We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of 52 Stafford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
52 Stafford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Ski club stayed here for the weekend as base for cross country skiing in North Kettle Moraine. I loved the hotel. The ambiance was fantastic - the decor provided old world Irish feel - restaurant on ground floor was cozy yet had lots of room for wine and cheese party prior to dinner and games after dinner. The hotel's restaurant menu included steak and seafood and everything was fantastic (in fact the restaurant is noted as one of the the best in town). And it is right in 'downtown' Plymouth and close to some nice shops (Antique Shop, Quit Shop) and Museum.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We came here for a long weekend of snowshoeing and relaxation. This quaint Irish inn provided a convenient and cozy, if slightly tired, jumping-off point for our outings into the Northern Unit of Kettle Moraine State Park. Having the best restaurant in town right on the premises was great (recommend the Jameson Chicken), except that it's closed on Sunday evenings. A hot whirlpool bath after a day on the trails followed by a night in one of their very comfortable beds makes for a fine end to a fine day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Pfauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stay in 5 star hotels in cities all over the states regularly for business and 52 Stafford has the majority beat for cleanliness. Room was immaculate. TV was old but functioned well. If you like history you'll love 52 Stafford. Rooms are small like they were at the turn of the century. Reading chair area could be improved with lighting and tables to set your drinks. Bathroom could be improved with towel bar by vanity. All in all, for the price, this was an excellent experience. Restaurant was reasonably priced and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The property is beautiful! Our room was very pleasant and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Sean, the innkeeper, was very pleasant and helpful. Angela greeted us when we entered the dining room and also acted as our server. She was amazing. Tyler, the chef, is amazing. We had the Ennis Shrimp & Scallops and the Irish Whiskey Salmon. Exceptional meals! Robin served our breakfast in the morning (made to order omelettes) and it was fantastic. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjdk1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Spent one night and it was o.k. A little pricey for what you get and compared to prices charged by most chains in the area. Room was fairly good sized, clean and the bed was comfortable. Would consider staying there again if it's prices were more in line with some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was my first Bed & Breakfast experience and glad it was. It was great. The feel and look of the rooms was fantastic. The furnishings were great. The bathroom ( one in each room ) was white tile floor to ceiling in various sizes. The bed was big and comfortable. Only nineteen rooms total. The restaurant and bar downstairs was a four star rating. Extremely clean everywhere and a great staff to make sure you had a positive experience. This is the only place I will stay when I am in this area. I was reluctant to give this review only because I don't want to not be able to get in there again. Plenty of restaurants in the aresa too.

Room Tip: No elevator , be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our daughter was going to become engaged in Sheboygan and her (future) fiancé invited us from Indiana to share in their joy. We were able to find a room at this quaint Bed and Breakfast just a few miles down the road. When booking your room, ask which floor it will be on, because there are no elevators and you will have to carry your luggage up and down the staircase. Once you walk in the front door, it is as you have been transported back 100 years to Dublin; a pretty pub on the left and an equally pretty restaurant on the right. We stayed in the St. Patrick room on the 2nd room. It was very hot when we were there, and the room air conditioner had the room nice and cool. Ours was one of the 2 rooms that did not have a whirlpool tub, which was ok with us. The room window had a piece of stained glass, lovely curtains and bedspread. A highboy containing the older style television, and a vanity with a mirror. Could not believe the great price we got this room for, booking directly on line with the hotel (we were there midweek). Because we met our daughter and fiancé for breakfast and dinner, we did not get the opportunity to enjoy the breakfast that was included. We will absolutely stay here again, for more than one night. Seemed like lots to do in the neighborhood - again, we didn't have time to explore on this particular trip. Would like to book the entire B&B for our out-of-town family and friends for the wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandAndSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.1 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
120 reviews
9.6 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
297 reviews
11.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 Stafford

Address: 52 Stafford St, Plymouth, WI 53073-1826
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £75 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 52 Stafford 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Stafford is Plymouth's premier hotel for Irish hospitality. As you approach this National Registered Historic Inn, you begin to understand what simple elegance can be in a small hotel. The 19 guest rooms, 15 of which feature whirlpool baths, are named after Irish patriots, saints, and poets. Our critically acclaimed restaurant features exquisite cuisine in an atmosphere of casual elegance. Wet your whistle in one of Wisconsin's prettiest Irish pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 52 Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing