We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

As we frequently do on trips, this one was chosen for location. Turned into a pleasant surprise. The room was so huge, we couldn't even decide where to put our stuff. A little short on electrical outlets. Pool and hot tub were excellent. Staff very friendly, especially when we left both keys in our room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madre0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
11
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel had friendly staff, and was clean. I am a little leary of getting that stale smoke smell in older hotels, but this one was fresh smelling. The bathroom was clean and comfortable, as was the bed. The breakfast left a little to be desired, but it was okay. The hot tub and pool area were in good condition and were a lot of fun! I would stay here again. It was a nice hotel for an economical rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeWausau, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your stay experience; we are happy to offer clean and affordable rooms, an inviting pool area and friendly, knowledgable staff. It is so nice to hear that your visit was pleasant overall and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I understand this Econo Lodge is a former Comfort Inn, so rooms are a little more spacious than many economy motels. The room also has a refrigerator and microwave for those who want to prepare their own meal, but I found the walk across the parking lot for a hearty meal at the really good Denny's restaurant well worth it.

WiFi works well, beds are comfortable and rooms are clean but the need for some maintenance beyond what maid service would do are becoming evident, e.g., grout stains in the tub area, chair stains in the breakfast area, etc. The continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs and hot waffles. The breakfast area is quite large and comfortable, There is an inviting indoor pool and hot tub. All in all, this hotel will continue to be a comfortable, good-value option if management is able to keep up the maintenance better than other Econo Lodges I've tried this year.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the inviting little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When I am just passing through a town and stay a 2 star hotel my expectations are not very high, however.... If I were in the area again I would definitely stay at this hotel. Pet friendly, fantastic staff, close to restaurants, grocery store and Harley dealership. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenm3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We frequent the Econolodge a couple of times per year with our last visit in March, 2013. What a great hotel. The staff is very nice and there is plenty to do in the area. The suites are huge and very clean. The pool and hottub areas are always nice and clean too. The breakfast area is kept up well even during busy times. It was nice to go sit and watch TV in the breakfast area later in the evening while enjoying the company of other hotel guests!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I've chosen this hotel because they allow pets and they charged me a very reasonable rate.Location was great,The room is very clean and the staff are awesome.here comes the worst part of the review.around 3 am people staying in the other room were so loud that I had to go down stairs and talk to the overnight staff.she pretty much took care of the situation and I was glad.the bad part is my son could not sleep anymore.he had a bowling tournament in a couple of hours but because of lack of sleep,he almost didn't make it to the tournament.i wouldn't mind moving into a new room at 3 in the morning,but that would have been a good option...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

When this hotel is judged as an Econo Lodge it is truly very good. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom at bit dated. The breakfast was better quality than your a typical Econo Lodge. Location is handy to I-39, food and Grante Peak.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fortyplusoutayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Rothschild
Motel 6 Rothschild
#6 of 6 in Rothschild
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1510 County Road XX, Rothschild, WI 54474-9043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EconoLodge Wausau is your best choice for overnight accommodations to maximize the value of every dollar you spend. Featuring Free Continental Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool and Whirlpool, Free Newspapers and much more! All rooms feature a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board; many rooms feature a microwave and refrigerator as well. Our unbeatable location puts you within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, movies, and night life. Best value around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rothschild
Rothschild Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing