We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shady Sue's

Shady Sue's
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Good drinks and good food. The crackers with cheese and bread snacks help meet our minimum standards for Wisconsin supper club. Everybody was quite happy and we will be back. We could even be back this week.

Helpful?
Thank MplsGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“No Fluke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were hoping our second dining experience at Shady Sue's would be as pleasant as the first and we're happy to report it was! Atmosphere, food, value and bartender Ted are all factors in our five star rating. Loved my pan fried walleye and HOT, crispy fries!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minocqua, Wisconsin, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most awesome steak you'll ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoy a good tenderloin or prime rib when we dine out: Shady Sue's is by far the best! We travel and hour and a half round trip just to eat there! Be sure to make reservations as they do get very busy. My husband is a rather large guy, so for him to leave a restaurant full is quite amazing. Great salads and soups, potatoes cooked to perfection, and a bartender who REALLY knows what he is doing! The best apple martini I've ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
231 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Wisconsin Food Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

On a tip from Sheraton Madison desk clerk, stopped here on way north for dinner pan-fried walleye. Nice sized portion, lightly pan-fried, fairly priced. Ordered the twice-baked potato (a rare item in a restaurant). Their drink menu has Golden Cadillacs and Pink Squirrels...I used to make those many years ago. Blast from the past. Locals place. Friendly, quick service. Would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian12154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Small Place Great food ate there two nights of the four I spent in Rhinelander Staek one night fish the next drings were great and they do have high end vodka and bourbon on hand for a great price

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shady Sue's also viewed

 

Been to Shady Sue's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing