We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfasts, kind hosts, lovely location”
Review of Garden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Wing B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfasts, kind hosts, lovely location”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The breakfasts were the highlight of our stay at the Garden House, they were delicious, and varied daily and the hosts obviously put a lot of thought into their preparation. The only challenge with breakfasts was we had to agree to a single breakfast time with the other guests, and the options given (8-9 AM) was significantly earlier than we would choose to get up on our vacation. The location in Port Wing is great, and most of the town and down to the marina and lakeshore is walkable. One drawback was the mattress was obviously pretty old, and fairly firm, and so wasn't very comfortable. The price was very reasonable for a B & B with such good breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLillith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

If you love gourmet breakfasts, lovely comfortable furnishings, gorgeous garden, and lively conversation, then the Garden House B & B is just the place for you! Tom and Karleen offer the best stay possible, and I can't wait to return for another visit. Thanks so much! -- KMac from Eau Claire, WI

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmacart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This was just the kind of place we look for in a B&B - friendly folks, great food, beautiful surroundings and a comfy room. Karleen and Tom are perfect hosts and thier lovely home has beautiful gardens and walking trails and is just a couple of minutes from the lake. It's only a 45 minute drive to Bayfield and we had a pleasant trip coming and going to take the Apostle Islands boat cruise. We also want kayaking to some of the nearby sea caves which are amazing by kayak (or Im sure by ice in winter!).
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rascalwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had a nice stay at the Garden House B&B, the rooms were comfortable and quiet, the grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was excellent and the hosts are fantastic. The beach also is very nice in Port Wing. If you want to have relaxing stay on Lake Superior, this is a great option.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SconSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We have been coming to the Garden House for many years and in many family formations. My Husband and I, some times with teens, and the last time with grandchild included. We have always been welcomed and accomodated beautifully. Tom and Karleen are always gracious and the breakfasts are remarkable and a treat! Their property is a peaceful haven and a wonderful reflection of them. A wake up "Cuppa" coffee or tea out on the deck before breakfast is a must! While there, we love to take day trips to explore the deserted beaches and watch for the Aurora Borealis at night. We go to Bayfield and check out all the little shops in town and visit Madeline Island via Ferry Boat. We take every back road allowed in our 4 wheel drive vehicle and have been rewarded with many unexpected sights and wild life. We are hoping to visit the big Top Chautauqua and maybe experience the "Bayfield Ghost Walk" this year. We always enjoy our time at Garden House and look forward to repeating!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We easily found the Garden House on a quiet street on a warm and sunny August afternoon. The house was beautiful and modern, with a huge sheltered deck, flower gardens, extensive lawn on all sides, a fish pond, and woods behind the house with neat paths to go meandering about.
Our hosts, Tom and Karleen, were very welcoming and gave us lots of helpful information about the area. They even invited us to attend a community band concert in which they were performing that evening. Since time was short we elected to spend the evening on a secluded sandy beach a half mile away, on Lake Superior, having a fire and watching the sun go down over the lake.
Our room was large and spotlessly clean, the furnishings were new and beautiful and the bed was perfect. If we wanted it, we had full use of the gorgeous living room,dining room and den, with TV, for the entire evening
In the morning we were treated to a gourmet breakfast on fine china in the dining room. Our cloth napkin holders even had fresh flowers in them. The breakfast included a puffy egg souffle with orange custard sauce, bacon, homemade blueberry pastry and cranberry almond bread, orange-strawberry frappe, coffee, fresh fruit salad, (garnished with a real flower that was almost too pretty to eat), and home-made ice cream for dessert!
Tom and Karleen were the nicest, most friendly hosts we have ever encountered in a B& B. I would say that our stay there was PERFECT!

  • Liked — I'm not kidding, everything was perfect!!!!
  • Disliked — I cannot think of a thing that could have been a problem.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank countrygal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Wing
24.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
165 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
56 reviews
22.3 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House B&B

Property: Garden House B&B
Address: 9255 Sunnyside Ln, Port Wing, WI 54865-4713
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Wing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home features a two room suite with outside entrance and private bath. The main room has a queen bed and a lounge area; an adjoining room has twin beds for your guests. Children are welcome. Another room is on the second floor and is air conditioned. It is a large master bedroom with a queen bed, two chairs and a private bath with shower. The double picture windows overlook our front gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing