We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Acres - Rhinelander”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Acres Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday Acres - Rhinelander”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived @ Holiday Acres on bike trip back from Sturgis...having read other reviews on Trip Adviser, my husband & I looked forward to a respite from the road....admittedly a bit worn in some places, the friendly staff, the Adirondack ambiance (which I remembered from childhood in the Adirondacks) , and the truly fabulous food were a highlight of our trip....would return here as a destination in a heartbeat! Kudos to owners and staff alike! A real deal gem! Thank you....

Room Tip: If in lodge, be sure to ask for a corner room w / fridge & microwave.....very roomy....Sunset L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
So glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TA. Holiday Acres Resort is family owned and operated and we take our guest satisfaction to heart. The very nice comments are what keep us going! Hope you can visit again soon.

Safe riding!
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

STOP with the great reviews, already! Let's try and keep this special place our own best secret! Sheesh ...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jroman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
You bring a :-))) to our faces. Thanks again for sharing the sunshine! We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours truly,
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

This is a nice little cabin right on Lake Thompson. These are old cabins but they are better than a tent. They have your own kitchen and bathroom. Your are responsible for your cleaning during the week but they clean when you arrive. The beach is a little small but it works.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timwinter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We traveled to Holiday Acres with a group range of 8-80, all part of a family. For many midwesterners, going "up north" is a tradition and one we love. Holiday Acres is nestled in the woods, on a total of 1000 acres. There are cabins, large guest homes, and a lodge. Our family used lodge rooms & cabins. Cabins are knotty pine interiors with porches or decks. We like the enclosed screen porch. They come fully stocked with linens, towels, & Kitchen items. A row boat came with each cabin & motors can be rented. The lodge rooms are simple but functional. The resort was built around 50 years ago, so don't expect a everything to be new & shiny-this is not a swanky resort where people get all dressed up. I give it a "5", but not to be compared with places like the American Club or Grand Geneva Resorts in Wisconsin that are expensive luxury resorts.

There are plenty of activities to keep you busy. Free ones included indoor pool, sauna, tennis courts, basketball, shuffleboard, playground, hiking trails, a Tues. night resort cookout, marshmallow roast, shuffleboard, and volleyball. There is a really nice sand beach that has a gradual slope, no dropoffs. For a nominal fee you can rent hydrobikes, bicycles, stand up paddle boards & kayaks-they also have geocaching. You can also rent a pontoon boat or sailboat. They have a horse stable down the road for trail rides, wagon rides, and meals with a horseride included. They also have special activities on their calendar, including a Hodag Hunt, which we did not try.

There is internet in the public areas, but it is not the strongest signal out in the country. My cell was finiky there. There is a gift shop with something for everyone, including lovely women's clothing and accessories.

For dining there is a coffee shop. We loved the Three Coins restaurant (try the pork tenderloin or duck confit, both under $20) with a lot of extras like a supper club would have. Martinis are a bargin at $7 and aren't diluted with fruit juice. We tried both the Friday Night Buffet ($13.95) and the Sunday Brunch (can't rememeber the price 10 or $11) which were quite busy. We cooked most of our meals in our cabin. If you go into Rhinelander, stop in at Joe's Pasty!

The resort is not in town-Rhinelander is perhaps a 15 minute drive. Eagle River is 45 minutes, but it is a fun litttle town with lots of great restaurants-My favorites are Riverstone & Soda Pops.

My favorite things to do were watch the sunset, listen to the loons calling, reading, having campfires and just spending time enjoying nature & my family. You don't go here to go to the spa or have an infinity pool, this is a vacation to rejuvinate your being. Holiday Acres provides the perfect place to enjoy activities and still spend time doing things like fishing, hiking, and swimming.

Room Tip: The first floor lakeside rooms have patio doors out onto a grassy area where there are chairs to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgal058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Travel Gal,

Just want you to know how much your kind words mean to all of us at Holiday Acres Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Recently our conservation organization hosted a dinner-banquet fundraiser here, and I was most impressed by the super-attentive event, bar, and wait staff. They were clearly focused on making sure each of their guests had a wonderful visit, and knew how to get the job done. Additionally, the food was excellent, and I overheard many similiar comments from those in attendance. I visit more than three dozen events like this, all around the state, and this group did as good of a job, as any I have seen. Kudos!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Don055-

Thank you so very much for your kind words. Our family cares so much about pleasing our guests. Our crew takes this charge very seriously and they work very hard. Your good words mean more than you can imagine! Hope we will see you again sometime soon.

Yours truly,
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Every year, I look forward to spending a week at Holiday Acres. I already live in a gorgeous vacation destination town, but I leave that in the summer because there is something even more special about spending a week in the middle of the Northwoods in a beautiful, eco-friendly, rustic resort.

I love spending time with my family in a way that harkens back to my childhood. We cook meals together in our cabin, we play board games, we don't fuss about wi-fi (because jeez, we can all go a week without checking Facebook, right?) or TV. We enjoy reading, playing in the lake, and spotting the incredible wildlife that frequents the area. There are a lot of amazing restaurants tucked away both in downtown Rhinelander and off the beaten path. And if you love shopping, Turn of the Century is an amazing place to support artists that come from all over the world.

I love how dedicated Holiday Acres is to maintaining a "green" resort. I'm baffled at the complaints about the "lack" of clean towels/clean linens, etc. Maybe you clean your sheets and towels at home once a day, but I sure don't. What a waste. If you stay in a cabin, you're essentially maintaining a cool little apartment in a fabulous, natural setting. Having clean towels provided to you twice a week is certainly on par with how most of us do laundry at home. Don't let the naysayers scare you away!

The staff is very friendly, but most notably are the owners and their kids who go out of their way to ensure you have a great visit. You don't see that very many places anymore, in my experience.

I love this place!

Room Tip: Consider renting a boat to enjoy the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Cat R,

Your comments mean more than you can know! Thank you so much!

Kari and Kim Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We come from Manhattan every summer to enjoy an old-fashioned family vacation in a cabin on a lake. Diiner in Three Coins is always a must as Chef Tom is an outstanding cook. The Tuesday community BBQ is always much anticipated and we never miss the breakfast trailride. There is plenty to do in this friendly, natural setting. Our family has been gathering every summer for over 20 years. The Zambons are the best hosts.

Sandy and Dave

Room Tip: book a cabin on the lake well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
5.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Rhinelander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Property: Holiday Acres Resort
Address: 4060 S Shore Dr, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing