We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE.......”

River Heights Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Heights Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prescott
Paris, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE.......”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is, by far, the worst hotel that I i have ever stayed at. I am not even sure that it was legal to rent rooms in such poor condition. I reserved the room in advance and was told that they were booked up so I should make the reservation at that time as they were the only hotel in town. Not knowing the area I didn't realize that Hastings MN was just across the bridge and there were more hotels 5 minutes away. The room had two double beds, the mattresses were very old and wore out. One of the beds mattress was so bad that when I sat on the edge in the middle both ends of the mattress came up off the bed. There were no blankets on the bed, just a sheet and the bedspread. I slept with all my clothes on including my socks, because I didn't want to get a rash. I didn't see any bedbugs, but wasn't going to take the chance! The air conditioner did not work very well, it did turn on, but did not cool very well. The room was dirty. There were marks all over the walls, and there was dirt in all the corners and edges. There were nails sticking out of the wall on the corner (inside corner) that you could easily snag your leg on when walking over to the bed. The paint on the ceiling was peeling and falling off. There were actually big hunks of paint handing from the ceiling ready to fall. The wifi did not work. The TV was and old tube 19", there wad cable, but there were no batteries in the remotes. I could keep going but you get the idea. If I had know I could post pictures on this site I would have took some. I recommend going across the bridge and staying in MN. Don't believe them when they tell you that they are the only hotel in town!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Soto, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Avoid at all costs, I drove an extra 40 miles to stay here only to be dumped in a smaller room at a higher rate! Tiny moldy smelling room with a 19" TV. Choose literally anywhere else to stay. a pop up tent would have been a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prescott hotels

Shullsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

True that this place is in serious need of some TLC but after partying at the bar next door it really is a good option. We had asked for extra towels since we were sharing the room with friends and when we returned they were there for us. Just go look at the room first as we did and go from there. Sheets and towels were clean and our TV was a newer flatscreen with cable. We would not choose to go stay here for a weekend but again, it beats getting a DUI and in Prescott this is the best choice at this time for a last minute stay.

Room Tip: Look at the room available first since they are all a bit different
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Not worth it's 'cheap' price. Dirty rooms. Scuzzy water. Motel is falling apart. I was affraid to take my socks off!!! The hotel is certainly falling apart and in need of repair. The other reviews on here are pretty correct.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My family and I were looking for a "affordable" place to gather in this part of the country. This motel was chosen for it's location, in addition to the low cost. After reading the reviews, my expectations were not high. Our group occupied 4 rooms in the motel. Overall, you can tell that they are not interested in keeping this property. While I did not find it as dirty as some of the other reviewers mentioned, it is certainly in disrepair. Landscaping is overgrown, carpets have holes, paint is chipping. On the other hand, we did have a positive experience. The rooms are large, I found the desk staff to be friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quiet. As it was getting dark, a large group of motorcyclist pulled in, and I thought we were in for a long night. Judging from the piles of beer cans in the morning, they had quite a party, but none of my family were disturbed by noise. I can see why the other reviewer was disappointed in the motel. From the looks of it, I think it was at one time a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomOboysOmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Don't bother with this motel. No pool, rooms are disgusting, their night clerk was absolutely rude!!! We rented three rooms and all the chairs in every room were stained, all the rooms were dirty. I found a used washcloth hanging on our shower rod.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've stayed at the River Heights Motel a couple times because it's close to where one of my parents live. It is currently for sale and it shows; the current owner's are understandably not spending any money on it. The entire property needs serious renovation from water damage in bathrooms, and fixtures, to the furnishings, to all the finishes; it's all dead tired. For the price - over $65.00 for a single per night, the standard of the rooms and what you get, I felt gouged. Some rooms have internet, some don't. Some rooms have a coffee maker, some don't and of the rooms I've stayed in, none of them has a light that can be easily reached from bed to read with. I moved a standing lamp to the side of the bed (only some of the outlets have power) so I could read in bed.
The good news is that the motel is on a beautiful site above the river, they've recently changed to a non-smoking policy (although unsuccessfully in rooms that were once smoking rooms - they still reek), the nearby restaurant/bar across the parking lot serves solid standards, and who ever buys this place might possibly give it the love it needs and restore an "old school" motel to a nice place.

Room Tip: If you want internet service, be sure to ask for a room that gets it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmerbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prescott
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
18.1 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
212 reviews
18.7 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
315 reviews
18.2 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Heights Motel

Property: River Heights Motel
Address: 1020 US Highway 10, Prescott, WI 54021-1826
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prescott
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing