We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less jokes, more scenery”

Wisconsin River Cruises
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Rhinelander
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“less jokes, more scenery”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

you expect a little patter from the captain, but his really bad jokes and one especially vulgar joke were not appreciated. sometimes it is just nice to enjoy the view and while you may expect that he does this all the time and knows that he is supposed to provide a running commentary, we could have used more time to enjoy the scenery going by. The $12 price was affordable and the owner was very nice. Jerry our captain could use a refresher course in new jokes and certainly none that refer to anatomy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really nice trip”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Our car club went on this cruise last week. What a pleasant surprise! The weather was perfect, the water smooth, and the crew very attentive. The boat, which is 80' long, powered by two 75 hp outboards, is comfortable, quiet, and well suited to a river cruise. The bar prices are good, the beer is cold, and the servers attentive. What else is there? Well, you could ask the other reviewers, who don't keep up with current events, to give the new owners a break. See previous reviews regarding Tom Tiffany.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun ride through northern woods on the Wisconsin River”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a fun and unique opportunity to see the Wisc River and all the beauty of nature from comfortable river boat. We had party of 5 ages 55 to 88 and all of us really enjoyed 2 hr relaxing experience of the ferry boat. This is two story river cruise boat with two levels- first level is enclosed with comfortable booth seating at tables - all with wide windows, bar, with soft and alcohol drinks and snacks. The upper deck has chairs, wide open deck to watch the scenery. Nice narrative pointing out stories of the history of the settlements, highlights of nature, eagles, turtles, loons, sometimes deer.
They host dinner option, special events, and entertainment cruises. We did a 1:00 cruise for $12 a person and it was well worth it. This is located just outside Rhinelander and easily accessible from Minoqua/ Woodruff, Eagle River, Merrill, Antigo, northern Wis lakes and vacation spots.
I understand from owner operators that they will do private parties, corporate events, as well as their tours.
An not totally sure about wheelchair accessible, but it appeared doable ; my 88 yr old mother who was just 3 mo recovered from hip surgery walked down paved access slope to the boat entry point. And access to boat was workable. She stayed on first deck and really enjoyed- so I think it is doable with wheelchair. The owners were very helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Relaxing, good music, beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Great way to get family and friends together. Enjoyed fresh air on the upper deck, great sights, dinner and music. I thought the dinner cruise on the WI River was a good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackanddawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great time for all!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have been going to the Northwoods for decades and always do the same thing. I wanted to do one thing different. So I searched for things to do in northern wisconsin and I found this place. I am glad I did. We had a party of 9 and decided to do the magic cruise (It was my 6 year olds birthday). What a fun time. Dinner was good, the view is beautiful and the staff were very nice. It started to rain (so we were bummed) because the upper deck is wonderful to sit and look at the beautiful sites. Dinner is a fixed plate and they have a full bar (stay away from mixed drinks not so good) stick to beer and wine. The whole boat even sang happy birthday to my son. It was really nice. The show was good too. It is not too cheap but it is really fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank firebird350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wisconsin River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing