We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move out of College Dorm”
Review of Mound View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mound View Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When I checked into the hotel, the room that I got smelled quite bad. The hotel had no vacancy, so I didn't bother asking for a different room. I bought some Frebreeze and sprayed it in the room, and kept the window wide open. The toilet seat cover wouldn't stay up either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NRisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times and will stay here again. The people are friendly and the rooms are very clean. I've stayed at more expensive hotels that weren't this clean. I agree with Jodi G. the TV could be updated, but it worked just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

See you on your next visit.

Thank you,
Parth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was pleased that I was able to make a quick online reservation the same day for a Saturday night. Staff person at check in was friendly and quick to respond. The hotel room was neat and clean, beds were comfortable and reasonably priced. Television could be updated. I was disappointed that the hot tub was not working.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Platteville, WI

Thanks,
Parth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked this hotel thinking the pictures looked fantastic... the picture is NOTHING at all like what it is.. so DON'T BE FOOLED!! Hotel was filthy, wasn't anywhere near clean!! Lifted up the blanket and you could tell the bed wasn't changed, also peeled back the sheets and the mattress pad was stained with what looked like urine. The shower was filthy, with yellow grim around edges. The breakfast SUCKS!! They have these crappy cinnamon rolls that where hard as a rock, bread that was days old and hard, overly ripe bananas, a choice of raisin bran cereal, and frosted flakes, and yogurt. Please take note of all the negative reviews! I have never known a hotel like it! Pictures they have are very deceiving.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize about the service received at our hotel. We will be addressing these concerns and we are discussing changes to our breakfast. I can assure you that our guest satisfaction is very important to us and I will make sure that your comments will be take in to consideration to improve our property. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you will give us another chance to win back your confidence in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is our second stay at Mound View Inn. For the price it was all worth what we paid to stay. Despite being next to a busy road and being on the road side we heard no noise. The furnace did not heat up the room like hotel heaters do, I do feel it was not working it only blew out luke warm air all night but we opted to not go to the desk being it was comfortable enough to sleep.
We have now stayed at all three hotels in Platteville. We have been to Platteville four times since our son started college there this past Fall and out of the three choice for hotels in Platteville and for the price we pay with the student discount; Mound View is top choice for every future visit for us. The breakfast is nothing to write home about. Cereal, toast and super small cinnamon rolls but we always look forward to eating at Bridgeway Commons on campus. Both times that we have stayed...very curious as to why the Hot Tub has been "out of service" both times six months in between each visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a non handicap room. The sink and mirror are outside of the bathroom so if anyone is shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ahjellming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for the comments and the info about the stay. We will look for you in the future.

Thank you,
Parth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was clean, except for some garbage left in the bathroom garbage. The heating/cooling system was loud and we were unable to keep it regulated. The spa was not working, but this did not bother us as we wanted a place to sleep and relax. There were not many people staying at the hotel on a Sunday night. The breakfast offerings were fine for us, toast, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, with milk, juice and coffee to drink.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Meme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Appreciate the comments and hope to see you on a future stay.

Thanks,
Parth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was not disclosed at check in that the whirlpool hot tub was out of service. The kids were very disappointed. The room smelled musty and damp and there were stains all over the carpet. In the morning there was no hot water for showers!! When I went to the desk to check out & told them the issues all I got was a smile and an 'I'm sorry to hear that.' and she walked away from me!! Very disappointed and will never go back there or recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I did read the feedback that you had provided. I definitely apologize for any shortcomings that you experienced. I am sorry that you were not told of the hot-tub being taken out of service. We are in the process of removing the hot-tub and re-utilizing the space in a different way. I am not sure as to why you had no hot-water and were not offered another room. Thank you for the perspective on the stay, and we will strive to meet expectations in the future and thanks again for the comments

Thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platteville
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Platteville, WI
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Platteville
16 mi away
Lancaster Welcome Inn
Lancaster Welcome Inn
#2 of 2 in Lancaster
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Darlington
Super 8 Darlington
#1 of 2 in Darlington
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Platteville
Super 8 Platteville
#2 of 4 in Platteville
365 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grant Hills Motel
Grant Hills Motel
#10 of 11 in Galena
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mound View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mound View Inn

Address: 1755 E Business Highway 151, Platteville, WI 53818-3848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Platteville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mound View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located of Hwy 151 at Exit 21(Business Hwy151). We are across Walmart, McDonald's & Menards. Just Minutes away from UW-Plateville Campus. Non-Smoking Hotel. Free WI-FI, Free Hot Cont. Breakfast, Hot Tub for Guest Use, Fitness Equipment for Guest Use, All Rooms with Fridge/Microwave, Jacuzzi Suits Available. Family-owned and Operated, Mound View Inn continues to pride itself by offering clean, comfortable and specious hotel rooms at affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mound View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing