We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Port Washington B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Washington Inn
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Spent a few days in Port Washington, Wisconsin, only a few hours from Chicago. Lovely lakeside town, good restaurants and this delightful B&B. The hosts, Rita and Dave Nelson, were warm and welcoming and the breakfasts were all homemade, healthful and delicious! The B&B has been lovingly restored and furnished with antiques and reproductions and the woodwork is all original. On top of that Dave and his son make the most beautiful furniture, some of which is around the B&B. Comfy beds and close to the main streets. A nice getaway for a few days. If you like to fish, lots of charter boats available. We drove north to the Kohler-Andrae State Park - sand dunes on the lake. And took in a county fair.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms - ours was a suite and had a balcony with a lake view (in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cree8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is what you want in a B&B. The coffee was great, the breakfast was fresh (with wonderful jams as others have mentioned) and the room was charming. Dave and Rita were friendly and happy to talk about Port Washington and the Inn. Port Washington may not have to enough to do for some--unless you are into charter fishing--but it's a nice place relax and unwind. I would stay here again. I put the value at "average" because it is a bit pricey, but that is consistent with most places like this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1midwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaNelson, Owner at Port Washington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

We are in our eighteenth year as owners/operators of the Port Washington Inn, so we've had the opportunity to host thousands of guests. Through the years we've communicated with our guests in various ways, using our brochure as a confirmation piece, sending out printed mailings thanking past guests for staying with us, and, in more recent years, communicating via an email broadcast four to five times per year.

Having been unaware that TripAdvisor provides an arena for dialog between innkeepers and their guests, we regret that we have likely appeared to be unresponsive to our reviews and reviewers. We highly value the reviews of our bed and breakfast inn and the time dedicated to the reviewing process.

We are increasingly aware that our guests often do not have as much leisure time nor expendable income as they once did. Getaways are therefore highly valued time away from busy routines, and finding a venue where one feels soothed by the surroundings and well cared for is most appreciated by guests.

As innkeepers, we appreciate the exceptionally positive verbal and written feedback from our guests which has both encouraged us and led to Port Washington Inn receiving the Award of Excellence from TripAdvisor. Upon receipt of this award, we thanked our past guests (via an email broadcast) for making this possible! Looking back over our career as innkeepers, we readily acknowledge that guest feedback has been an important guide in improving the experience a stay here offers. Often our own experience as guests has been enlightening, too.

Knowing we will go out of our way to return to a place that offers high quality food and coffee, we offer our guests freshly roasted, freshly ground and brewed coffee and food that is made of the highest quality ingredients, feeling our guests deserve only the best.

Our dedication to operating our inn in an environmentally friendly manner led to our Travel Green Wisconsin certification when that program became available in 2006. We look forward to adding our inn to TripAdvisor's Green Leaders Program soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Had a very nice stay in the off-season. Town was quiet so not much to do, but the Inn was very comfortable and very well taken care of. The breakfast was FANTASTIC. So many home-baked goods and home-made jams and such that we lost count.The bathroom was quite modest but the room was nicely decorated. They also have an old-school, VHS-only movie collection, which I think was un-ironic, but really good. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: not much gained by staying in a suite, from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolomaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

It is hard to add to the great sentiments already given by so many an inn stayer. So I hardily echo them all! Very nice breakfast, owners are quite hospitable though we only got to meet Dave, rooms are very nice and comfortable. Everything about this place is what you would hope to get from a B&B - you could get used to having breakfast served up like this. The atmosphere of this house is great too! I would have liked the cost to be a little less looking at other B&Bs, but I don't feel ripped off.

Room Tip: We had the Top of the World suite and it was nice. Barking neighbor dog on north side, but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonB_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

From the delicious, plentiful breakfast to the cozy provided robes, the Port Washington Inn is a great weekend getaway. Plan on finding things to do in nearby Cedarburg or otherwise nearby towns unless it's the summer time.

Room Tip: Look for a room with the Kohler WaterHaven showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a nice place to stay. The owners, Dave and Rita, are sociable without being overly so. They were very accommodating The homemade breakfast pastries were the hot egg dishes. The bacon and sausage from the local meat vendor were very good. Nice lake view from the upstairs suite. Good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the Port Washington Inn for a quick trip out of town this past weekend. The Inn is beautiful, nicely restored, and full of old world charm. Dave and Rita, the owners, are both wonderful people, attentive, and helpful in recommending nearby activities, places to visit, etc. Breakfast, which is different every day, is amazing, from the freshly cooked eggs, different meats, home-made yogurt, etc.

If you are looking for a wonderful B&B, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
244 reviews
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Stagecoach Inn Bed and Breakfast
8.6 mi away
Lilly Pad - Boerners' Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel Inn
The Port Hotel Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Washington Inn

Address: 308 W Washington St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range: £102 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Washington Inn is a four room bed and breakfast in the truest sense of the term. The inn was built in 1903 as the private home of George and Eva Blessing. The original character of the home has been preserved during the extensive restoration it has undergone during our time here (we are now in our 22nd season of incepting). A stay at Port Washington Inn will provide peaceful privacy and generous hospitality, and food to nourish body and soul. Dave's excellent early morning coffee and a full breakfast prepared from scratch and served buffet style in our formal dining room get our guests' day off to a great start. GIVEN ADVANCE NOTICE, WE ARE ABLE TO PROVIDE HIGH QUALITY FOODS FOR THOSE FOLLOWING A GRAIN-FREE, GLUTEN-FREE, LOW-CARB, OR DAIRY FREE DIET. We routinely serve breakfast meat(s) separately so NO ADVANCED NOTICE IS REQUIRED TO ACCOMMODATE A VEGETARIAN DIETARY PREFERENCE. The complimentary beverage centers, homemade treats, and generous common areas inside and outside the inn receive high marks with our guests. ALL GUESTROOMS HAVE QUEEN BEDS, ENSUITE BATHS, COMFORTABLE SEATING FOR TWO, LIGHTING TO SUPPORT READING. We invite you to experience the peaceful privacy and generous hospitality which bring guests back again and again. Secure WIFI access and good mobile phone reception will keep you connected during your time away. Take advantage of our multiple night discounts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing