We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Cambridge Sights”
Review of Knapwell Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knapwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knapwell Wood Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Knapwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We stayed at Knapwell Wood Farm a few nights in September, 2008, while we were visiting Cambridge, Bourn, the American Cemetery and the surrounding area. If you have a car, Knapwell Wood Farm makes for a welcome change to leave Cambridge and stay in a quiet village. From the Farm we took the "Park and Ride" bus to the Cambridge City Center. This was very convenient to the Farm and to not have to drive and search for a car park in Cambridge. I think there is also a bus available a short walk away. The owners were very obliging about providing information about the "Park and Ride" and checked with the Tourist Office for walking tour information for Cambridge and the Colleges. We discovered the Farm on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint in accommodation, cleanliness, friendliness or food. The breakfast was the tastiest we had in our stay in England (even at inns and hotels where the nightly rate was far higher). The sign is a bit difficult to spot on the fence which, I believe, says "Wood Farm" and it would have been nearly impossible to spot their sign and driveway had it been dark or rainy. Be sure you have accurate driving directions before you attempt to find it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LbkFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at Knapwell Wood Farm for the weekend to attend a friend's wedding in Cambridge.

The house has been beautifully restored and is surrounded by lovely gardens, it was such a peaceful setting. I don't usually eat breakfast but couldn't resist the lovely selection that Siobhan offered us. I ended up having the full English breakfast which was beautifully cooked, my husband proclaimed the poached eggs the best ever!

The nicest part about staying there was we were made so welcome by the owners Siobhan and Ian, we really felt part of the family by the time we left. It was also a perfect setting to get ready for the wedding and to leave in all our finery from such a glamorous home. It made the wedding even more special knowing we were coming back to such a warm and comfortable house. Our bedroom was spacious and had everything we needed.


This B and B definitely has the WOW factor and we will be recommending it to our friends as well as planning our own return visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Had a delightful few days in this recently refurbished Victorian House with my two young children. The hosts were very accommodating and there was plenty of space and distractions for the kids - the chickens, cats and rabbits all vying for their attention. Incomparable breakfast. Beautiful, quiet setting. Would definitely recommend and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lanarkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Knapwell Farm was the perfect choice for our visit to Cambridge. My wife and I were travelling to Cambridge for a wedding and chose Knapwell for its location just outside the city. It’s is located in a quite country area surrounded by beautiful gardens and country side.
The house itself is clean, bright and spacious. The room was very comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. Siobhan our host looked after us perfectly, recommending transport and things for us to do and see. Breakfast was just rights with a good range of fruit, cereals and traditional fare.
I accidentally left a book behind me and Siobhan kindly mailed it to me without charge :)
If you want a quite beautiful location to visit Cambridge from this is it. Highly recommended and cant be faulted!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SheaJIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Excellent accomodation in a converted farm building. Modern clean rooms. Not far from Papworth hospital .excellent breakfast. home from home, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pipmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

What a lovely place to stay. The house itself is beautiful, and the room we stayed in, Charlotte's Room, was lovely. Nicely decorated, very clean and comfy bed. The breakfast was great - they had a large selection of fruit and a choice of different types of cooked breakfasts. The owners were very friendly. A great place to stay! A little way out of Cambridge - 30 mins or so on the motorway - in a lovely farm area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mantonandkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Lovely welcome, with a nice cuppa. Beautiful room in a delightful, modern building. Fantastic breakfast, great view. Thanks to Siobhan and her family & staff for making us so welcome !

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knapwell
7.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 124 in Cambridge
663 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cambridge Guest House
The Cambridge Guest House
#9 of 124 in Cambridge
107 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Crown and Punchbowl
The Crown and Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Horningsea
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knapwell Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knapwell Wood Farm

Address: Knapwell Wood Farm High Street, Knapwell, Cambridge CB23 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Knapwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knapwell
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knapwell Wood Farm is ideally placed for tourists wishing to explore the splendours of Cambridge, for business executives needing to unwind, and for individuals who just want to ‘get away from it all’. Families are particularly welcome and special dietary requirements are catered for with pleasure.We aim to combine up to the minute facilities in luxurious surroundings with the warm welcome, individuality and personal attention of a family-run guesthouse. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing