We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good quality room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Horningsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great food, good quality room”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Located just outside Cambridge this former pub has 5 well decorated and equiped rooms. The food is excellent and the breakfast cooked to order is also excellent. Great value for money when comparing other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    43
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
69
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Thank you to Roger and James for going out of your way to assist us in our hour of need when we suffered a puncture to our car!
Over and above this though you can expect:
Lovely location
Easy to find
Parking outside door
Lovely breakfast
Fantastic power shower

Possibly a glimpse of some of the local wildlife....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My partner was working in Cambridge so I joined him for a few days at ease in Cambridge. The Crown and Punchbowl is just 5 miles from the centre in the pretty village of Horningsea. Parking is an expensive nightmare in Cambridge but we were able to leave the bustle of the town behind at the end of each day and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere at the C&P. The room was recently refurbished and absolutely spotless; the bathroom was pristine. A room fan was also thoughtfully provided as the weather was very warm. The staff were very relaxed, attentive and friendly. This was my second visit with a space of a few years and I'm pleased to say that standards are continuing to rise. Only downside is the stoned car park which makes comings and goings noisy, particularly noticeable in the early morning and staff and deliveries begin to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We visited The Crown and Punchbowl as part of a visit to Cambridge. Arrived early and left luggage with them. Staff knowledgeable and advised us not to drive into Cambrigde but use Park and Ride. Such a good idea as Cambridge seemed a nightmare to park in. On return from Cambrige was shown to our room by the lovely Jerry - a real star. The room was smashing, so clean and bright. Bathroom looked brand new and shower was amazing. Jerry arrange for a taxi to take us back into Cambridge for th evening and after a nice glass if champagne we went on our way. On our return at about 10.30pm was greated by the lovely young lady who had checked us in. Seemed really interested in our day. Got talking to Jerry and asked about booking later in the year. Have booked for my husbands birthday in November and can't wait to try to food as the menu looked so sumptuous. After a good nights sleep had a great breakfast and then had to leave. We could easily have stayed a few more nights just to enjoy Jerry and his staffs hospitality. Thanks to all at the Crown & Punchbowl. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRayYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

This perfect hideaway only has 5 rooms but they have everything you need. The best bit though is the care and the empathy that comes from Roger, Jerry and their team. They were not only the perfect hosts but Incredibly understanding of the unfortunate reasons as to why our family needed to stay near to Addenbrookes Hospital. The food served at breakfast for residents, lunch and dinner and also drinks were made with love and pride for this crazy industry that is "hospitality". Thank you for truly taking care of us. You have made all that we are going through as a family much more comfortable. We'll be back x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaSLewis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Tucked away a few miles outside of Cambridge this lovely Inn is a lovely little quiet village is excellent value for money. The rooms were clean with nice furnishings. The breakfast was excellent with good quality food. Overall was excellent value for money and would recommend. Will definitely stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very welcoming. Fantastic breakfast on our first morning, which was by far the best of the 3 days we stayed( the only disappointment) Food was very good at dinner. Manager,owner & chefs very helpful. Would love to stay again

Room Tip: All lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horningsea
3.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,720 reviews
3.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
411 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
4.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Punchbowl

Property: The Crown and Punchbowl
Address: The Crown & Punchbowl Inn High Street, Horningsea, Cambridge CB25 9JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Horningsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horningsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown & Punchbowl is a quaint country pub, restaurant and inn nestled amongst farmhouses in the village of Horningsea, just 3 miles from the centre of Cambridge. This Grade II listed building was originally an old coaching inn constructed in the 17th century. It has been extended periodically but retains many of its traditional features including brick fireplaces and original timber beams. The Crown & Punchbowl has 5 delightful double rooms, all of them ensuite. The Erasmus Room is our largest room and offers an ensuite bath/shower. Room rates are from £120 per room. Breakfast is available for an extra £10 per person. All our rooms feature: - Freeview TV & Wifi - Egyptian Cotton Linen - Espresso Machine & Kettle - Toiletries & Hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown and Punchbowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Punchbowl Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing