We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you'd expect in Plymouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 52 Stafford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
52 Stafford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect in Plymouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for a brief weekend get-away.
Had Friday night dinner here. I was tempted to try one of the fish dishes (after all, it was Friday night) but went with the braised lamb shank. Good choice. It was meaty and tender. Good broth with it. My wife had the smoked pork with apples - very good and enough for two meals. Dinners are very popular with the locals so ask about a reservation.
We had omelets one day for breakfast, French toast the next. Both good.
We ended up in a basement room which was cold at this time of year. We turned up the heat when we weren't there (the fan was kind of noisy), but kept it off at night (we like it cooler anyway).
They have several Irish beers on tap, plus a number of Irish and Scotch whiskies I hadn't had. I took the opportunity to sample one each night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

52 Stafford is a gem in a small town with lots of character. The staff, who all seem to work together to make this place run, were all very friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated, nice and clean. Make sure to book a room with the double whirlpool, it was well worth it. We had the room right next to the kitchen, little loud, but it was the only room left with the double tub.
We also ate dinner in the restaurant. It was all very good, but I have to say, I could have sat there all night and eaten bowl after bowl of the Irish Root soup. All and all a great stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a double whirlpool and try to get a room other then #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maugwamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Friends invited us to join them at this, one of their favourite hotels. As a Brit who loves B and Bs I was looking forward to the trip and was wowed by the beautiful room. Spacious, fresh and beautifully decorated, I did not see the worn look that other reviewers told about. Food in the dining room was good with Irish/British feel to the menu. Decor downstairs is also delightful. Rather a let down was the breakfast. The reason I love B and Bs in Britain is because of the huge fresh breakfasts. The one served here was barely Super 8 standard, few choices and something warm that may have been omelette or quiche. We could not find out if there was a vegetarian option so my partner gave it a miss. Wednesday night is great if you like Irish music, they played without a break. Just a pity about the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gray666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Came midweek for great music in the pub. We waited five minutes or more before someone wandered to the check-in area to help us register. Dinner was delicious! Omelette breakfast was wonderful. Quiche breakfast was...well...neither of us could eat it....terrible. The place in general needs an infusion of cash for painting in the restaurant, caulking in bathrooms, and such (noted in a review from 2010).
The little booklet in the room that gives you information on wifi, etc. in the inn has events in the area listed, from 2010. Hello, it's 2012!
Room seemed clean. Cleaning lady very thorough. Had to kill wasp flying around the room. How did he get in there? Quiet rooms. Some of the staff, such as the bartender, our dinner waitress, and our omelette maker, were very friendly. Others, not so much. We would definitely drop in again for live music; those people can play!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful cozy, festive New Year's Eve at 52 Stafford. This was our 3rd stay. The decorating and the ambience in the public areas and the rooms is inviting. Everything is very clean and and beautifully maintained. The food is always great, breakfast is bountiful, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the bar has got to be one of the most gorgeous in Wisconsin--a great place to sit and relax with friends, or to meet new friends. We'll be back next New Year's Eve, if not sooner. The prices are reasonable for all that you get in your stay here. We would not consider staying anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are brighter, top floor is the quietest, but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollingannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We just came back from a night stay at 52 Stafford. What a great find. It was beautiful and the dinner and breakfast was fantastic. We would stay again next time we want a quick getaway!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wws4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

great place. clean, large room, with everything you need--plus a whirlpool tub. i'd be happy staying at 52 stafford if it were anyplace in the world. clean, comfortable, friendly---everything you need in a hotel plus a fine breakfest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mix9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
11.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheboygan/The Falls
Days Inn Sheboygan/The Falls
#1 of 1 in Sheboygan Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 Stafford

Property: 52 Stafford
Address: 52 Stafford St, Plymouth, WI 53073-1826
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 52 Stafford 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Stafford is Plymouth's premier hotel for Irish hospitality. As you approach this National Registered Historic Inn, you begin to understand what simple elegance can be in a small hotel. The 19 guest rooms, 15 of which feature whirlpool baths, are named after Irish patriots, saints, and poets. Our critically acclaimed restaurant features exquisite cuisine in an atmosphere of casual elegance. Wet your whistle in one of Wisconsin's prettiest Irish pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 52 Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing