We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phelps
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazen Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Phelps B&B and Inns
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I have been to this B&B many, many times over the past 10+ years and are never disappointed. The inn is meticulously maintained, the owners, Joel and Janet, are very helpful, sweet and personable, and the breakfast is worth the trip alone! There is a beautiful porch that looks out at the lake, comfortable rooms, and lots to do on the property. You can catch crayfish, or fish off the dock, read a book, read about the inn's historic roots and how the owners restored it, or just breathe in the glorious beauty that is Hazen Inn. We can't wait to visit again in late June!!

Room Tip: You'll love any room you stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyM624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I rented a cabin for 4 days to snowmobile during the New Year holiday. The cabin
was quaint and cozy on a beautiful lake with all the amenities you coyld want in a weekend retreat. The cabin is about 40 minutes out of Eagle River by snowmobile. We put about 100 miles on the sleds a day and found the best trails were around Phelps, where the Hazen Inn is located. The trails were in much better condition than the ones around the highly trafficked Eagle River. The Inn's proprieters are very accomodating and kind. Would highly recommend the Hazen Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Vacationing like I image it was 40 years ago (with the addition of bathrooms). We discovered this place by accident and are glad we did. An old lodge converted into a B&B. The common area is wonderful for simply relaxing. It makes you want to read a book and just relax. There were about 12 guests in total while we were there and it made for lively conversations around the breakfast table. As said by many other reviewers, Janet's breakfasts are mouth watering and plentiful. The only downside of this place is that dinner options are all a little farther away than what we are use to. However, many guests brought food and used the kitchen and grill to "eat in." That is what we will do next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My friend and I were scrambling to find a place to stay after aborting our backpacking plans due to the weather. Cranberry Fest was going on in Eagle River and lodging options were limited. Hazen Inn was a little further out from Eagle River but had a few rooms available so we decided to try it out.

Joel and Janet, the owners, were very sweet and welcoming from the time we arrived until our departure. Janet gave us a brief tour of the beautiful inn, showing us where we could help ourselves to anything we needed from the kitchen as well as providing some history of the building. She and Joel later gave us hiking ideas and provided us with maps, as well as a coupon for gas!

The main floor included a giant dining table where breakfast was served, several cozy sitting areas including one with a large fireplace that was always going, a game room with a TV and a sun room overlooking the beautiful lake. There is a basement with a pool table and ping-pong table. We also found the hot tub down here, which was advertised on the website. We were slightly disappointed to find it in the windowless basement with no water in it, but that was soon forgotten.

Our bedroom with two twin beds was clean and served our needs well. The beds were quite comfortable and there were extra pillows and blankets in the closet should we have needed them. The bathroom was small but the shower had hot water and good water pressure. It was a bit dark in the small shower; a light in the shower or a more translucent curtain would be a welcome improvement. I really enjoyed waking in the morning and looking out the bedroom windows to see the sun coming up over the lake!

Breakfast was served family-style at the dining table and the food was delicious! We were treated to blueberry pancakes, asparagus quiche, freshly-baked muffins, and baked apples, among other lovely things. Janet spoke with all of the guests the night before to decide on a breakfast time that worked for everyone, which I thought was great.

My advice to potential customers: If you are looking for a romantic, quiet place where you can get away with your honey and have some alone time, this might not be the place for you. The walls are quite thin (you will hear when your neighbors start showering) and if you are a light sleeper you might consider wearing earplugs at night to filter out some of those noises. The rooms seem to be practical but not for spending much time in; that's what the cozy sitting areas on the main floor are for. If you stay here, expect a communal-style living situation. Be open to meeting the other residents, as you will be eating breakfast together and sharing the sitting areas with each other. Know that Joel and Janet will make you feel at home and will cook for you perhaps the best meals you will eat all weekend (as was the case for my friend and I).

My friend and I were very pleased with our stay at Janet and Joel's lovely place and agreed that we would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been here 4 times in the last 12 years and have always left satisfied. Janet serves some of the best breakfasts around and the surrounding beauty can not be beat. Most places like this one do not have air conditioning. They never expect it to get that warm, but it was over 90 degrees when we were there. The lobby is spectacular!! The have a stuffed otter, bear, owl, and bald eagle and assorted deer heads. This place has been there since 1905. They keep the place very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackburn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
214 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

If you've ever imagined staying at a traditional northwoods lodge with a great stone fireplace in a warm and comfortable sitting room, a beautiful four seasons porch overlooking a pristine northern lake and a pair of wonderful hosts, then you've imagined the Hazen Inn. It is located in the midst of some of the most beautiful forests and lakes in the northland. The bedrooms are charming, with great views, and all ensuite facilities. The Hazen Inn is a bed and breakfast and those breakfasts are some of the best we've ever eaten anywhere. We can't recommend it enough. We're already planning our next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thoughful-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hazen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazen Inn

Property: Hazen Inn
Address: 1549 Hazen Ln, Phelps, WI 54554-9414
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Phelps
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phelps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing