We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“END OF SUMMER CELEBRATION”

Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Price range: US$16 - US$29
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Three Coins Restaurant is located at Holiday Acres Resort in the Northwoods, just a 2 mile scenic drive off of County P just east of Rhinelander, WI. The Three Coins Restaurant and Lounge offers an interesting variety of dining options sure to please diners of all ages. Views of grazing whitetail deer are often seen through the windows surrounding the restaurant and bar. Before or after dining, take a walk to enjoy a sunset on Lake Thompson.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“END OF SUMMER CELEBRATION”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Party of 7, sat right down to our table to be greeted immediatly by our server. Good drinks, reasonably priced. Had one buffet, two pork athena, one smoked beef loin, one alfredo and one ahi tuna. Everyone raved but buffet items a little dried out. Dessert- cheesecake divine. Only good place in town to have a wonderful meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aylababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear alababu,

Thank you for writing a review of Three Coins Restaurant. We are very glad you enjoyed your meals. We are being more conscious of buffet timing, and your suggestion will help us keep the Friday Night Buffet at peak quality.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food; great ambience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

3 girlfriends (we've known each other for almost 40 years) together for a Friday night dinner in beautiful Northern Wisconsin. I had the buffet because I wanted to have both fried and baked fish AND also sample other offerings. Everything was tasty and hot (I like my food hot.) One friend had pan-fried pike ... said it was very very good. Other had pan-fried walleye. "Excellent" was her declaration! Love the decor. Wait staff was attentive. Would definitely go back here for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Susan F.

Your very nice review means a great deal to all of us at Three Coins Restaurant. We are delighted that your group enjoyed their meals and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Not What We've Come To Expect”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our party of 3 visited on a Wednesday night - 9/4/13. We did not make reservations and arrived shortly before 6PM. Upon our arrival, there was no hostess at the hostess stand and 2 wait staff. The dining room was not overly busy. We had one of the wait staff pass us on his way to bar and he mumbled that somebody would be with us. We waited a good 5 minutes before we were seated by a waitress. We ordered cocktails and it took 10 minutes for the waitress to get our drinks. Drinks were not the best for the prices they charge. I ordered a Bacardi coke with a lime and I had to ask again for the lime after she brought out the drink. She never returned with the lime. We all ordered walleye, and it was good. We were given an apology for the delay of our food by what I thought was the return of a hostess (but I think she was the front desk person as she didn't stay at the hostess stand very long and was back at the front desk of the hotel). The so called hostess person stayed to help out a bit as there was a party of 6 that came in. But, I noticed from that party that a couple of the ladies had appeared to go up to the bar to get their own cocktails. And, I watched another table where our waitress mixed up their check, and that took awhile to get straightened out. I'm not sure if it was an off night or what happened. We have been going to Northern Wisconsin every summer for eons and this has always been one of the highlights of our trips. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case this year. The waitress wasn't very outgoing and telling us she would be back with what we ordered 'shortly' didn't help matters. And, we always look forward to getting coins to throw in the fountain on the way out. It was disappointing to find out the waitress hadn't given us any coins. We still enjoyed the setting and seeing the two deer wander over to the grassy area was an extra treat. Just wish the service would have been more up to par.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Kimberly E,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations, and it does sound like we missed our own targets to provide excellent service. We have spoken with staff about this evening and are not certain why we were not on top of our game. It is important to know when we haven't done our best, as well as when we do well. It is good to know that you enjoyed your walleye dinners, and the that the atmosphere and wildlife added extra enjoyment.
- Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We ate 2 days at the restaurant and had some of the best food I've eaten in ages. The steak was cooked perfectly. The ono special was incredible and also cooked perfect. The ahi tuna salad and burgers were also awesome. Simplistic elegance at a great price with great people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Scott P,

Your kind words are what we live for! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well as the atmosphere, and the staff. Everyone at Holiday Acres wants to please, and it is really appreciated to hear when we do. Thank you so much.

We hope to see you again soon.
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunman, IN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited this restaurant on a recent trip to Rhinelander for a bike tour. This restaurant was listed as one having "American" food so we decided to give it a try. Wow, the setting at Holiday Acres is picture perfect. As we walked in, we realized that this was not your average restaurant.
We arrived as they opened on a Saturday night(5pm) and were seated by the window at a table for two. The whole decor speaks of the Northwest with green tablecloths and pine cones on the dinnerware. We were greeted promptly by our waitress and our water glasses were kept full by a delightful girl named Kaylee. My husband ordered the ribs and I got the Walleye panfried. We like the meal and service so well that we returned the next Saturday before we made our trek home to Indiana.
After the meal you are given three coins to make three wishes in their fountain. We walked around the grounds and were swept away with the natural beauty. There is also a great little shop on the grounds that has everything from clothing to jewelry to things for the home. The shop was open until 9 pm on Saturday! This is a great way to spend an evening. The food was pricy but the quality and service was exceptional. We felt like a king and queen. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear EMU_11
We are so glad that you found us, and enjoyed your stay, as well as your dining experience in the
Three Coins Restaurant. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Happy guests are what keep us happy! We hope that we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing