We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Holiday Acres! Staff is very accommodating and we love the fact that we can take our dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Acres Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love Holiday Acres! Staff is very accommodating and we love the fact that we can take our dogs!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited Holiday Acres for the first time on our 15th anniversary in December of 1977. We fell in love immediately! The grounds are lovely and our cabin was just what we wanted. We have been back every year since them, during each of the four seasons. We love the indoor pool also! If you're looking for a nostalgic, north woods destination, Holiday Acres is your spot!

Room Tip: We have never stayed in the lodge. We love the cabins, especially Arbutus, Woodland, Ridgewood, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Deb525,

Your comments are so appreciated and we will be sure to share them with our staff. Thank you, too, for sharing your photos! They are great. Loons are so hard to capture and you got a really nice image.

Sincerely,

Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    31
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I think this place looks better in photos. When I arrived, I was a little bummed. While the lobby area and restaurant section of the lobby look neat, the area where the rooms are look kind of old and dull -- the carpet, the walls, for instance. My room looked like that too, and because of that, I didn't feel like I was at a resort. I felt like I was in an old hotel room. The layout is a little strange because the pool separates the rooms from the lobby, so if you're going to go to the lobby from your room, you'll have to walk through the pool area. On the flip side, the staff was friendly. My room was clean. The bed was comfortable. There's a restaurant connected to the lodge. It was quiet. There's a pretty lake and beach area, and an outdoor cooking area. My suggestion is that if you're looking for more of an upscale or luxurious resort, this is probably not your place. If you want an escape and don't mind an older looking place, this is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbyRachmaninoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Decided to stop @ the Holiday Acres, outside of Rhinelander, on way back from a trip to upper Michigan. We are always looking for a place for a future getaway, and thought this "resort" might be a possibility. But I wouldn't exactly call this place a resort, but rather a summer camp for families. It is comprised of cottages and lodge rooms on sufficiently large and warm lake in a forested area. A small sandy beach was filled with happy families; the water was not very clear, but looked clean enough to take out a canoe and later a kayak for exercise/fun and at a reasonable cost (tho, renting a motor boat for skiing or tubing is a bit steep). The cottages and lodge rooms seem a bit dated and have obviously seen better days; we stayed in the lodge since we were only there for one night and found the room to be comfortable but again dated (older furniture) and my room had a definite odor of dog. The room was clean enough and spacious, I suggest a nice reading chair looking out the window would make good use of that space.
Our wifi did not work in the room due to "Sunday Maintenance" but it did work in the cocktail lounge. The indoor pool was very usable, also has tennis courts and basketball courts available, and a putting area that had grass growing out of the holes from disuse (there are several golf courses in the area). Had dinner at the resort restaurant, very good food and very good service, but the prices again seemed steep for a family resort, I guess most families do their own cooking in their cottages and only eat at the lodge for special occasions. Two things really made this place stand out for me and the reason why I give a high rating and my recommendation: first, the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating-- when we told them we would be arriving 2 hrs before check-in, they said no problem and had our rooms ready for us, when I asked for extra towels again no problem and when we changed our mind about using the kayaks instead of the canoes, again no problem and always service with a smile. And finally, sitting on the dock watching the perfect sunset with my son (in spite of the mosquitoes) is a lasting memory that makes one overlook many things. This may not be quite the more luxurious and expensive "resort" you are expecting, but in the end we were glad we stopped in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have been coming here for 10 years. The people are so friendly and really make you feel like part of the family. The cowboy breakfast is so much fun. The kids look forward to it every year. The cottages are clean and have everything you need. The only downside is that this place is so popular that you have to call a year and a half in advance to get a good cottage by the lake. Also the prices keep going up every year....but we keep coming back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FemmedAffaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

About 15 members of our family stayed at the Holiday Acres resort in mid-July of 2011. We split the cabins, the majority of us stayed in Cedar Lodge (which was phenomenal) and the remaining 3-4 stayed in cabin 5, which was also exceptional. The cedar lodge was a very interesting layout, most of the bedrooms were on the 2nd level, one was in the front hallway, and the kitchen/living/dining and two bathrooms were on the 1st level. We all slept comfortably and were never in each other's way, which is great for 11 people in one house. The resort itself was also excellent, there was so much to do that you virtually never have to leave the grounds. Coming to one of my ONLY complaints, the resort was at least 20 minutes from anything: dining, department stores, etc. This wasn't too big of a deal to us and could actually be seen as a good thing, if you are coming to Northern Wisconsin, you are expecting a long trek to the stores and restaurants. This was by no means the resort's fault and was actually quite pleasant. There was always someone there to help you, whether you find them circling the resort in a golf cart of at the front desk. Everyone at this resort really wanted to make sure your stay was great. While we only dined at the resort once, the food was fabulous. We were able to pick some items off of the main menu because we were catering a large birthday party, and each of the items we chose were enjoyed. Although we have family that runs a camp near this resort and are welcome to stay there most of the year, we would definitely stay at Holiday Acres again.

Room Tip: Cabins were great for long stays, Hotel better for shorter stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Definitely not thrilled with this hotel or with their service. They weren't very friendly when I booked our room and were rude when I called a few days prior to our check-in. They also hung up on my sister (afer being extremely rude to her) when she called to ask about adding another night on to her stay.

I had asked for an early check-in and was told our room would be ready by noon. We arrived at 12:45 and it not only was it not ready; but they hadn't even started to clean it yet! We had to wait around for almost an hour and they never apologized.

The place is also very run-down. It felt like I was at summer camp.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Every year is better and better. There is always something to do. If the day is good, swim, water ski, fish, hike. If the weather doesn't cooperate, swim in the in-door pool and play pool in the coffee shop. The more senior of the group stay in a lodge room with air conditioning and the restrauant just steps away. For the rest of the family, a cabin with kitchen (dishes and pots and pan, etc. included) lets the kids run and eat and nap whenever. A camp fire is the ideal setting for folk lore and stories of the hodag and other beasties. The next generation has come to love it. It is wonderful to see the tradition continue. After all these years the kids and their kids make sure they make it every year. That speaks volumes for just how great it is. We love it and hope to make it for another 28 years!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
5.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
46 reviews
19.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Rhinelander
107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
41 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Property: Holiday Acres Resort
Address: 4060 S Shore Dr, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing