We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly and comfortable”
Review of Knapwell Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knapwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knapwell Wood Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Knapwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a friendly welcome, a lovely farmhouse with comfortable rooms and a delicious (and definitely full!) breakfast within an easy drive of Cambridge.

As well as getting the big things right, Siobhan and Ian also focus on details that help to make your stay perfect: a pot of tea on arrival; fresh milk always available; good advice on where to eat, where to visit and how best to get there.

The B&B is a few miles out of Cambridge, so most suitable for those travelling by car. It is within easy reach of the Madingley Road Park and Ride, and a couple of miles from junctions with the M11 and the A14.

I will be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    27
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
128
219
29
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just stayed here the one night but would definitely do so again. Knapwell is a beautiful large house and attractive grounds on the outskirts of Cambridge which suited us as we were en route to Norfolk from West Sussex having flown from Scotland that morning.
The online booking procedure was fairly formal and it was nice to be given such a warm welcome by Siobhan who showed us to our light and airy room (Karen's room - a twin) and invited us downstairs for a cuppa. We'd previously enquired about places to eat that night and had been sent a list and even offered a lift although we managed to travel with relatives that were staying nearby. It was nice to have the chance to talk about the options face to face with Siobhan as she recommended The Plough at Coton which, although not the nearest choice, was fabulous. In fact, I would have quite liked to take Siobhan along with us and shared a bottle of wine as she has that warm and friendly persona that you just want to sit and chat.
Beds were comfy and we had a good sleep and the ensuite facilities were good - toiletries were provided which is always a good thing with today's restrictions on what you can bring on the plane.
I chose the kippers and eggs for breakfast after enjoying some fresh fruit all served by Sioban's husband, Ian who was very pleasant also.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was a great place to stay, I would highly recommend this lovely place. My room was comfortable and very peaceful and the breakfasts were great. Stayed two nights but would definitely like to stay longer next time. Siobhan made us really welcome. The location is ideal for exploring Cambridge, with the park and ride within easy reach. A beautiful property with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here with our 22 month old daughter for 8 nights at the end of April and I cannot praise Siobhan and Ian enough. We were so warmly welcomed and looked after and nothing was too much trouble. The property itself is beautiful and absolutely spotlessly clean. We stayed in Charlotte room which was large and airy with an oh so comfortable bed and lovely bedding. Breakfast was delicious with a lovely choice of cooked breakfasts and lots of cereal and fruit as well. Siobhan not only provided a high chair but also children's cutlery and plates etc for our daughter and a very useful little fridge in the dining room that we could keep some milk in for her.
Location wise we found it perfect - lovely and peaceful with great gardens (and a trampoline) for our daughter to explore, but also so convenient for Cambridge with the park and ride just 5 minutes away with really frequent buses into Cambridge. It was also a quick and easy drive into the centre to visit friends.
Can't praise this place enough and we will definitely be back next time we're heading to Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. It's a lovely house and we were warmly welcomed, room and breakfast could not be faulted and if you want to explore Cambridge it's a perfect base

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night only, though wish it could have been more! Having read the previous reviews before we booked, our expectations were quite high, and we weren't disappointed. Lovely spacious and very clean room, we slept very well and were provided with a travel cot for our 15 month old daughter. Siobhan recommended a lovely village pub for dinner just a few miles away, and breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful. We were even offered us some freshly laid eggs from the chicken coop, much to the delight of our daughter, looking forward to eating them!

A perfect tranquil stay, great place to relax and unwind, with very easy access to the park & ride into Cambridge. Would've loved to make better use of the beautiful gardens but weather did not permit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funky_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed at Knapwell Wood Farm for one night with my husband and our son and his girlfriend. The property is lovely with great views from the rooms. Siobhan was very welcoming and the bedrooms were outstanding - spacious, scrupulously clean, incredibly comfortable and inviting (definitely didn't want to leave the next day!). Breakfast was scrumptious. We were especially impressed with Siobhan's concern and efficiency when she discovered we had left behind our passports - within a few hours she had contacted us and arranged for an express courier to deliver them to our next destination. Will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knapwell
0.9 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
7.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,752 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,163 reviews
7.8 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 121 in Cambridge
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knapwell Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knapwell Wood Farm

Property: Knapwell Wood Farm
Address: Knapwell Wood Farm High Street, Knapwell, Cambridge CB23 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Knapwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knapwell
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knapwell Wood Farm is ideally placed for tourists wishing to explore the splendours of Cambridge, for business executives needing to unwind, and for individuals who just want to ‘get away from it all’. Families are particularly welcome and special dietary requirements are catered for with pleasure.We aim to combine up to the minute facilities in luxurious surroundings with the warm welcome, individuality and personal attention of a family-run guesthouse. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing