We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish ambiance”
Review of 52 Stafford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
52 Stafford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, had dinner one night ( excellent ) and breakfast both mornings.. the staff ( Robin ) was wonderful..she was so informative and made great omelets.. this place is beautiful, the staircase, the stained glass, the selection of irish beers, wonderful location.. we had the room on the 1st floor ( Geo Bernard Shaw) and it was very quiet.. it was roomy and had a huge bathroom. If in Plymouth again - we will stay here...

Room Tip: George Bernard Shaw room was really roomy, with a large bathroom, large whirlpool too :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaWelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for 52 Stafford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were attending the local summer solstice blues festival and managed to snag a room at the last minute due to a cancellation (the place had been fully booked due to NASCAR being in town)..it turned out to be a perfect stroke of luck.
52 Stafford is a great place to stay...its not a hotel its a B&B and that distinction adds to the overall experience.
Our room was large clean and comfortable ....the same can be said for the bathroom (I know that's important for some)....cable TV, a four poster bed,period style furniture and air conditioning .
The bar is all it is cracked up to be (or should that be craic) beautiful stained glass windows and a high ceiling make for an airy open homely feel....nice selection of of draft and craft beers available plus some fine Scottish and Irish whiskeys . The restaurant is top notch and very popular at weekends.
Breakfast is included and a must ....everything is cooked fresh and to order.
The only word of caution....52 Stafford does not have elevators so you will be navigating the stairs....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We really just needed a place to sleep and didn't have time to experience and amenities. Our room was in the lower level, kinda basement like....it was freezing when we checked in. The place is old and in need of basic care. On the short walk from the front door downstairs to our room I noticed walls and floors that needed attention...not dirty, just maybe poor workmanship and/or repairs. Our room was clean (But COLD). The wallpaper border was peeling off in most of the room and the room smelled a little musty. Overall, though it was very clean. The bathroom was very large and also clean. I'd like to try this place again, but request and upper floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrusewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at the 52 Stafford every year over Memorial Day weekend. It is a charming restored hotel, with a remarkably good restaurant (we recommend the "Reuben Rolls" on the appetizer menu!)
The staff will make an omelet-to-order for you, as part of the continental breakfast. The annual Memorial Day parade is small town America at its best!

Room Tip: choose a room either facing the street or parking lot, not the building next door.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisconsin2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just like you stepped back in time in old Ireland. The rooms are small but functional, bathroom was very roomy. Be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs. Breakfast was delicious. Great bar and restaurant area. A step above the boring chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Room #11 was nice, nice tv and large bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZippyF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and it was very peaceful. The inn itself is beautiful with old-world Irish charm. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the hostess and waitresses. The food at the restaurant for dinner and the included (free) breakfast were all outstanding. We had the shepherds pie, the rum chicken and the Guinness brownie. The inn was close to a creek which was very nice for an after--dinner stroll. We would recommend this inn for a nice, peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Room 4 was in the bottom level, near an exit door and was very quiet. TV was extremely old, but with...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This place is a gem! Very Irish in it's furnishing's and theme. The restaurant which is on the main floor has delicious & authentic Irish fare with a very well stocked bar. A full breakfast comes free if your an overnight guest. The rooms are quaint and charming. A very good coffee shop is located next door. This is my third time staying here and i can't wait to return for a 4th,5th, oh well you, get the picture!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.1 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
291 reviews
13.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
119 reviews
11.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#4 of 11 in Sheboygan
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 Stafford

Address: 52 Stafford St, Plymouth, WI 53073-1826
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 52 Stafford 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Stafford is Plymouth's premier hotel for Irish hospitality. As you approach this National Registered Historic Inn, you begin to understand what simple elegance can be in a small hotel. The 19 guest rooms, 15 of which feature whirlpool baths, are named after Irish patriots, saints, and poets. Our critically acclaimed restaurant features exquisite cuisine in an atmosphere of casual elegance. Wet your whistle in one of Wisconsin's prettiest Irish pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your 52 Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing