We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Not a lot of nice hotels to choose from in Racine but this is the worst Marriott Hotel I have ever stayed in. The exterior looked okay, maybe a little unkept but hotel is huge. Lobby smells a little like stale smoke, so do some halls. Our room was completely dated. Chair and end table looked like they were from early 1980s. Stained popcorn ceilings and dingy bedspread. Checked out right after we saw the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Racine Marriott. We were disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your recent stay. The hotel has been updated with the new Marriott bedding, bathrooms, flat panel televisions and upgraded high speed internet. It is our utmost desire to ensure that each guest enjoys their accommodations. If you are traveling to Racine in the near future, please call ahead and we would be happy to be prepared with any special requests you may have to ensure your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

The room was spacious and clean; the beds comfortable but the pillows were ridiculously bloated for any kind of comfortable head and body positioning. The decor is a tad dated but it boasts a clean indoor hot tub and generous-sized pool. I didn't care much for the front desk staff. We asked for directions to the beach and were greeted with the most disdainful faces and incredulous questions about why we would want to go there. Luckily a brew pub at the marina was far more helpful... And after a long hot drive the beach was great.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank monkeybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience while staying at our property in Racine. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the pillows to be comfortable. We are happy to provide a down alternative pillow upon request. We are very apologetic that the staff was not helpful when asking for directions to the beach, as Racine is home to the #1 beach in Wisconsin! We will certainly use this experience as a training tool to enhance our guest services. Please consider staying with us on your next visit to Racine, as I'm certain your next experience will be much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for my brother's wedding. Originally we had booked 3 rooms but the night before our arrival had to cancel one. The staff could not have been nicer. Both of the rooms we had were clean and comfortable. All of the staff was helpful and courteous. We had breakfast the morning of the wedding. My husband had the buffet, which he said was delicious. My daughter and I ordered from the menu. Our selections were also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Racine Marriott while in town for your brother's wedding. We appreciate your recognition of our staff for their helpful and courteous manners. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast in 20 & Oakes. Please visit us, again, the next time you choose to come to Racine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a flagship property...full service.

Rooms are very large and comfortable, clean and well appointed.

For us, the nice bonus was that they have an excellent chef who does many "non-standard" offerings. They have, of course, all the customary sandwiches and familiar entrees, but if you'd like to try something a slightly different, this is a good place.

It is not close to the Interstate. People who stay here are mostly in Racine for business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding the menu in 20 & Oakes. Our Chef has many years of experience in the culinary arts! His experiences have taken him to the East Coast and back to bring Racine great menu items and his very own line of spice blends and salsas. We are thrilled to hear you have an enjoyable experience while visiting the Racine Marriott, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Racine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here since they were one of the few places in the area that were pet friendly, upon arrival the staff at check-in were very professional and friendly, the process was very quick. Our room was clean and nice with a comfortable bed we had a nice restful night.

Even though the property is a few miles from I-94 it is worth the short drive for the peace and quiet, we will definately stay again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet call and verify they have a pet friendly room available since they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for staying at the Racine Marriott on your recent visit to Racine, and sharing your positive experience while traveling with your pet. We are happy to welcome guests traveling with their family members including pets. It is wise to call ahead and make us aware you are traveling with your dog, as we prefer to reserve rooms that are on the first floor and close to an exit for convenience to outside areas. We look forward to welcoming you, and your pet, back to Racine the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

There are some terrific features of this hotel. The pool area, for one, is very bright, roomy and pretty. My kids loved it (they loved everything about this hotel!) and I was very comfortable doing work there while they swam. Some indoor pools are claustrophobic, hot or smell too much like chlorine, but this area is perfect. Best indoor hotel pool deck I've been to.

The ballroom areas are big, well-maintained and impressive, as well. We were just passing through that section of the hotel, but the high ceilings and elegant hallways were so inviting that I wish we'd had some business there.

The front desk area is beautiful, as well. There is a terrific reception area with a fireplace and couches. Very upscale. And when we called down for extra towels to have on hand to get ready for a wedding, the staff ran them up immediately and even included extras! I was so grateful.

The slight problem we had was with the hotel room areas. I don't think the renovations have reached that part, or at least not all of it yet. The hallways we traveled seemed like cruise ship hallways: you just want to use them quickly and then get out of them and into more space! The ceilings there felt a little low. The layout is a little confusing and the elevators seemed really far from our rooms - we used the service elevators a few times because they seemed more logically placed and quicker.

Our room had the smallest closet I've ever seen in a hotel. Those could definitely use an upgrade! Room space seemed to be wasted - a lot of room along the TV wall to line up suitcases, but I'd rather have had them more out of sight or had more room for hanging clothes. Maybe an extra free-standing wardrobe. Drawer space was a little slight, as well. Somehow, we squeezed in our wedding clothes and suit bags and even hung some shirts so I can't say we didn't have enough room, but it was awkward looking.

Our room (#447) may have been in an area that is due for renovations so I'd hate to give the impression that all rooms are like it (although it looks just like the photo posted on this site). But I would give this advice: if your room has sluggish A/C or it has a funny smell like ours did (not like anything dirty or rotting - the room seemed very clean - but instead it was an unpleasant smell like some nursing homes) ask to be moved right away. We didn't. We thought it'd get better and by the time we realized it wasn't going to, we were unpacked and inertia set in. We didn't plan on spending much time in our room, too, so we thought it was no big deal but it's not pleasant when you're tired and you open your door and a warmth and unpleasant smell greets you. :( I think they would've moved us, too. They seemed very eager to please. Our fault for being too lazy to repack and unpack to take a chance somewhere else in the hotel.

Another room tip: if it seems like your room has no blackout shade option, keep looking in the curtain area! We slept the first night with no blackout shade because it looked like the track didn't extend all the way across. We woke up at the crack of dawn with the room flooded with piercing morning light (must've been on the sunrise side of the hotel!). When we complained to our teenaged nephew later, he walked over to the set of drapes, investigated and found a set that pull all the way across! Sigh.

Final comment, and this is more of an issue with Marriott and not this location, but I wonder why hotels like this who compete with others in their "tier" don't offer a free continental breakfast option? This location offers free wireless (thank you!!!!) but more and more luxury hotels are turning toward a quick, on the run breakfast included, and it makes the ones who don't seem stingy. I'm imagining that it can't be that expensive to offer a simple breakfast buffet, especially a cold one. Parents appreciate a staggered breakfast option (you grab something while your spouse swims with the kids) and busy people on a schedule don't want to sloooow down and deal with a wait staff just to get something simple to eat. It would be a terrific touch for this hotel.

Room Tip: Move right away if your room has an unpleasant smell or sluggish A/C (we had that in room #447). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toledomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Racine Marriott. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and hand an overall great experience. I am sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and we would have been happy to move you to a new room. We take great pride in the service and would want each guest to enjoy every aspect of their experience with us. Please let us know the next time you are visiting Racine, and we would be happy to reserve a room that would comfortably accommodate you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this Marriott several times while attending various family functions. It's always been a very pleasant stay with accommodating and attentive staff.

If your in Racine or Kenosha area, it's about the only full service hotel option, but it's a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORDFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineMarriott, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to review the Racine Marriott on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the kind words that you have shared regarding your experiences at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town visiting family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racine
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Racine
Fairfield Inn Racine
#2 of 8 in Racine
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Racine
Comfort Inn Racine
#4 of 8 in Racine
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn / Racine
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mt. Pleasant-Racine West, WI
11.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine

Address: 7111 Washington Ave, Racine, WI 53406-3816 (Formerly Racine Architect Hotel & Conference Center)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Racine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine is the largest full service hotel conveniently located between Milwaukee and Chicago. Delta Racine offers an ideal location for business and leisure travelers, with recently finished Frank Lloyd Wright inspired renovations, 50" Flat Screen TV's that contain the Netflix App, a State of the art Fitness Center, Luxury Bedding, 1GB Wireless Internet, and a Complimentary Business Center. Delta Marriott Racine is located in close proximity to the burgeoning Arts Community, Lake Michigan, and local shopping and dining. Also near companies such as SC Johnson & Son, Case New Holland (CNH), Putzmeister, Andis, BRP and Wheaton Franciscan Health. The brand new Oakes Sports Bar and Grille features affordable dining in a relaxed atmosphere with elevated entrees. Racine's largest indoor pool. Having over 10,000 sq ft of event space makes Delta Racine most popular among hotels locally for weddings, reunions, meetings, training's, spiritual retreats and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racine Marriott Hotel Racine
Marriott Racine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing