We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing trip”

Lake Wisconsin Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poynette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Wisconsin Resort
Chicago, Illionois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fishing trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent a weekend with the guys on a fishing trip. The accommodations are nothing fancy but for us guys it was perfect. The cottages are clean, there is a fully stacked kitchen, grill and a sitting area. The dock is literally right there - can rent a boat or a pantoon or both (just make sure to pre-order boating up-front). Gas station is two mins away if beer supply is at its end. Bait is sold in the front office so no need to bring your own.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

There were several surprises with the Lake Wisconsin Resort. First, there is no beach. They plowed it up to make a new boat launch. We were advised that there are no beaches on Lake Wisconsin or the Wisconsin River, you are supposed to get on a boat and use the sand bars. Secondly, there is no cabin that you can stay in where you can walk a few paces from your front door and dip your feet in the river. Most of the riverfront belongs to someone else. From some cabins you have a river view but there is also a fence between the cabin and the water. There is a set of docks by the Lakeside Bar where all of the action occurs. Our cabin faced the bar and water (50 yards from the water) so we heard all of the people drive up to the bar in their Harleys. On the second day, Saturday, they had a band from 3pm to 7pm at the Lakeside Bar (50 yds away). We went to a swimming hole by Baraboo that day and came back at 5:30pm to grill out and we had music right out in front of us. That was great. At 7pm, the music ended and a lot of people were drunk and some were getting into their cars with beer. They had parked on our cabin's lawn. The cops showed up about 9:00pm for a belligerent customer. We had watched the fight and then the arrival of the cops an hour later.
If you are looking for a place to party that has mediocre accommodations (think "noisy wall air conditioner that has globs of dust inside of it" and "cheap 70's paneling and kitchen wallboard") and a fridge that cannot handle 90 degree heat (our beer never got cold), then this is the place for you. We had a good time all weekend because we were all together not because of the accommodations. The kitchen sink is in the bedroom next to the door to the bathroom. These were 2 person cabins with two twin beds, a living room with a foldout couch that you can use for a 3rd person to sleep on. That sofa sleeper was deadly to the person who slept on it -- meaning: no sleep that night. To be fair, the sofa sleeper in another room was perfectly fine. There are also a lot of flies in this area. It was a real pain before bedtime to kill all of the flies that got inside the room. There should be some kind of flypaper inside the rooms.
You can have a very good time at Lake Wisconsin Resort as long as you are not picky. The bathroom shower is strong. The kitchen is clean and stocked with dishes. The cabins are clean. It is a cheap alternative to chain motels that are far away and you will be in a unique setting. It is a party destination on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank WisconsinHazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

My family had the pleasure of visiting the resort for the first time. It was very nice. The fishing was unbelievable. We rented one of their pontoons and had a great time. We plan on staying again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

We cannot say enough about how much fun my family and I have at Lake Wisconsin Resort. This is a great resort for families with kids of all ages. I also like to go up in the Fall and Spring to just go fishing with my buddies. Our family tries to make it up every summer. The cottages are roomy, clean, and cute with great views of the Lake. They have all of the comforts of home. My sons and I like to fish, and we have been very successful! Fishing boats and pantoon boats are available at the Resort. There is also a bait shop and general store. My wife and daughter like to relax, hike around and take in the natural surroundings. Everybody goes for a swim at the end of the day. The hospitality that Dave and Chris show as managers of the Resort to all guests is unbelievable. You feel like you are royalty in your own Resort. The nearby restaurant is only 50 feet away and makes it nice for a night of fun and eats when we don't want to cook. Campfires are fun for roasting marshmallows and hot dogs, to star gaze, and tell ghost stories. The sunsets over the Lake are unbelievable. We have also been lucky enough to go to the Resort for Winter activities. Snowmobiling, nearby downhill skiing, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, and ice fishing are some of the activities that we like to enjoy, or if you want, you don't have to do anything at all. We have also visited nearby Devil's Lake to backpack and test our skills at climbing. Although we don't like to gamble, Hochunk Casino is only a short drive away. The Resort is a fairly short distance (2 hours and fifteen minutes) from our house in the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. I would recommend a regular stay at this hidden jewel as a refreshing alternative to the touristy area in the Dells.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmlmlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poynette
4.7 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
Inn at Wawanissee Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Victorian Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Lake Wisconsin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wisconsin Resort

Property: Lake Wisconsin Resort
Address: W 10941 Corning Road, Poynette, WI 53955
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Poynette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Poynette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Wisconsin Resort offers a variety of cabins including one-, two-, and four-bedroom cabins, both adjoining and stand-alone styles. Each cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, bed linens and Cable TV. Picnic tables, grills and fire pits complete the outside grounds. Some cabins are pet friendly too. Our resort has a Bait and Tackle shop with a variety of convenience store items, ice, gifts, snacks and licenses as well. Lake Wisconsin Resort is the largest capacity resort on the lake. It's perfect for family and friend reunions with plenty of room to spread out and enjoy life at the lake. The resort is located on level ground on the eastern shore of an 18,000 acre lake just 20 minutes north of Madison. Lake Wisconsin has over 20 miles of lake for you to enjoy boating or fishing. We offer a private boat ramp and dock for our cabin guests at no charge. Our resort is open year round with winter sport activities near by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Wisconsin Hotel Poynette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing