We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed 4 April 2007

We have stayed a few times at the Holiday Inn when visiting family in the area. It is convenient to restaurants and right off the highway. The rooms are always clean and furnishings are comfortable. The pool area is basic but sufficient. The breakfast is a nice touch each morning with rolls, cereals, juice, bagels and coffee. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagentmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
25
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

The staff was very friendly from check-in to check-out during our entire two-night stay. Nice pool area as well as a nice cont. breakfast. Hotel is about 5 minutes from Granite Peak The hotel was sold out, so it was alittle crazy at times. If you are expecting a Hyatt, you will be disappointed, but for most normal families this is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank PeterGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

I spent two nights at this hotel on a business trip. I utilized the free airport shuttle which was very efficient. The room was quiet, but the first night the room was directly over the pool and smelled abit of chlorine. In the morning there was small breakfast (breads, muffins and drinks) which was nice. Lobby was very nicely decorated for Christmas. I would stay here again if in the area on business. It has a nice pool area and would be good stop for a pleasure trip too.

  • Liked — lobby and comfortabel clean room
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 February 2006

Nice location with lots of places to eat and shop. Also very close to Granite Peak. Nice pool room, warm and clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly from check-in to check-out. Pizza from the hotel was excellent.

While this hotel is no Hyatt, it was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Stayed at the Hi during a group ski weekend, the rest of the group stayed at a different property, but we were late in booking and were placed at the HI instead. It was a god-send. The hotel was much newer and the pool/hottub were not scary green.

Enjoyed the clean room, comfy beds, pleasant front desk staff(who ran and got an extra blanket for us).

The comp continental breakfast in the lobby was a little weak, but liked the selection of intn'l delight creamers and teas.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank cabmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2005

Located in an area developed relatively recently with chain restaurants and shopping in the southern part of the metro area, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is only a couple of years old and it offers a great option for access to the greater Wausau area. Book weekend visits early during the downhill ski season at Granite Peak because as one of the better hotel properties within convenient range of the ski hill (less than 8 miles), the HI is frequently full during that time.

We chose a family suite featuring two double beds, a fold-out sofa, refrigerator, microwave, three TVs (including the one in the bathroom) and plenty of square footage for the money. In addition to the bedroom, there is a good-sized TV room. We found the room to be clean, comfortable, well-furnished and in good repair.

The hotel has a decent pool area, hot tub, kiddie pool and and exercise room on the main floor. There is complimentary continental breakfast off the lobby. For something more substantial, try the Green Mill restaurant. Unlike some hotel restaurants that are barely used by anyone but hotel guests, the Green Mill is a popular local spot with an interesting menu ranging from Chicago-style pizza to some great pasta dishes and that northwoods favorite: walleye. The attached pub features some very nice microbrews. We give this aspect of the HI an "excellent" rating.

In summary: If business or pleasure finds you visiting the Wausau area, we would rate the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites to be easily among the better properties available for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Address: 1000 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild, WI features complimentary Continental breakfast, indoor pool, whirlpool, and a large fitness center. Conveniently located and highly visible off I-39/51 exit 185, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI features the Green Mill restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild is located 5 miles from the CWA Airport and near many corporate locations such as Wausau Paper, Wausau Financial, Greenheck, Siemens, and Weston Power Plant. During your visit to the Wausau area enjoy some of the local attractions, Granite Peak Ski Area, Leigh Yawkee Art Museum, and the Grand Theater. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI has full service meeting professionals to assist you in all details and set up of your meeting, conference, or banquet event. The hotel offers over 7000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Holiday Inn Rothschild
Rothschild Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing