We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is excellent. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, CLEAN room, especially the bathroom and the beds are extremely comfortable. The indoor pool area is another welcome bonus. It also has a whirlpool and sauna. That particular area was very clean as well.This hotel is pet friendly too. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJR-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    25
    20
    13
See reviews for
32
28
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Asked for a room next to an exit as I have walking problems. Was assigned one in between exits. Called the front desk and then was given an exit room. Gave them my choice number but they didn't seem to know how to enter it an so far haven't been given credit and also was overcharged for the room from internet rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As part of a group many of us checked in at the same time and the front desk staff were efficient to get us through. However, while we checked in at 3:30 our room wasn't ready, apparently due to a large group staying the previous night. The housekeeping staff we met at our room were nice and looked like they felt bad since they had to rush. We wasted an hour wandering Rhinelander and came back to our cleaned room.

The first thing we noticed was the musty smell which seemed to have a hint of a previously designated smoking room (the hotel is smoke-free). The window had constant moisture on it with some mold buildup - our room was on the backside of the hotel facing the woods so maybe there was a moisture problem due to that. We were there during some of the coldest summer days in recent years and had to have the heat on. Of course the heater smelled a bit funky, not the burning dust smell, but something constant that made us sneeze now and then. The shower/tub had permanent mold around it, the ceiling had yellowed water spots and the timer for the heat lamp didn't work. Towels were harsh, and the showerhead was barely functional with barely adequate water flow. There are signs everywhere promoting "Quality" and "value", which we had a good laugh about. The walls are thin so every time someone used the bathroom or shower in the adjacent room it sounded like it was in our room if we were in a more modern hotel. I kept my white socks on when I was in the room and they were almost black at the end the day; I almost wore my shoes in the room. The carpet wasn't matted from dirt, but it looked like it needed a cleaning. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, but the pillows were lumpy. The room had adequate space for two people with two medium suitcases - we had a two queen room and it would have been fine for 4 people as a place to overnight. The hallways are dark, the wi-fi was good.

Breakfast was good-enough for two mornings, although the premixed eggs and the egg/cheese thing were very salty. I stayed as "heathy" as possible with oatmeal, milk, fruit and cereal, since everything else didn't look good.

The amenity areas should be shut down. The game room had 3 video games, a pinball machine and a coin changer. Two of the games were unplayable as the video was blurry or had faded, the coin changer didn't work, but the pinball machine worked great. All were from the mid 80s and looked like they had been there and turned on since then. The pool area was dark (low lighting) and we never saw anyone in it - it's a 20yd rectangle, so good enough for laps. The spa/jacuzzi was on the verge of being warm and was stained badly in it. We went in at 9:30 at night and couldn't believe how cool it was when we had heard from fellow travelers earlier in the day that it was almost too hot. We had the chills when we got out after 5 minutes. We tried the sauna to warm up and it worked, but it smelled like old sweat. I used the shower room and was pretty grossed out by how much mold there was around the shower stall and then generally moldy/musty/sweaty smell. It must not have been cleaned in some time. There were also tiny flies (not gnats) all around. It took literally 4 minutes to get warm water out of the shower.

While I can't vouch for others in our group, the general sentiment was that for the price we would have expected a much cleaner experience. I guess you can have a lot of "amenities" at a low price, with the quality to match. If you need a room for an overnight, this might suffice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhinelander hotels

Sunman, IN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our recent travels to this area. This is a former Holiday Inn that has been acquired by Choice Properties. The decor has been updated as well as the bedding and pillows. The staff is super friendly although they are sometimes stretched a little thin. You may have to wait at the desk for service or wait a bit for your room to be ready. The free breakfast was very good by motel standards. Everything was hot and fresh. We stayed on both the first and second floors. Both floors were comfortable and quiet. Getting to our upstairs room was like going through a maze and be aware that there are steps to be climbed with your luggage. All in all this was a decent place to stay for the money. We would stop here again.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Free wifi? Not in room 103 unless you stand against the door.Whirlpool was a few degrees too hot and clearly quite old but functional. Pool was frigid. King room but had a murphy bed along one wall that was not useable. Will update tomorrow about breakfast & checkout if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

On a family road trip home from military duty, we stopped in Rhinelander to stay overnight. First room completely smelled like cat urine. I was told that after pets stay in a room, the room is steam cleaned. I think they missed this one. We were moved to another room that also had a smell (not old hotel smell) but a combination of cigarettes and urine. Tried to move again, but was told there weren't anymore double rooms available. The carpet was gross (greasy actually). The screen window was bent allowing bugs to fly in, and the wall paper was peeling in multiple places. The lobby looks nice enough, the breakfast was okay, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The "heated" pool isn't heated at all. It was the coldest water I've experienced since doing a polar plunge in January. My kids looked like smurfs when they got out of the water. Overall, we left with that "icky" feeling after our stay.
I've stayed with this chain many times over the years for work and personal travel without incident, but this one is definitely off of the if I ever stay in Rhinelander again. Unfortunately, there is a lot to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hotel is older but clean. Very good continental bkfst options HUGE pool which was great, the whirlpool could use an upsate but worked just fine. Ok workout room, older equipment. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotkelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
21.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 668 W Kemp St, Highway US 8 & WI 47, Rhinelander, WI 54501-3878
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rhinelander
Quality Inn Rhinelander
Holiday Inn Rhinelander
Rhinelander Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing