We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were attending a funeral in the area and this was the closest hotel that met our needs. We were definitely not disappointed. Since we were staying for several days we chose a King Suite. It was a very spacious room with a separate living area and a large bedroom. The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We did have a problem with the AC unit in bedroom. We reported it as we were leaving for the funeral and it was working perfectly when we returned later in the day. The breakfast is typical of most hotels, adequate, but nothing spectacular. The breakfast area was clean and bright.

Some have complained about the location. We knew where it was and how to get there so it was not a problem.

We plan to stay here again when we return in August.

Room Tip: We really liked the King suite. If you are staying for a while it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clyde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for the great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please accept our condolences on your loss. We hope that you will come back soon under better circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just a standard Best Western - nothing great nothing bad....just average

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccarthykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place is somewhat hard to see from the road, and I wouldn't spend much time searching it out as it is average in every way. Clean enough, updated enough, staff were helpful enough, but not particularly friendly...meh...meh...meh...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations, during your recent stay with us. We do hope that you will try us in the future if you are ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we had two rooms for a 12 hour over night before skiing at Cascade. The rooms were clean and staff friendly. The place is nice, but it is an older hotel and a little dated. Overall it was as advertised and a good experience.

Room Tip: we wanted connecting rooms and that is why we stayed there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was only for a short time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we stayed at the BW Portage for a ski weekend at Cascade Mountain. Hotel was fair, nothing over the top, good ski package price, pool area was great plenty of room. Hot tub, sauna, and large pool. Breakfast bar was overall above average, very crowded though. Very close to a Wal-Mart and plenty of fast food places. Steak and seafood resturant next door was excellent. You get two ski passes good for anytime in the year with each night stay. Kids ski free, great deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here Jan 28th-29th and chose the 1 bedroom king suite package with the 2 adult tickets to Cascade Mountain. Our kids had their own bed (pullout couch) and TV, while we had our own bed and TV - perfect for getting them to bed a little earlier than us. Our kids are 12 and under, so they were able to ski free with our 2 adult tickets. Very economical considering lift tickets alone to Cascade would be $98 for the two of us. The hotel was clean and quiet. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the continental breakfast was standard and very good. We all enjoyed the hot waffles. We also need to shout out to the young man working for Sombreros, who kindly greeted as when we arrived at 6pm, with freshly made tortilla chips and salsa. We unpacked and headed downtown to Sombreros for a quick and inexpensive dinner, including our 2 for 1 margarita coupon he gave us. Muy Bien! Thanks for a great little 1 night winter getaway! I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Can only speak of the king suite - spacious, clean and well equipped.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brugert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for the great review about our ski packages. We hope to see you again next ski season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western with our 3 year old twins the night before skiing at Cascade. Check-in was very simple and we did not have prior reservations. The room rate was incredibly great! I was so happy to hear how inexpensive it would be to stay for the night. Our room was clean and we were happy with everything. My husband and children did use the pool and hot tub. It was a quick stay - we were only there for 15 hours or so. We did eat breakfast at the hotel - it was your basic continental. We had danishes and waffles. Wal-Mart is super close and that was nice.

I was pleased with the Best Western and would stay again for a basic hotel room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunterLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
456 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
57 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
967 reviews
16.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing