We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay with a Beer/Wine Tasting Event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here, with another couple, for a beer/wine tasting event, that the local chamber of commerce was holding, at this hotel. When we arrived, the parking lot was empty, so check in was a breeze. That did not last long. About a half hour later, it was almost full. We had a 2-queen bed room (the king rooms were all gone when I booked the rooms), on the third floor. The hotel was in the process of renovating all of the first floor rooms, so all guests were on the second and third floors. The room was very clean and well kept, including the bathroom. I did not see any stains, tears in the carpet, mold, etc. The room's heater/ac unit did it's job, and was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Most of the people staying there, that night, were attending this event. So we thought, that it would be very noisy in the hallway, later in the evening. To our surprise, it was very quiet. We could not hear the people, next door, and it looked like they were going to be entertaining a few party goers, after the event. The event started at 5PM and ended at 9PM. We went to the hotel's bar that was located inside the property. Let me say this, the bartender that was working that night, needs to get a personality. Very poor job! It was like he did not want to be there, if you wanted another drink, you almost had to shake you glass to get his attention. This was the only bad thing about this property. The morning breakfast was bountiful. French toast, sausages(very spicy), fruit, cereal, oat meal, toast, coffee, milk, juice, just to name a few, was on the menu. They had 2 people keeping the room clean and making sure that nothing ran out. We did not get a chance to use the pool area. I rated the service very low, because of the bartender. The front desk staff, breakfast room, housekeeping, were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imowgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

I booked late for a wedding we were attending so we got the last room available, a whirlpool suite. I was happy with the price only being $115 for the suite. It was nice and clean. The continental breakfast was fresh and always being restocked. There is also a nice sized pool and hot tub in the hotel. Easy to do laps and shallow enough for children to play at the end. There was also a bar open at night, that others in our party had fun after hours (we did not attend).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_BuckSconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Amazing place, spacious rooms, great breakfast, flat screen TV and other usual amenities... cozy bar...would recommend it to friends and family. The staff was pleasing and easy to deal with. I will surely come back whenever I'm in town

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a good experience with this hotel, which is right off the highway & down a side street. The hotel is adequate for a good night's sleep. I felt safe & I noticed a variety of staff members working during our stay. The front desk staff was helpful. We only stayed one night & didn't have time to check out the indoor pool and gym.

The hotel seems a bit run down but our room (two queens, not a suite) was quiet, well stocked and clean. It always bothers me when the carpet along the bottom of the walls is dirty, but that's kind of minor I guess. I liked the fact that the comforters on the bed had a removable cotton sheath that is easily washed & was clean. The pillows & the bed was very comfortable too. It was odd that no ice machine or vending machines could be found on the 2nd floor, but I did find a laundry room by the elevator on 2nd floor with a coin washer & dryer & a deep sink.

Breakfast was good. I had homemade oatmeal which was tasty, but the brown sugar was old & the raisins had seen better days. Mini-muffins were yummy, coffee was good & strong, plus fresh hand fruit or canned fruit. You could make waffles too. Also available were bagels, yogurt, cereal, & weird egg patties with mushy soy sausage.

On Thursday & Friday nights they have Karaoke in a small lounge until midnight, which was a lot of fun & well attended by the locals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed at numerous Country Inn and Suites and this one was really nothing special. When I checked in, the front desk attendant was stressed out because there was a wedding and the hotel was booked. (Note: I did not ask for this information.) Our room was average. The main living area was clean. The beds were hard and there was not a chair in the room other than the desk chair. In the bathroom, there was mold on the shower curtain. I will say that even though wedding attendees were staying in our floor, we did not hear them and overall, the night was quiet. Breakfast the next morning was again average. Typical items - - - muffins, cereal, make your own waffle station, oatmeal, etc. Because of the wedding, we had a difficult time finding parking when we returned from dinner. We ended up parking in one of about 3 spots left in the parking lot, located down by the banquet room, Luckily, we had already brought our luggage in or we would have been rolling luggage in from of the banquet room to get to the hotel. One other note about the area by the banquet room, I noticed one of the outside windows had several huge cracks in it and some of the façade on the front was missing. If I was having my wedding there, I know this would have bothered me.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Green24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments and feedback.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I will address the issue with the front desk person and take appropriate actions. Also the signage at the banquette hall was damaged due to electric short and is in process of being repaired. Sorry about the parking lot situation because the parking lot does get full when the hotel and the banquette hall is busy, although we request the banquette hall guests to use the far end lot. I will investigate other comments and take appropriate actions to improve.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We're from about 70 miles from Port Washington and had a wedding to attend. We called a few days in advance and asked if we could check in at 1pm to get ready and make it to the wedding in Saukville. We arrived at 1:10, to two very rude front desk attendants. They said "you're a little early" so we explained that we had called and were from out of town there for a wedding. Once again we were met with rudeness. "We had a full house last night so it depends if the room is clean." She then looked it up on the computer and said, "Oh I see the note on the account, and no it isn't clean yet." One would think if someone called for an early check-in time, that room would be one of the first ones cleaned, but not at Country Inn! So we ended up going out to lunch and then returned and the room was clean, but ultimately we were 10 minutes late for the wedding, and were not pleased. Also, couple things. The hot tub in our room was nice, however the fireplace in the room was non-functional, and the most disturbing thing was from the evening we returned from the wedding until we left the next day at noon, the free wireless internet did not work, so our plan of looking for things to do in the area before returning home was a bust, and we'll never stay at a country inn again. Oh, another thing....the free cookies at the front desk were those cheap hockey puck rippin good chocolate chip cookies. Yuck. Trust we when I say....look for a choice hotel in the area instead, as they know how to treat their customers, and make them their first priority, as it should be when someone spends 170.00 a night for a hotel room!

Room Tip: The beds are so uncomfortable that you're going to want a room with a hot tub for you to soak in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We try our best to accommodate early check in requests, but unfortunately we aren’t always able to fulfill every request. While we certainly apologize for not being able to check you in as early as you would have liked, we do not promote the staff behavior you have described. If you would be kind enough to give us the details, we will discuss this with the appropriate front desk staff. The wireless internet was down on 10/12 and 10/13 due to a power surge and a new router was installed on 10/14/13. We are sorry for the inconvenience that was caused. All of the fire places in the suites are for esthetic purposes only, due to safety reasons they do not emit heat.
Once again we are sorry for the issues, we value your business and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our room (suite) was very clean and nicely laid out for privacy between the living room and bedroom. Frig worked well. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast both mornings was good with a nice variety. The staff was very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: There was 2 of us staying in a room with 2 queen beds. The hotel apparently needed more rooms for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
242 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
20.5 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
23.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
18.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington

Address: 350 E Seven Hills Rd, Port Washington, WI 53074-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Port Washington
Country Inn & Suites Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Country Inn Port Washington
Port Washington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing