We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place, but kind of pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ripon
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice enough place, but kind of pricey”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We returned yesterday from a 2 night stay at this motel. We were there for Family Weekend at Ripon college. I had my son daughter and husband, as well as the family dog along to see my daughter. The place is clean enough, if a bit worn in spots. Light between beds did not work and there was literally no outside areas to sit out in. Odd give proximity to the Event hall, which seemingly hosted lots of weddings and proximity to Green Lake. Hotel was more like what you would expect to find on the side of an interstate. Beyind that staff were nice, and even found my sons left behind laptop and calledus ( not going to happen just anywhere.) My biggest beef was the over one hundred a night price tag. In my opinion that's pretty steep for an ordniary motel.

Room Tip: Take the first floor if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marphilwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
13
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

By chance, my wife was on business training in Green Lake and I ended up meeting with her in Ripon at Comfort Suites. I'm sure the hotel gets swamped when the adjoining Royal Ridges facility is hosting an event but fortunately, it was nice and quiet during our three-day stay. A big bonus was our dog could stay as well.

Having stayed in many hotel rooms, my wife and I always notice cleanliness first. This wasn't an issue here. There were no parking issues and Walgreen's was less than a block away. This came in handy when we realized we forgot basic necessities. Ripon itself is small so finding late-night dining (without hitting a bar) became an issue. No fault of the hotel, obviously, but something to consider if you're coming to the area from a larger city.

My wife and I enjoyed hanging out in the game room. It was small but it was also nice having the entire place to ourselves. I'm not a fan of communal hotel pools but this one appeared to be sparsely-used, at least during our visit. Some people may enjoy bustling community areas- this hotel appealed to me precisely because it was quiet, yet well-maintained. This would be my first choice if I visited the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had spent the day in Oshkosh, and were heading to Wisconsin Dells the next day. Since we live north of Oshkosh, we decided to find a hotel in Oshkosh. All of them were either full or too expensive, so we decided to book a room here instead. The place was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful for checking us in at 11:30 at night. I'd highly recommend this place!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirlpamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at comfort suites. The rooms are large and clean and the beds were very comfortable. I think our favorite feature was the pool. There is a great kiddie pool which was perfect for my 1 year old. The hot breakfast was delicious and saved us a lot of money since we stayed for a week. We happened to lose the car keys the night before we had to leave, the entire staff helped us look and they found them! Overall, this hotel is a great place to stay...clean, awesome staff and worth every penny. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, wi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Very pleased with the large rooms with 2 beds plus pull out! Plenty of room to spread out. The pool area is fantastic for families with a very shallow wading pool with sprinklers, hot tub and pool with basketball nets. Included in the price was a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (even during the week!) and happy hour with snacks, wine and beer. Bed was a bit hard, but ok. Would stay again when in the area!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cao1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

spent 3 nights at this facility, which was my second stay here (see previous review from September 2011) -- not much different from the previous review... very friendly staff; nice furnishings in room, except couch and lampshades were showing strong signs of wear/use; comfortable bed; TV is now a flat-screen; good water pressure; curtains do seem to now be "thicker", or diffusers have been added to lights in parking lot; WSJ was not at my door each morning, but it was available in the lobby; wi-fi was out across the whole facility, as there had been some type of equipment failure; manager reception is offered several evenings a week... free snacks, pop, beer, wine; breakfast is still nice... scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, waffles, yogurt, danishes, etc.; DISAPPOINTMENTS: exercise room is still a joke... equipment is worn and very cheap; still no movie channels (no HBO, no Showtime, no Starz)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentILMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I was impressed by the hotel, as is it seems very new and has a great pool and hot tub area, including the work out room. The staff personnel are there to do anything they can to make your stay great. To top it off, the manager has a maanager's reception (Monday through Thursday) with free beer and wine). Close to downtown with quaint shops and great places to eat. Make sure you make your reservations early, as they fill up quickly for the EAA show in Oskosh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
8.6 mi away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
17.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
18.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
#9 of 11 in Oshkosh
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges

Property: Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
Address: 2 Westgate Dr, Ripon, WI 54971-9304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Ripon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Royal Ridges Hotel Ripon
Comfort Suites Ripon
Ripon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing