We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - nice room - great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Loves Park, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location - nice room - great weekend”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was perfect for our needs considering we were boating and had a slip at the port Washington marina. Room was very nice with a great view. Mattress was really comfortable. Second time staying here and we were upgraded to a nicer room. pleasant surprise. Everything was walking distance to marine and downtown restaurants and shopping. The Newport shores for the fish fry was a great choice. Overall a wonderful weekend with a great place to stay

Room Tip: View of the Lake - wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    77
    65
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
86
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Third time We have been here. It is pet friendly and they have designated rooms for that. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There was always someone walking around making sure the parking lots and lobby was clean. Great location! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a little outdated but the location was great. Right next to the docks and downtown. Walking distance to decent restaurants. The walls were so thin, I could not only hear the neighbor on his phone, I could hear who he was talking to on the other end! I was glad to hear that he had a successful business trip and that he will be glad to be home tomorrow.The room was clean but the front desk clerk was indignant... But I guess just her way of demonstrating she had the power. I shouldn't complain as she gave me a discount. Decent place to stay for less than a hundred and twenty five bucks. Parking was good and free- bed was pretty comfortable as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Lenny R,

Thank you for writing a candid review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that our location and amenities were suitable for the purpose of your travel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges with the noise and the inconvenience this has caused. We will certainly look into these issues to work on areas of improvement and achieve superior guest satisfaction. Should you be back here in our area, we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a large groupe rent rooms at this hotel for a wedding. The hotel was made aware that the wedding party need to check in at the check-in time of 2pm the hotel staff still did not have the rooms cleaned 30 mins AFTER the check in time. And then once we got in the room the room smelled like wet socks or possible mold.

Room Tip: I would suggest checking into bed and breakfasts in Port Washington or a hotel near the highway that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Washington hotels

Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly, but not first rate. The room is bed-bug free, spacious and comes with a good size fridge and microwave, but the room and the whole hotel is in desperate need of a remodel update. I would not eat at the restaurant, as it looked like I might contract some salmonella, but luckily there are many other good options nearby. The big plus to this hotel is that it is right on the lake and in walking distance of everything in the town. I wouldn't say don't stay at this hotel, as it wasn't that bad, but don't expect a fabulous hotel experience. Just average!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank muselola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear sminter23,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am happy to hear that our location worked for your needs and that you found our staff commendable.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the hotel and restaurant may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The smell of the carpet is overwhelming. Was not sure I would be able to sleep with the musty smell. Would not walk barefoot in the room. Please rip out the carpet and put tile if you are not going to clean. I can see at the end of the summer maybe having this smell but not at the beginning. Basically pretty clean room. Rust running down under sink.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Astoria1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Astoria1239,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am pleased with your kind comments regarding our cleanliness and glad that you liked the view. However, I am saddened that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of our carpet and sink. Please be assured that we will use your feedback to consider upgrading in these areas so we can provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.

We look forward to another chance of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a very good experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive, immediately assisting on any question we had. The location is perfect for this area, right at the marina and harbor entrance. A make-over is probably in order but don't let that stop you from staying here. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The housekeeping staff was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Asking for a room overlooking the harbor would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaunceyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
732 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing