We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Comfort Inn Racine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Racine
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Victoria
Level Contributor
244 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Best low-priced motel we've been in. Friendly, helpful check-in (knew all the Frank Lloyd buildings in town) clean room (tiny bit of mold in a corner of the tub) nice firm bed, clean, crisp sheets, wireless worked. Didn't check out the exercise room, but the breakfast was fine. We'd stay here again in a flash. Restaurant next door has cheap, not-bad food, and lots of it. Terrible wine, though.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    47
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
25
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

There's so much wrong with this place that it'd difficult to focus on a few things. Bottom line: this poorly cleaned/maintained place discriminates against disabled people.

My blind husband and I reserved a room at this facility because of its convenient location and its competitive pricing. We really should have checked the reviews on this site. Had we done that, we might not have stayed there. Housekeeping was lacking -- moldy shower curtain, a smoke detector that did not work, a tub faucet that just kept on running, and stale smoke in a non-smoking room.

Once front desk staff saw my blind husband's service dog, we were told we were being moved out of a room they originally had assigned to us (a room we NEVER saw) to one at the back of the facility -- to a "pet room" at a place that says (in its advertising) it does not allow pets. The room we were given was minimally clean. By the time we saw all of this, we're dead-tired and figure we just have to deal with it.

We were never sure the smoke alarm was fixed, the shower curtain wasn't changed, and the room wasn't straightened after we complained, nor did we get clean towels, and the garbage wasn't taken from the room. No more service for us! Were they trying to drive us out? We certainly thought so. At least the faucet was fixed.

The next day, the general manager asked if "the dog" would be in the room when it was cleaned. SINCE THE SERVICE DOG IS USED AS A MOBILITY AID BY MY HUSBAND, THE DOG GOES WITH US. IN FACT, WE CARRY COPIES OF STATE SERVICE DOG LAWS WITH US, TO SUPPOSEDLY EDUCATE FOLKS WHO WANT TO DENY MY HUSBAND HIS CIVIL RIGHTS AND REFUSE TO RENT TO HIM -- or want to "Jim Crow" us, like this hotel did. Things really deteriorated when I asked if they entered a room when the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign was out, as that is the ONLY time the animal is in the room without us -- on those rare occasions. At least the wireless Internet service was strong and steady, and the cable television was interesting.

The continental breakfast was worth every cent we paid for it. (It was free.) These folks couldn't even provide salt for some sad-looking hard-boiled eggs. No one restocked. If a facility doesn't want to offer basics, they shouldn't bother to offer breakfast at all.

We certainly didn't leave the Racine Comfort Inn satisfied or happy (as their advertising supposedly guarantees). We seriously thought about going to the Fairfield Inn a couple of blocks away. Yet no one offered an apology. If anything, the general manager was more rude than we expected he would be after we first communicated our concerns. In fact, he argued with us as we were checking out. The minute they saw the service dog, the treatment we received clearly indicated to us they did not want us there. We checked with a lawyer and with The Seeing Eye. Hotels/motels/lodging facilities cannot refuse to rent to anyone with a service dog, nor can they put customers with service dogs in "pets only" rooms. To do so is discrimination. We are contemplating legal action. But given the quality of the cleaning and quality of front desk staff, and based on how we were treated, I doubt we'll ever do business with this chain again. There's no way I would recommend this place to anyone. And I'm going to do my best to spread the word about a company that discriminates against service dog users.

There's nothing like having your civil rights denied to make for a fun time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaMayoBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Racine hotels

India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I have run hotels in my lifetime and this hotel needs the management taking more personal interest. Housekeeping is the worst I have experienced in 45 years of traveling around the world. The court yard at the rear entrance is filthy and so is the parking and garden areas.
The hotel is not worth the money one pays for the over night stay. The reception staff are excellent but that's all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The lobby smelled a bit like armpits when I arrived. The showerhead had mildew growing on it (never seen that before) and the lock on the back door did not latch. Other than the mold in the shower, the room was ok.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank swilliams870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The hotel was an absolute joke. Being a clean hotel is NOT a priority here, and neither is customer satisfaction. I wouldn't ever stay at this place again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessparky1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel is in serious need of an update. Everything was old and worn. Worse, the entire hotel had a terrible smell. It was even worse in my room than in the hallway. The fitness facility was awful -- only one of the three machines in the room was functional. One didn't work and the last one seemed downright unsafe.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here on way to Milwaukee. Hotel is average, nothing special. Sheets and blankets were so itchy we could not sleep very well. The city of Racine did not really have much to offer. We went down to the lake, that was beautiful. The beach was not very inviting. I would probably bypass Racine and go straight to Milwaukee next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goredbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racine
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Racine
Fairfield Inn Racine
#4 of 8 in Racine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Racine Architect Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Racine/Sturtevant
Days Inn Racine/Sturtevant
#2 of 4 in Sturtevant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn / Racine
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Racine (I-94 @ Exit 333)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Racine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Racine

Property: Comfort Inn Racine
Address: 1154 Prairie Dr., Racine, WI 53406-3972
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Racine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Racine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort inn hotel ideally located in Racine just four miles from Lake Michigan and four Miles east of I-94.This hotel is close to area attraction like Alpine vally Music theatre-East troy-30 Miles,Kenosha outlet mall, Potawatomi Casino,Gurnee Mall, Six Flags great america,Regency Mall of Racine. O'hare Airport-Chicago is 67 Miles and The General Mitchell international Airport is 20 miles. We have free deluxe continental breakfast,Free high speed wireless internet,Free local calls.Free USA Today,Microwave-Refrigerator in all rooms,Hair Dryer,Iron with board,Alarm clock,TV with HBO, Whirlpool, and full Basic Cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Racine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing