We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & room--left a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn River Falls
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in River Falls
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Poor front desk help from check in to check out, unexplained room charges which the front desk refused to remove, and unclean room with torn curtains. Lukewarm hot dishes (sausage gravy & biscuits) and a single orange in the fresh fruit basket at breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out your room for unexpected additions to the bedding, cleanliness and privacy, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnRF, General Manager at Country Inn River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, and I'm sorry you encountered issues. As the new General Manager I appreciate the information so I may better review our policies and procedures and improve them for a better stay for our valued guests. I hope you will consider trying us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and will return when we visit nearby family. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean, mattresses good, spacious room - all very comfortable. The hot breakfast was good for this type of motel and varied from day to day. Even with my food intolerances, there was plenty that I could eat. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We got the "Manager's Special" which made it a very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docksidelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnRF, Manager at Country Inn River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Our team is very pleased that you had a good stay. We work hard to make our guest experience the best possible. Thanks from all of us for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place was great! We stayed 2 nights while visiting family that live in River Falls. The room was clean, everything worked properly and we were on the 1st floor. We travel with a small dog and got. The location is great, near Main St, the rooms are quiet and comfy. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and I give high marks!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It disappoints me to have to write a poor review, in fact don't think I ever have. In a nutshell, overpriced, didn't provide for breakfast what their in-room guide and their website highlights;

GOURMET HOT BREAKFAST

Join us each morning for our Gourmet Hot Breakfast served from 6am to 10 am in the lobby breakfast area. Fresh coffee provide by Dish and Spoon Café. Homemade cinnamon rolls from local South Fork Café.

My wife loves cinnamon rolls; so believe it or not that is why we chose to stay there. No rolls, asked at the front desk about it and was told "we don't have those". Gourmet breakfast, sorry cold cereal, make it yourself waffles, toaster with bagels and breads, stale little pastries, no fruit. Management should look up the definition of gourmet.

Room...good size, clean, but had to run the air conditioning on full all of the time to get the room even halfway cool.

Not very easy to find when you are not familiar to the area. There is a McDonalds across the street.

Sorry won't stay there again. I know pretty harsh for just a poor breakfast, but there are many other hotel choice available in the area that do as good a job for the money. I am in the area 5-6 times per year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnRF, General Manager at Country Inn River Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

StonecreekArabians

I am very sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel was less then satisfactory. We are always looking for improvements to make and appreciate your feedback. We did unfortunately have to discontinue the cinnamon rolls on our breakfast. I did review our website and was not able to find any mention to the cinnamon rolls, we tried to remove all language when that partnership ended. Please contact me directly at info@countryinn-riverfalls.com so that I can make sure to correct it if it is still listed incorrectly somewhere.

There should be fresh fruit and other items on our breakfast that from your description sounds like it was not put out. I will be discussing this with our weekend staff to make sure that this gets taken care of immediately.

I am truly sorry about your experience at the hotel and hope to talk to you further regarding this.

Thank you again for the feedback and helping us to improve as a hotel.

Bryan Fish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here after a family wedding. The rooms were clean and beds very comfy. The complimentary breakfast was good too. There was a nice pool and work out room. Sitting room and bathroom to use near the pool so not to have to return to your room.Would highly recommend. This area is a short distance from the "twin cities", St. Paul-Minneapolis and it's a college town for any parents wanting to visit their college student.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 994Mary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed overnight on a Friday. Nice overall place to stay but a bit overpriced. It was around $129 for a king suite. The room had a lot of space but in the wrong places, like big living room area but smaller bedroom. The rooms need to be remodeled. It looks like a lot of repaired items but lack of attention to detail. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool and spa were nice and good working order. Breakfast was continental with hard boiled eggs. The hotel was close to the university. Good location next to the bypass on HWY 65. No elevator. Not too many choices of hotels in the area. This would be one of the better hotels but again a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near River Falls
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
242 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
107 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
73 reviews
21.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn River Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn River Falls

Address: 1525 Commerce Ct, River Falls, WI 54022-3259 (Formerly Crossings by GrandStay Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > River Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in River Falls
Price Range: £66 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn River Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn River Falls in River Falls will welcome you to comfort after a long day of travel. Whether you stay in a standard room or a spacious deluxe suite, our comfortable lodging will help you relax. Each guest room provides free wireless internet access and telephone calls. Our swimming pool and whirlpool are a great place to spend time with family. Complimentary, hot breakfast, free wireless/wired internet access, the town's largest swimming pool & whirlpool, meeting room available high quality amenities package, In-room coffee, and Luxurious White Bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn River Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossings By Grandstay Hotel River Falls
River Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing