We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean choice”
Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good clean choice”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want a big room, comfy bed, clean place and reasonable price go to the Super 8 in Portage.
The night weekend clerk was nice even when we changed rooms because we thought the air conditioner was loud. The breakfast is typical for Super 8. It is just a quick 20 minutes to the Wisconsin Dells.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummingbirdfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear "hummingbirdfriends",

I would like to personally thank you for your review of our hotel here in Portage. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad, as this helps us learn what areas we are doing well in, and where we can improve. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and found your room clean and comfortable.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip through Portage. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    125
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
143
81
40
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Justin, afternoon manager was an absolute gem. Room was good; clean, comfortable, quiet. I would definitely stay there again...have several times already while my truck driver was at the Petrol. I am sure alot of people could be put off by a tattooed and pierced person on first impression. Let me tell you he is the nicest young man, helpful, extremely pleasant. Old adage you can't judge a book by the cover is a prime example here. Just him alone has made me return every time I am in Portage.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricialand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear "Tricialand",

Thank you so much for your "five star review", and for your glowing comments for our Front Desk Manager, Justin. I could not agree with you more; he is a true asset to our team here at the Portage Super 8. I will be sure to share your comments with him, and commend him for his exceptional service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portage. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped here on our way from Sandusky Ohio to Bloomington MN. The room had a microwave, fridge and a hairdryer. The room was big enough for my family of five. The breakfast wasn't amazing, but it was perfectly fine. There is a Walmart close by if you need to get anything. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet even though the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5inwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear "5inwayland",

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Portage Super 8. We are pleased to see that we earned your "five stars", and that you found your room quiet and comfortable.

If you have additional feedback on our breakfast selection, please feel free to contact me directly with any suggestions you may have. We recently began adding hard boiled eggs to our menu which has had a positive response, but we are always looking for more ideas to make improvements.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portage. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is close to the interstate, clean and the desk staff were courteous and helpful. Asked for directions to a few places and they were more than happy to help. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the breakfast offerings. Not a big fan of waffles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear "clubhip",

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are thrilled to have earned "five stars" in all categories except for our breakfast. We have added hard boiled eggs to our breakfast menu in order to provide another option. If you have other suggestions on items you would like to see, please feel free to let us know. We love feedback! :)

Thanks again,

Elizabeth Woyt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
450 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing