We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On a recent trip to Wisconsin to visit friends and family, my husband and I drove over to Port Washington on Lake Michigan. We stayed at the Port Hotel, a lovely, historic hotel in downtown Port Washington. The location was great--just a couple of blocks from the lake. It is also a short drive to the charming towns of Cedarburg and Grafton. As for the hotel, it was absolutely first class. The room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was luxurious--granite vanity and a large, tiled shower. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant and were very pleased with the Friday night buffet. Then there was the breakfast the next morning. We made our choices the night before from the vast menu that included omelets, stuffed french toast, bacon and eggs and just about anything you would want. The meal was delivered to our room and was served hot and delicious. Lastly, the staff was warm and friendly and helpful. For a hotel stay, we couldn't have asked for more and look forward to our next trip to The Port Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thanksalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Port Hotel this past weekend. We enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and very clean. It is a nice hotel, but for the money, it lacks certain amenities. I feel like the owner could do so much more with it. There is a cute patio off the restaurant - out back - we sat out there and had a glass of wine one night, but never saw anyone else out there. They have lights in and out of the trees and I think lit up at night the patio could be quite charming. I think a nice wine and cheese get together in the evening would really add to the experience.

I did not like the fact that there was never anyone around. Once you are checked it - you never see the owner again. If there were no guests for the restaurant, the bar doors were always closed and locked. You could not go back in the evening and have a drink at the bar.

For such a nice hotel with great character, I think the owner needs to add some personal touches.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeney59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband & I bought a Living Social deal for this adorable little hotel. We just needed a couple nights to recharge without our kids. We'd never been to Port Washington & weren't looking for excitement or to have any real agenda. This place was perfect! It had the service and individuality of a B&B without the tiny-ness and awkard-ness of having to dine with your hosts and fellow travelers. Our room was amazing (306)-huge comfy bed, a jacuzzi tub, large bathroom with great shower, a fireplace, little seating area & wet bar. Each morning they brought breakfast to our room (included in the deal) which was delicious. There's an extensive menu to select from & you can make substitutions or other requests. There were two minor, minor details that detracted from the perfectness of it. 1) No mini-fridge to keep a bit of wine, beer or snacks in so we had to keep asking for ice. 2) No full length mirror. Also-not a problem for us-but there's no elevator & the stairs were pretty steep, so go for a room on the 2nd floor if that might be an issue. We're vegetarian so we probably didn't get the best of what the hotel's restaurant had to offer for dinner-but it wasn't bad. Being April & a Sunday & Monday, the town was not too lively or exciting, but we could tell it would be a fun place in the summer. On the way home we stopped in Cedarburg for lunch and shopping-great!

Room Tip: The websites have photos of each. We loved 306 for the big comfy bed, plenty of room to spread out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckym777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The food was less than average and the service was nothing great. Had been here many years ago and it used to be the nicest place in town. Not so any more. I would not recommend to any one... especially the brunch...a total rip off!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We found this wonderful inn through a special with livingsocial.com. It seemed perfect for a quick night away one weekend. We chose Easter weekend - not thinking that many of the shops and activities would be closed. So, we spent quite a bit of time in the hotel. We reserved room 302, which was very large with a beautiful canopy bed and four large windows giving us a great views of the historic town below. The bed was very comfortable (great linens) and the gas fireplace added to the special ambiance of the weekend. The bathroom had wonderful Kohler fixtures and amenities like shampoo, conditioner, and a nice hair dryer. The room was very quiet on the third floor; however, if you're opposed to a large amount of stairs this is not the best choice. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and informative. The only downside is that there isn't anyone available much of the time (no front desk area). We had a telephone number for emergencies. I prefer having someone available for questions, suggestions and emergencies. The special we received included breakfast for two and we had a wonderful breakfast in the inn restaurant (Easter brunch). I would definitely recommend this inn - wonderful rooms!

Room Tip: Room 302 has a great view (4 large windows) and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband got us the deal through Living Social so we got a one stay here. While making reservations, my husband explained that I am 6 months pregnant and they gave us the Bridal Suite room 201 so I wouldn't have to walk another flight of stairs. The room was spacious even with the king size bed (the best night sleep I've had in a long time in that big comfy bed). The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was perfect for my pregnant body and we loved being served breakfast in bed. We did eat dinner at the hotel restaurant and though the service was good, the meal was just so-so. Next time we will head for dinner in Grafton or Cedarburg. Be sure to stop at the Chocolate Chisel for dessert where you can get homemade chocolates and dairy farm ice cream. After leaving the hotel, we took the advice of another reviewer and headed to Cedarburg for shopping and lunch. Perfect way to end our relaxing mini-getaway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and wonderful! The hotel is quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cappy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was my husband's and my second stay at the Port Hotel. Lovingly and charmingly restored by the current owner, it offers lovely bedrooms with gas fireplaces, warm, fluffy bathrobes, as well as plush bath towels and face cloths. Guests receive priority seating at dinner, and your stay also includes a buffet breakfast, again with priority seating in the restaurant for guests of the hotel. For ice, a guest need only call down to the restaurant, and a formally dressed server arrives at your door within 5 minutes with a champagne bucketful of ice and ice scoop (minus the champagne, of course!)

Located about 3 short blocks from Lake Michigan, there are many rooms with views of the lake, the breakwater, and the Port Washington Lighthouse. Check-in has been a bit "different" each of the times we stayed. The door to the check-in office on the 2nd floor was locked both times, and after 3 couples had amassed at the door during our last visit, I called the hotel number and reached someone in the restaurant. The owner, Joseph Zangl, was at the door within 5 minutes to check all of us in.

Joseph is a delightful character with a sense of humor and interesting tidbits of information as he shows you your room and how everything works, as well as how to contact him if you need him in the middle of the night.

We used Groupons for our stays both times, and feel we received an incredible deal. The Port Hotel does not disappoint!

Room Tip: Please be advised that rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor with no elevator and rather steep flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
721 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn

Property: The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Address: 101 E Main St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1915
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to indulge yourself in the luxury and elegance of this magnificently restored 1902 turn of the century hotel. The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn bring together award winning dining and gracious hospitality in an atmosphere of old world charm. The Inn offers gourmet breakfasts, down filled comforters, romantic fireplaces, breathtaking views of downtown Port Washington and Lake Michigan, all just 30 minutes north of Milwaukee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing