We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge River Falls
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in River Falls
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I found the Econo Lodge Motel in River Falls to be a most pleasant surprise that more than met our needs.

What impressed us the most, by far, was the staff there! Even my teenaged son was blown away by their courtesy, sincere concern and willingness to help. I cannot say enough about how helpful they were (both the desk staff and the cleaning staff)! When we had questions, we were made to feel that they actually took a personal interest in helping us. No question was unwelcome and no request was too small.

We found the continental breakfast to be wonderful, with an abundance of choices! Our room was clean (and included a refrig and microwave), and even the grounds were spotless.

We absolutely will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikal9697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

We are thrilled that you had an excellent stay. It's a team effort and our great staff understands that and they appreciate being recognized for it, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again and again thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very dirty environment - Filthy Carpet, Moldy air condition vents, Dust all over the place including dead bugs in light fixtures, Had new TV's limited channels and quality of picture poor, Internet slow. Refrigerator old and 1st one did not work. Continental breakfast was a joke. The pool area had a pool but was not too inviting for one to want to use and the hot tub was closed off. No complimentary newspaper for the day. The staff was helpful, however to reduce the fee forget it they would not. They had the reservation all messed up as well. The exterior was disgusting on the amount of trash laying around. My stay was the last weekend in June 2012. I would not recommend this place to no one. Not even for my pet. We were on the second floor and friends on the 1st floor and their room was not much better.

Room Tip: Do not book here unless you have no other choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Hello valued customer. I sent a couple emails inquiring about your concerns but I didn't hear back from you. I'm greatly concerned that your stay experience seems to have been very poor vs the average experience of our other customers. I hope you can find the time to contact me directly so we can get a little bit better handle on your complaints and resolve the issues you had concerns with.

A few things have already been resolved. The limited channels was due to directv not negotiating their contracts for 7 of our channels before they were up. As far as the hot tub goes this website and our website at choicehotels shows we do not offer a hot tub (the previous owner cut the top off it and planked over it). We've added several new items to our continental breakfast and currently offer, fresh waffles, 3 different kinds of bagels, 2 different kinds of muffins, danishes, hard boiled eggs, two different kinds of juice, two different kinds of cereal, hot oatmeal(w/brown sugar), milk and English muffins. Carpets have been professionally cleaned, A/C units have been modified to drain better and have been cleaned.

All other concerns have been taken care of and again feel free to contact me, I am the only one authorized to give discounts and my goal here is to make sure everyone leaves satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This place is very clean and nice. Other reviews say it was under different names before and might not have been as nice. You wouldn't know that today. Not only was the front desk staff accommodating, but they went out of their way for me when I had to check out at 8:00 pm on my second night because of a personal matter that came up in unexpectantly. They didn't even charge me for the room that second night.
Who ever is running this place now knows what they are doing. I have to return to River Falls every 6 months or so and I will be staying there for sure!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We try our best to accommodate our guests and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This place has recently changed hands from the Highland Inn to an Econo Lodge. With maybe one exception the the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were looking for an economical place to stay for the week and there are not a lot of options in River Falls.

The room was very clean when we arrived and kept clean everyday with fresh towels when needed. The beds were very comfortable. The room had been slightly abused by previous guests. The air conditioner worked fine but it looked like somebody had ripped the plastic piece used to direct the airflow in the room right out of the unit. The chain security latch was bent out of shape. And a few minor things like that.

Didn't use the indoor pool but others were using it and it looked properly maintained. Breakfast is nothing to write home about but for the price of the room you can't expect a home cooked omelet.

I think over time the cosmetic stuff will be improved and the place will get even better. We would stay there again

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the end of the hall. The smokers like to use the area outside that door for smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raggs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

It was good chatting with you to discuss the concerns you had. Previous owners let the place get pretty run down but the new owners have put a lot of money into the new place. Since you've been here we got all new carpet and furniture. We plug away at the things you mentioned and hope to have everything perfect in the near future. Again thank you for responding to my tripadvisor mail and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Staff was friendly at checkin. Room was clean. Nice pool, although I did not use it. The only thing wrong with the room was the carpet was torn, looked like it had two beds at one time and was replaced with a king and maybe tore the carpet? not sure. Breakfast was pretty sparse with not much selection. Otherwise good hotel with a decent price. I would stay here again with my family and have no qualms about it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remsteel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks for your great review Jason. We very much appreciate the feedback. Since you have stayed I have added a military discount and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was my first time to River Falls and I am glad I chose the Econo Lodge to stay at. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful. Only complaint is that there was no Military discount. The location of this hotel is very convenient. The room, the bathroom, and the lobby was very clean and inviting. I will definitely stay here again. Great job!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks for your great review. We very much appreciate the feedback. Since you have stayed I have added a military discount and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location, clean, pet friendly and efficient service.We forgot an item in the room and it was returned in less than a week.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 932jkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hughes-GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to giving us feedback. Our employees pride ourselves on top notch service and we appreciate your kind words. If there is anything we can do to earn 5/5s be sure to let us know. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near River Falls
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
235 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
8.4 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
73 reviews
21.7 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge River Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge River Falls

Address: 1207 Saint Croix St, I-94 Exit River Falls, River Falls, WI 54022-1576 (Formerly Highland Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > River Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in River Falls
Price Range: £55 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge River Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge River Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 River Falls
Super Eight River Falls
River Falls Super Eight
River Falls Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing