine ( or two), advice on where to dine- including making the reservation. A fridge full of stuff for our use- including a nice dessert. We had wonderful conversations both that afternoon and again at breakfast. We stayed in the Brayton Suite upstairs and it was wonderful. The breakfast was marvelous. We will always stay here if in the area again. Scott and Nicole are the most warm and welcoming hosts of any B&B we have stayed in.

Room Tip: love the big bathroom in the Brayton Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hands down the best place one could stay - period! Clean, cozy, DELICIOUS food. You can't beat it.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all the rooms at the Brayton B and B. They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loupagloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Staying there was like staying with family. Nicole and Scott welcomed me like we'd known each other for decades. It was great to sit around and share stories that seemed like you were catching up. If you like staying at B&Bs, this is the one you want to stay at, the room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast Nicole prepares will definitely catch your eye, fill your belly and are quite tasty. Much better than any hotel breakfast I've ever had. The home made moon pies, chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cups were a welcomed treat after a crazy day filled with briefings. It's a short walk to several shopping areas and restuarants. If you want to know a great place to eat, just ask Scott or Nicole.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed one night at the Brayton B/B to attend the Paine Art Center performance of the Nutcracker. Nicole and Scott are very welcoming and everything at their inn was very tastefully done. It was a refreshing break from the "normal B/B victorian style", this was a bit more upscale and modern but with graceful victorian touches. Breakfast was absolutely spectacular. We stayed in the Blue Room and while the bathroom is directly IN the room (divided by a 3/4 tall wall) rather than a separate room in your suite, I would much prefer that over having to share a bathroom with other guests. The Brayton is very reasonably priced and located within a couple of blocks of the downtown area.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, 2 of which DO have the separate bathroom and are quite a bit larger in size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMD4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oshkosh hotels
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
#9 of 11 in Oshkosh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oshkosh-SR 41
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
#3 of 11 in Oshkosh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brayton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brayton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brayton Bed and Breakfast
Address: 143 Church Ave, Oshkosh, WI 54901-4745
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brayton Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about the lace, ruffles, floral patterns and country motif; you won’t find any of that at the Brayton Bed and Breakfast. As you enter through the front door of the Brayton Bed & Breakfast, you walk into a bright and airy four seasons room that begs you to sit and enjoy that early morning cup of coffee at sunrise. Step into the foyer with the curved open staircase and you are greeted with casual elegance and deep rich hues that are present throughout the entire home. The Brayton B&B boasts original architecture inside and out for that feeling of authenticity that you won’t find in any branded hotel. But central air, flat screen TVs, wireless Internet,microfiber blended sheets, upscale bath products, and fluffy robes in our suites are proof positive your accommodations are up to date and very comfortable. Five uniquely designed and richly decorated guest rooms with their own private baths cater to every personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brayton Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brayton Bed And Breakfast Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing