We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Do It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Do It!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I booked two nights at the Port Hotel through Groupon as a treat for my boyfriend's birthday. I can truthfully say that we were never as glad to go home after a weekend than we were after this trip! The hotel is not user-friendly - you ascend (slowly on very steep steps) two 20-stair flights to get to the rooms. There is no discernible office/checkin/receptionist area. You hunt it down, then are shown fairly lovely rooms. I will say that the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. We had a special Kohler water chamber shower - nearly impossible to figure as the diagrams on the faucet handles did not coincide with the temperature/settings. On our first night we ate at the Twisted Willow - we highly recommend it! Breakfast in our room the next morning was ok; my denver omlette though was tepid and the veggies raw. On the second night, we dined at the Port Restaurant at the hotel - yuck. That was the only way to get our free bottle of wine that came with the groupon special. It was a screw-top chardonnay! I ordered the chicken wellington (a speciality of the house) and it was too dry to eat. When the waitress finally came to clear our dishes (we tried to make eye contact with her during our meal but it seemed she was serving the entire room...) I complained about it, only to be told she wished I had mentioned it earlier. Well, I would have, given the chance! No discount, not even a comp dessert (which was also very dry - the choc. eclair torte), just another admonishment from the hostess that I should have told them sooner. Brunch the next day was a better. Watching drama between the harried omelette chef and the waitress was entertaining. Again at checkout - not a soul in site even though it was just a couple of minutes after 11am (checkout time! So we left our keys at the restaurant, and fled.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryjmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    19
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Port Inn using a deal we found on Living Social. The offer was supposed to include a room, turndown service, a bottle of wine, tasting at a winery, and breakfast in the morning. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no signs for check-in. We wandered up the stairs to the second and third floor and no one was in sight. Back down to the first floor where we found a staff member in the bar who said "Is it 3 already?" It was indeed, however no one had made mention that 3:00 was the check-in time, no was a confirmation number even provided when we made the reservation. She showed us to our room (304), which was beautiful. Large king bed, beautiful fireplace, desk, Kohler bathroom and beautiful wood trim throughout. She went on to explain that the free wine tasting that comes with our packages happens only once a day, at 10:30am, at a winery 40 minutes away. Wish that had been more clear in the Living Social terms, as we had been looking forward to that but needed to be out of the area by that time. We received the bottle of wine at dinner downstairs and came back to find a Ferrero Rocher chocolate for each of us on our pillow. They had a relatively extensive breakfast menu to choose from, so I selected the Apple Cinnamon stuffed French toast which indicated that it was served with warm Wisconsin syrup. The French toast was very good, but imagine my disappointment when it was served with two small containers of Heinz syrup from Pittsburg, PA. All in all, the stay was ok. It was a nice weekend escape for my wife and I, but not sure this hotel was really worth a 2 hour drive, or that the Living Social was really much of a savings. Wish they would have included a bottle of wine from the winery across the street (and the tour there as well), chocolates from the local chocolate shop (Chocolate Chisel) and the real Wisconsin syrup with breakfast. It's a cute hotel, but all in all, not worth a penny more than $125 a night, including all the extras.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehotelcritic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

From the moment we walked in it was an awesome experience. Arrived mid day to enjoy the brunch, which was delicious. Excellent customer service from being greeted, our server and even the young gentlemen cooking omelettes and awesome waffles. A little after 3pm, checked in, with no trouble at all and what an "old world" beautiful and comfortable room. Later enjoyed the prime rib, ribs and chicken buffet; oh the prime rib is a must and a bottle of wine, which came with the "Living Social coupon" we were using. After some time on the town, which is such a beautiful area, came back to our bed turned back and chocolates on our pillow. Picked out our breakfast pleasures and hung our request on the door knob for 830a delivery to our room, which was delivered promptly at that time and was perfect. (also included in our Living Social coupon) What a wonderful visit, would recommend, yes, no kids and no elevator...but an awesome stay. One more thing included in our "Living Social coupon" was "The Highlands Sportsman Club Winery Tour"...we drove through the country to Cascade, WI and what an experience. What a place!! Greeted by TJ in the beautiful Sportmans Club wine bar, briefing on wine making, then a tour through his wine fields on a four wheeler with all hunting dogs running beside, showing ponds, shooting areas, hunting fields and where he plans on building a building for wine producing as well as an area for wedding and family gatherings...we went back to the wine bar and explored wine tasting...simply an amazing time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjr560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We found this historic hotel thanks to Living Social and were treated like royalty. Upgraded us to a great room, complimentary made to order breakfast delivered to our door in the morning. We'd brought our bikes and they even took care to lock them up overnight for us. Neat history too... Be aware of their no kids, no pets, and no elevator.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite...gorgeous and large room with whirlpool tub and incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Oaks, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent a weekend at the Port Hotel and Restaurant in Port Washington, WI a short distance north of Milwaukee, WI. We purchased a getaway from Living Social which was a very good bargain. We chose to upgrade to a larger room which was absolutely worth it. There are only 10 rooms in the hotel. Ours was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was very large and well laid out. Nice Kohler fixtures for the bathroom. This is an unusual hotel with no front desk. Making reservations was a little difficult after leaving a message and trying to speak to someone for the reservation. Overall, it was a great weekend. Port Washington is very scenic with a beautiful marina. Nearby Cedarburg is not to be missed either. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: spend a little extra and upgrade to one of the large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browncow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel has a great location in the center of delightful Port Washington, WI. with lots of parking. It just seemed a bit odd. We got there early, and no one was there. Finally found a workman who found a woman who would take our luggage, but she was VERY clear that we should not come back before 3 p.m. check-in. We returned later in the afternoon, just a few minutes before 3. There is no lobby or signs where to go, so we hunted a bit and found a office door upstairs (there are NO elevators in the building). We knocked, but no one answered. We were not sure what to do, so just hung out in the hallway for a bit. Finally, a woman emerged from the office (she must have been just sitting in there, waiting for 3 p.m. to come!?) She was very pleasant, and showed us to our room, which was quite lovely, except for the 1950's TV. She surprised us by saying there was NO STAFF at the hotel after 10 p.m.! If you needed something, you had to call some man (she left his number) and he would come over. Seemed a bit dicey, and we heard from someone else that they had been at the hotel, had lost their keys in the evening, and it took a long time for anyone to show up with new ones! We never saw another soul in the building, except when we discovered the bar. Bartender was great -- very friendly and made wonderful drinks. It was good to see there were actually other people in the building. There are no extras for staying there (percent off food, etc.) other than you get go to the head of the line if you go to the dining room. Seems like this could offend others there, but we didn't bother to eat there so it wasn't a problem. No one helped with luggage (in or out), and when we left, again, never saw anyone that we could tell we were gone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at Port Hotel-
great room w/ large 4poster bed. Huge bathroom w/double shower fixtureas. @ complenemtery movie tickets. Upon returning from the theater, could not enter bilding as keys did not work. Owner let us in. It was raining and cold at the time. Computer system down at check-in but we received complementary drink while we waited.Breakfast was served in our room, anice touch. Food plentiful but just good. Cpmplimentary bottle of wine was not given. All-in-all we would stay again.

port

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearhunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
696 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn

Property: The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Address: 101 E Main St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1915
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to indulge yourself in the luxury and elegance of this magnificently restored 1902 turn of the century hotel. The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn bring together award winning dining and gracious hospitality in an atmosphere of old world charm. The Inn offers gourmet breakfasts, down filled comforters, romantic fireplaces, breathtaking views of downtown Port Washington and Lake Michigan, all just 30 minutes north of Milwaukee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing