We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn Restaurant

The Barn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kimberling City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had twenty six in our group eating here, yet they had no problem serving us with a smile. Food was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse14545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
516 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Da Barn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Been a few years since been here. Have great medallion steaks special. Spaghetti was nothing to write about. It is interesting all the things the owner has done around this area. Camping, golf, river trailers, bars, etc. I'd come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank withvalidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“SUPER Food & Atmosphere !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We LOVE the Friday "beer-battered" FISH fry. However, anything ordered off menu is delicious!
I think the cooks are top quality and deserve high marks. (We've returned often.) Always Friendly service! The brunch has a ton of selections. And if you'd like a wedding reception or group gathering this is the ONLY place that knows how to do it, with plenty of room for guests. They know how to make a beautiful presentation and how to serve. It's is a hidden secret how good this place really is! Well-worth a visit for any occasion.
TIP: Mother's Day or Father's Day--you better make reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4RedEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not somewhere I would go often.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This restaurant is ok, depends on when you go. Not consistent. Was there for a wedding reception, food was good, but the dining room was dark and dirty. The pond outside is nice if there wasn't so much trash thrown into it. Has potential.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank USNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
417 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Pork chop dinner was delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A group of us from the marina went there on Friday night for their fish fry. I decided to try their pork chop dinner instead of the fish. I was really impressed with the chop. It was thick and very tender. Since Prairie du chien is near the Iowa border I was joking that the chop came from Iowa pork (Iowa is known for their pork). The individuals ordering fish at the table were pleased with their dishes. One comment was made that the clam chowder was not quite as good as usual. I can not comment as I did not have any of the chowder.

I had mashed potates for the side and was advised that they are served with lots of butter. I requested the melted butter on the side and was very happy that I did. The salad bar was fresh with a number of choices.

As others have mentioned The Barn was remodeled about a year ago and the menu, food quality and staff are wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing