We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Staff was friendly. Once we entered our room it was like hitting a wall, he smell of mold was so extreme we had to ask for a different room. Rooms are basic, queen bed, microwave, fridge, TV.
The toilet was loose, could've used a bolt or two in order not to wiggle around. We slept ok, noise
level was good. This place offers free breakfast - eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles and the usual cold breakfast options. We were not offered any Waterpark tickets like some of the reviewers stated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. First of all, let me apologize for the mold in the first room. I have spoken to housekeeping and maintenance and the problem has been eliminated. I am glad that your were happy with the second room. I am sorry that you didn't receive any waterpark tickets. They come with every room, so it must have been an oversight on our part. I hope that you brought it to our attention and we gave you the passes. Thank you again for the review.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    106
    98
    69
    52
See reviews for
192
79
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel itself is not anything special or nice but it is in reasonable condition and decently priced for a one night stay.

The problems we encountered were what made the trip nothing but a headache. First off we kept getting double charged after we made the initial reservation. My boyfriend had to call a handful of times before the issue was resolved. An employee would take off the double charge and then a few days later, we would get charged AGAIN. This occurred several times before finally we could get a manager on the phone to take care of it once and for all. So that was a little annoying but not a huge deal.

Now, our sole purpose of our trip was to go Noah's Ark for the day. Online, in an email and plastered on their front door, Days inn Portage claimed that if you stayed there, you would receive discounted Noah's Ark tickets. When we asked for the tickets the woman behind the front desk (Maria) said that she only had two tickets left, we had a party of six. She called her manager (a very casual, unprofessional phone call) and she informed us that the rest of the tickets did not get there yet. We asked when they would be there and she said not for a few days. When we asked what she could do for us she with much attitude basically said, nothing...too bad. All that Maria said was that discounted tickets could be purchased at the local Kwik Trips so we drove all the way there and she misinformed us, they do not sell discounted Noah's Ark tickets. Whether she purposely sent us there to get us to leave, that I do not know but either way, she needs to get her information right before sending people on a wild goose chase for something that is not factual. Was this whole fiasco about the money? No, not at all but I work in the marketing/business world and am well aware that we were the victims of false advertisement and I cannot be quiet about it. We (the consumers) lost money through a purchase that would not have been made had the advertisement not been misleading. It is about being misled and no one (the very rude girls at the front desk, managers, corporate) having done or even tried to do anything to make it right. Had they even just been kind, apologetic and professional throughout this process that would have been enough and I may have given the Days Inn Hotels another chance but rest assured we will never be staying at one of these again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portage hotels

Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Free breakfast in the morning! Free Waterpark passes to Mt. Olympus and Chula Vista ( for each member in your room)! Pleasant customer service at front desk! So if you are looking for a GREAT DEAL for a family fun trip to the dells and dont mind if your hotel is fit for royalty then this is your hotel. We absolutely got a great deal and also had a great night sleep. The pool is very small and outdated but we didnt use it so it did not matter. Hotel is outdated yes, however, it is kept very clean and actually better than a crowne plaza that we stayed at a few days later. This is your VALUE hotel that we loved and will be sure to return every year we go to the dells. thanks so much!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are handicap this hotel does not have an elevator. 701 on the second floor is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are SO happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate the great review we received. We really do strive to be the best value in the area. We are glad that you found our staff to be pleasant as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Terrible smell in the rooms! Dirty floor. The whole night we have been hearing a persistent electronic noise coming through the walls & ceiling. I suspect it was caused by the "Welcome to Days Inn" electronic board located outside. The conditioner is very old,
probably from 60-s or 70-s. Overall, one of the worst hotels in my life.

Room Tip: Reserve a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
7.9 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Property: Days Inn Portage
Address: N5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain and Devils Lake State Park makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista waterpark AND Noah's Ark Waterpark (based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing