We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brekke's Fireside Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinelander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brekke's Fireside Resort
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent Memorial Day weekend at Brekkes and had a fabulous time. The resort was spotless. Carol and Dan were excellent hosts. Our cabin was very charming and we had a lovely view of the lake. We were kept busy using all the emenities that were available to us. We loved that everything was in such close proximity to our cabin, yet it felt very private. We will be going back and would highly recommend Brekkes to our family and friends. It was a wonderful, peaceful place to spend some time. We left with wonderful memories, some new friends and a goal to return next year. A very special place...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Thank you for the review! And thanks also for your complimentary comments on our resort overall and the cottage you had. It's nice to hear you had a fabulous time and left our resort with some great memories. It's always rewarding to see or hear comments like those.

I hope you have indeed recommended us to family and friends! As great as sites like Tripadvisor are (you're listening, right Tripadvisor?) you can not beat word of mouth advertising at a place like ours. If history is any guide with these reviewers the next time we see them it will be Memorial Day, so this coming May we certainly hope to! Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our first time staying at Brekkes resort. We came to the resort for a getaway from everyday life stress and we were pleased with our time there- very relaxing! We stayed for the weekend, but I left wishing that we had stayed for the week. The cabins are older, but extremely clean (in fact another couple at the resort commented about the cleanliness of the cabins). I was left wondering if the owners had ever attended a Disney Excellence seminar as everything was "in the details" from the raked sand at the shoreline to the cleanliness of the cabins- not to mention the mattresses were extremely comfortable and newer (better than my mattress at home!). The owners are very friendly and attentive to needs. The weather was hot (close to 90 degrees), but the cabins were nice and cool with the shade of the big trees and the breeze box fans that were provided. If you want to try kayaking, canoeing, or fishing from an aluminum boat, the resort provides those free of charge. At night, you can enjoy a bon fire with the fire-pit on the shoreline and free fire-wood. There is also a bar with a pool table, etc. so that you can enjoy a drink or two with others at the resort. We plan to come back again in the fall when the muskies are biting and the fall colors are in bloom. We didn't bring our kids this time, but I can see that our kids would have a great time there. Other benefits- stores are less than a mile away, so if you forget something, no worries. Also, there is no wireless network, but we have US Cellular for service and had no problem getting cell service (and 3G data).

Room Tip: I would suggest Cottage #8 or #9-12 as they are a little more set-back and they are closer to the be...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Collier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! To answer your question we have never attended a Disney Excellence seminar. The closest we've come to being associated with Disney was, and this is a true story, that I wanted to refer to Brekke's Resort as "The second happiest place on Earth." But due to the very real possibility of legal action from the good folks at Disney that has not come to pass.

But in all seriousness thanks for your kind words. There are a lot of details to stay on top of so it is very nice to see such compliments in writing. And it's always nice to hear people say they enjoyed their stay and wish they had stayed longer. If you are thinking about a fall trip for the colors late September or early October is usually about the peak. But we'd love to see you again no matter what time of year it is! Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We've been visiting Brekke's since the mid 80's and have missed only 1 year. It's quiet, clean, and the cabins are very well-maintained. Our group takes 2-3 cabins and we all have a great time. We always go the first week of August (can't miss Rhinelander Ridikulous Days!). There's other families that visit that same week that we've known now for nearly 30 years and it's great seeing each other every summer. Rhinelander is not as touristy as Minoqua or Eagle River but if you enjoy fishing, golfing, or just hanging out at the beach this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumaLena_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review! And thanks also for your comments on the cleanliness and condition of our cabins. For those wondering about Ridiculous Day, it's a street sale in town the first Wednesday of August. The group we have for this week is somewhat unique, as the individual families have been coming for so long it's almost turned into one large family reunion. And for a resort that is about the best thing you could ask for...a group who not only likes visiting us, but also looks forward to seeing all of our other guests. So thanks to the entire group for that, thanks for the review, and we look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

We go every year with our extended family and rent the whole place out. It is something we look forward to all year. You can't beat the Northwoods in the summer, and this place let's you enjoy all it has to offer.. We fish, waterski, hang- out at the beach, and stay up late in the bar. Close by are great golf courses as well. Danny who runs the place is awesome. The resort is very secluded located in a bay on lake George. We bring our own boats, but otherwise there are boats to rent including a pontoon. Lake George is great for a pontoon cruise, as there are many bars to stop at around the lake. The cabins are "rustic" but that is definitely part of the charm. We will continue to go back as long as the place is around, we really love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahbehnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review! For those reading this, it is not an exaggeration when she says they rent the whole place out. They have rented all, or very close to all of our cottages one week every summer for over 30 years. So I'd like to return the "awesome" compliment. You're an awesome group, thanks so much.

As mentioned we do include a boat (14 foot rowboat) with each cottage rented. We also have kayaks, paddleboats, paddleboards and a canoe here free to use. It's also true we rent a pontoon boat, we also rent outboard motors (8 h.p.) for the free boat you'd get with the cottage. These guys use the free boats as part of their annual Olympic competition, and from what I've seen they play for keeps.

Lake George is a good lake for fishing as well, there's a nice variety from panfish to musky so there's something for everyone. But that brings me to a fishing challenge I've already made to another reviewer. While this reviewer mentions fishing, I have yet to see her fish. So if she reads this...I expect to see you, fishing pole in hand, this July. I'm looking forward to it! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

Brekke's is the ultimate Northwoods Retreat! The resort is beautiful and relaxing, with activities if you want to do more. They have a tennis court, beautiful beach, basketball court and a great bar. Also great for families with kids. We've gone almost every year for 20 years! Excellent service!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaChica_Roja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2014
In writing responses my first goal is to figure out who wrote the review. In this case the screen name caused a little trouble, but I have figured it out. And this is a very rewarding case for a resort - a case where a family started coming, and now continue to with who were once the kids of the family now having kids of their own. It's nice to see the next generation.

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. As mentioned we do try to provide a wide variety of activities...basketball, tennis, the beach, etc. I'd guess by now you've tried just about everything we have to offer! But I have a question...have you ever fished? If not there's a new one for 2015!

Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you all in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at Brekkes. We were picking our son up from 4 weeks at summer camp. We had a nice view of the lake and a cabin for 2. We also had use of the boats. We spent the day fishing and the evening at the fireside chatting with the other guests. It was perfect place for our needs. We had discussed staying at Holiday Acres but Brekkes seemed to be the better choice for our needs. Simple and relaxing! I would advise Holiday Acres if you want more activities as they are much bigger. Brekkes was easy to find and the grounds were well kept. The cabin was clean etc. We would definitely go back though I was told that the place generally books on a weekly basis. We were lucky that there was a cancellation.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carmelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBrekke, Manager at Brekke's Fireside Resort, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
If this reviewer ends up reading this I would like to say two things...First thanks for taking the time to write our very first review! And second, sorry it took so long to write a response!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Like most resorts in the area it's true that we try to stick to a weekly (Saturday-Saturday) rental schedule in the summer. For anyone wondering why, in my opinion it comes down to numbers...hotels will have 100 or so rooms while a resort will have about 10 cottages. So while it may be important for a hotel to fill as many rooms for as many nights as possible, for a resort it's more about limiting the number of nights they are open. That's why for a resort you'll find price breaks for a week stay.

But with the demand for shorter summer stays, we are thinking of putting in a new system for next year. So again if this reviewer is reading this, please check back! Thanks again, the hardest review to get is the first, so thanks for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
2.2 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.5 mi away
Centerstone Resort Lake-Aire
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brekke's Fireside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brekke's Fireside Resort

Property: Brekke's Fireside Resort
Address: 4268 County P, Rhinelander, WI 54501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brekke's Fireside Resort is located in a peaceful bay of Lake George, three miles east of Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Lodging consists of one and two bedroom cottages, all of which are completely furnished, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Resort also features a fabulous sandy beach and lakeside bar and game room. Kayaks, paddleboats, paddleboards and a canoe are available free of charge, and a boat comes with each cottage. We are open from May to November. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing