We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
52 Stafford
Nearby Hotels
AmericInn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plymouth Inn(Plymouth)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osthoff Resort(Elkhart Lake)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Sheboygan)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
39
24
8
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
24
8
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomeletfrench toaststained glassold worldmain floorreuben rollsthird floorno elevatornext morningirish themeboiled eggshistoric buildingbeautiful hotelqueen bedthe young ladyrobinstratford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for a brief weekend get-away.
Had Friday night dinner here. I was tempted to try one of the fish dishes (after all, it was Friday night) but went with the braised lamb shank. Good choice. It was meaty and tender. Good broth with it. My wife had the smoked pork with apples - very good and enough for two meals. Dinners are very popular with the locals so ask about a reservation.
We had omelets one day for breakfast, French toast the next. Both good.
We ended up in a basement room which was cold at this time of year. We turned up the heat when we weren't there (the fan was kind of noisy), but kept it off at night (we like it cooler anyway).
They have several Irish beers on tap, plus a number of Irish and Scotch whiskies I hadn't had. I took the opportunity to sample one each night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

52 Stafford is a gem in a small town with lots of character. The staff, who all seem to work together to make this place run, were all very friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated, nice and clean. Make sure to book a room with the double whirlpool, it was well worth it. We had the room right next to the kitchen, little loud, but it was the only room left with the double tub.
We also ate dinner in the restaurant. It was all very good, but I have to say, I could have sat there all night and eaten bowl after bowl of the Irish Root soup. All and all a great stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a double whirlpool and try to get a room other then #5.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maugwamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Friends invited us to join them at this, one of their favourite hotels. As a Brit who loves B and Bs I was looking forward to the trip and was wowed by the beautiful room. Spacious, fresh and beautifully decorated, I did not see the worn look that other reviewers told about. Food in the dining room was good with Irish/British feel to the menu. Decor downstairs is also delightful. Rather a let down was the breakfast. The reason I love B and Bs in Britain is because of the huge fresh breakfasts. The one served here was barely Super 8 standard, few choices and something warm that may have been omelette or quiche. We could not find out if there was a vegetarian option so my partner gave it a miss. Wednesday night is great if you like Irish music, they played without a break. Just a pity about the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gray666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Came midweek for great music in the pub. We waited five minutes or more before someone wandered to the check-in area to help us register. Dinner was delicious! Omelette breakfast was wonderful. Quiche breakfast was...well...neither of us could eat it....terrible. The place in general needs an infusion of cash for painting in the restaurant, caulking in bathrooms, and such (noted in a review from 2010).
The little booklet in the room that gives you information on wifi, etc. in the inn has events in the area listed, from 2010. Hello, it's 2012!
Room seemed clean. Cleaning lady very thorough. Had to kill wasp flying around the room. How did he get in there? Quiet rooms. Some of the staff, such as the bartender, our dinner waitress, and our omelette maker, were very friendly. Others, not so much. We would definitely drop in again for live music; those people can play!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful cozy, festive New Year's Eve at 52 Stafford. This was our 3rd stay. The decorating and the ambience in the public areas and the rooms is inviting. Everything is very clean and and beautifully maintained. The food is always great, breakfast is bountiful, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the bar has got to be one of the most gorgeous in Wisconsin--a great place to sit and relax with friends, or to meet new friends. We'll be back next New Year's Eve, if not sooner. The prices are reasonable for all that you get in your stay here. We would not consider staying anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are brighter, top floor is the quietest, but all rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollingannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews