We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six excellent meals!”

The Brick Restaurant & Spirits
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brick is a wonderfully cozy restaurant with a menu that varies from pizza and sandwiches to a beautifully plated entree of pasta, fish or meat. It is located in a northern Wisconsin vacation community. The chef bought this bar and restaurant that was in need of some love and good food and has turned it into a highly sought after dining experience complete with the required Wisconsin Friday Fish Fry!
Reston VA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Six excellent meals!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Don't be fooled by the fact that the place looks like a sports bar when you walk in----it probaby is, but the food goes waaay beyond regular sports-bar fare! Six of us each had different entrees and each was reported as excellent. The salads are uninspiring, but somebody creative is definately behind the main dishes. The place is not inexpensive, but if our experience is any indication, it is worth every nickle!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schofield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Food just ok - Too pricey”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had the "all you can eat" walleye. I am a walleye connosieur and this walleye tasted too "fishy" and the fillets were small. The batter was somewhat mushy and not light and crispy. They should give the option of baked potatoes on their menu. Also felt the price was outrageous for a fish fry in the Northwoods. Additionally, my credit card was charged twice and they told me they removed the extra charge, but it still showed up on my bank account. Was told if it continued to show up they would give me a gift certificate, but I live out of town and that's not feasible.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious dinner here last night. Food was excellent. Cream of broccoli soup was incredible. I had the raspberry chicken and it was so yummy. Hubby and son split a pizza and raved about it. Chef came out to talk to us and day hello. Very pleasant. Loved in FL and moved back home to Rhinelander. Fun experience. Great food. Wonderful staff from the moment you enter. Ask for Jody. She was really great. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!! Great food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Have been waiting for the sites location to be updated to show the new Rhinelander location!
We visited on June 19, 2014.
Food was excellent! Had onion rings appetizer that were some of the best ever. I had the rasberry chicken, which I've had before and it was excellent again. The sauce is fantastic. Wife had pork which was also excellent!
Wes is one of the best chefs in the northwoods.
JNB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was better in Lake Tomahawk”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stopped in for fish last Friday and ate at the bar. The lobster bisque and bread sticks were great. The fried cod and fried shrimp were a disappointment. The cod was rubbery and the shrimp were like something from a frozen food box.

Why doesn't the Management train the staff to make their customers feel welcome? Or, to offer additional food/drinks/coffee rather than shoving the check under the diners' nose while they take the last bite of the entrée? This happened to us in Lake Tomahawk and again in Rhinelander. The bartender/server seemed surprised that we wanted dessert and had to re-do the check. No offer of coffee or an after dinner drink.

Too, our dessert was served on a plate with the same garnish/adornment that was on our entrée plate. Some sort of herb mix that, definitely, does not belong with a dessert! Honestly, it is overdone on the entrée, too!

The food was better in Lake Tomahawk.

It always seems they are trying to turn their tables quickly and rush the guests out the door in order to seat another party. We will help them by not going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brick Restaurant & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to The Brick Restaurant & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing