We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Country Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This motel is about the only place to stay in Platteville, WI. I am surprised since the town is a college town but has very few options for motels. This place is average in quality but has a decent indoor pool. The breakfast was nothing to brag about, but the motel was almost empty that night, so the food was not replenished during the breakfast hours and was generally cold and bland. We stay at a lot of motels in a given year and this was one of the first times that my wife and I were the only people eating breakfast while we were in the dining room. We were celebrating a birthday that night and the motel let us use the breakfast area for a pizza party which was nice of them and much appreciated.
The room was clean, everything worked fine and it was large enough, so I had no complaints in that area. I noted that the rooms are rather pricy on weekends, but there is no competition, so that's what one can expect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a weekend getaway and the accommodations are pretty standard for a Country Inn.

They have larger than average rooms that are clean and comfortable. They have a friendly staff and checking in and out was a breeze. The breakfast is upgraded with a few hot items, usually eggs and some type of breakfast meat. I've never had a bad breakfast at any Country Inn I've stayed at.

The pool area was nice but the pool is on the small side as is the hot tub. We couldn't get space in the hot tub either night due to the amount of people using it but we were able to swim, which was fine as far as my son was concerned!

The parking lot is very small. I'm only including this bit of info because I usually travel with a boat. We didn't pull the boat on this trip but if we had, I don't know what we would have done with the trailer. I didn't specifically ask, but maybe they have a solution for that issue. I would call and ask before staying if you do pull a trailer.

All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay. This trip will most likely become an annual trip for us and we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank bass-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The motel was clean and quiet. They do offer an upgraded continental breakfast; but the selection of danish/donuts and bread for toast was very limited.
My main complaint is when the people above us were taking a shower or filling the bath
we could not watch TV without turning the volume way up. It needed to be turned up so loud that we would have distrubed the people next to us. We had a ground floor room and the noise from the running and draining water was unacceptable.
The staff was friendly and they had good cookies in the lobby.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the upper floor to avoid the noise of running water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice. Was hoping that on the second visit it would have improved, but it hasn't. The facility is run down and in need of a full renovation. Carlson should be ashamed of their name being associated with it. We witnessed an Elderly couple check in,and be placed on the second floor. Well guess what - no elevator. The desk clerk watched this couple attempt to climb the stairs with their luggage and did nothing to help. Other guests assisted instead. Furniture was soiled and our desk chair in the room needed the fabric to be replaced (fabric was actually missing on the chair). Dry wall joint seams can be seen peeling. Overpriced, and certainly not worth your travel dollar.

Room Tip: Shy away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott-travels-often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for the comments. We strive to make every guest stay excellent and in this case we did not meet your or our expectations. We would like another chance when you are in the area. Please give me a call directly at 608-348-7373 and we will make this right for you. Thank you again for sharing feedback regarding your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here one night on a Wednesday, it was nice, rooms were really neat and cleaned, couldn't find anything wrong. The staff was nice and inviting, I called to say I would be doing a late check in and they had no problems with that.
The breakfast was nice, standard deluxe breakfast but it was very well laid out and very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your busainess and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Terry Malliet
General Manager
Country Inn
Platteville, WI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visiting friends in Platteville and spent three nights here. The room was always clean and well cared for. Nothing extraordinary, but a good solid place to stay. Breakfast was the usual motel fare. I can't speak for the other motels in town, but this one is where we'll return to. Location is convenient, though the entrance is a little tricky--only one way in or out of the parking lot.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your busainess and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.


Sincerely,

Terry Malliet
General Manager
Country Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight when in town dropping off nephew for school. Only two hotels in the area. Room prices a little high, but overall good quality.

Stayed in a queen size room with sofa bed. Room had fridge and microwave. Bed was comfy. Room was warm as it was really really really cold outside.

They also have good breakfast. Not just cereal and waffles. They have a good selection. If I am in the area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjkbamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed you stay.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again whenever you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Terry Malliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platteville
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
20.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
16.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,370 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
686 reviews
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville

Address: 630 S Water St, Platteville, WI 53818-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Platteville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Platteville
Platteville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing