We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Nice place I have like this location and also the East Peoria location. Not sure how to get points online from website?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWhetzal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Dear SW,
Thanks for the kind remarks! Currently, you may obtain your Northwoods Traveler ‘points available’ by either asking the Front Desk during a visit or calling any of our 12 properties as well as our toll free reservations number. Statements are sent each calendar quarter. We will soon be introducing an all new website and it will feature the ability for our members to check their point totals on line. Thank you for your business and your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

My cousin got married here so we decided to stay at this hotel. We were pleased with the room and value. The service was great as well. The only downside was that the continental breakfast was just OK...but we got vouchers for a $6 breakfast buffet at the nearby Grand Lodge which was very good. The swimming pool was closed for maintenance but we didn't have time to swim anyway (and we got free passes to the waterpark at the Grand Lodge too).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilylenz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here overnight thursday to friday on the way to st. germain, wi. I have gotten very fussy with were we stay and cleanliness of the rooms. We stayed in the western theme room. Very spacious and clean with a sofa sleeper and fireplace. Bathrooms were very clean and large. We happened to have the pool area all to ourselves that evening , and it too was very nice , with pool and hot tub. We even had pizza delivered to the pool area for the evening.
They had cookies out at the front desk and coffee all evening. For breakfast we were given coupons to use at there waterpark hotel down the road for breakfast there , or could have the continental breakfast at this hotel. Everyone that worked there were great.. We will definetly be back again next year .

Room Tip: This room was close to the elevator and the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We will definitely stay at Stoney Creek again if we are in the wausau area. Very helpful staff, excellent rates, and the breakfast was wonderful. I give them 5 stars, very happy with our stay! I'm glad we didn't stay across the street for 30 dollars more a night!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckymeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Rooms were quiet, well maintained and clean. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Rates were exceptional. Mattress was very comfortable. Heating/cooling unit was sufficiently quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiberguru_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. My brother lives near here and my parents and I went to visit. My brother gets a discount because his company uses this hotel for their work a lot so the price was fabulous! However, even if he didn't get the discount, the pricing is very good for what you get.

We stayed in a room with two double beds. On two different nights we had one of my young nieces stay with us in the room and it wasn't a problem. We also had a group of about 8 people there in the breakfast room one evening for pizza and then swimming.

My only complaints would be about the swimming area being too hot and that they don't switch up the breakfasts at all. They had the same thing all 4 mornings we were there. They were good but nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Tip,
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We are most appreciative of your kind words and that you made the effort to share. I am very happy to tell you that we will soon be implementing a new improved breakfast selection that changes up the daily hot offerings and is designed to improve the experience of guests such as yourself who stay more than a day or two. We will share our comments regarding our pool area with maintenance and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to your brother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I have stayed here several times myself and I hold an annual conference in March of every year. The results are the same and that is why we keep coming back. Rooms and clean and kept updated. Staff is helpful, friendly and courteous. The Northwoods atmosphere is unique and relaxing. I have been using this for 7 years running for our conference. Our conference attendees are always happy. It has a clean, well maintained pool area as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Daigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Wausau, WI
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
505 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
254 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range: £75 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing