We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney Creek Inn is the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Mason City
1 review
“Stoney Creek Inn is the place”
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Excellent value with very nice rooms and recently remodeled rooms, kind staff, wonderful breakfast, loved the swimming pool, definitely would return to this or any other Stoney Creek Inn

  • Liked — Plenty of room, clean, great service
  • Disliked — Wisconsin
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank svandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
82
63
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2007

My husband and I stopped here on our way back home from Chicago after we got married. We decided to stop for the night and had checked out another local hotel and decided it was too expensive. I'm glad we checked this one out.

The price was reasonable and we had an extremely comfortable king sized bed. Though I'm not a huge fan of the log/rustic decor it seemed to work well and that a lot of thought had been put into the design of the hotel. Though we didn't get a chance to use the pool we did check out the pool area and were impressed.

In the morning we enjoyed the variety available for the breakfast, and though there was no dining on site there were several places very close by for a nice dinner.

The clerk who helped us answered all of our questions and even gave us some back story on the hotel which was interesting.

It's definitely one spot that my husband and I plan to visit again when we travel through Wisconsin.

  • Liked — Reasonable price, comfortable and clean.
  • Disliked — Overpriced merchandise in gift shop.
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2007

My family booked a fireplace/whirlpool suite with an adjoining room. The entire hotel is themed in a lodge decor. The suite was big with a large TV, micro and refrigerator. The adjoining room was a typical hotel room.

The pool room was clean. Pool and whirlpool were warm. Also a game room.

There is a nice complimentary breakfast. No on site restaurant, but there are places very close.

The staff was pleasant. The price/value is very good. It's on the same level as a Holiday Inn type hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and lodge feel. Close to Ganite Peak.
  • Disliked — Toilet paper was terrible
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2006

I actually live 10 miles from Stoney Creek Inn and I had always heard good things about the hotel. For my birthday this year my future in-laws came to town and our plans were to stay at the hotel over the weekend and relax in the hot tub.

I booked 2 rooms through their website 2 weeks prior to our stay. I found their on-line reservations system a little frustrating but nothing I couldn't handle or so I thought. After booking two separate reservations, I realized I had booked my fiance's parents room for the wrong day. I immediately called the front desk at the hotel and the man I talked to said it would be no problem to change that for me.

Fast forward to check in day. They see no reservation for my future in-laws. The front desk staff basically told us that they were fully booked and that we were out of luck, we would only have 1 room with 1 bed for 5 people. I ask them to check the reservation that I originally made for the wrong date. They then tell me that it was cancelled 10 minutes after it was created.

Instead of changing the date of the reservation the gentleman I talked to cancelled the reservation. As this was taking place the person I spoke to on the phone "Joe" walks out from the back room. I tell them he is the one I spoke to and he denies it. He actually said there was absolutely no way that I talked to him. I asked if they could check the date and time of the transaction where it proved that not only was he working when this cancellation took place, but low and behold he had made the cancellation.

In the end my in-laws ended staying in the room with my 6 foot tall future brother in-law sleeping on a roll away bed made for a 5 foot tall person. My fiance and I drove home and spend our "weekend away" at home in our own bed. None of this would have really bothered me as much if I would have received at least one "We're Sorry for your inconvenience." Instead the front desk staff argued with me for about 45 minutes over this whole situation. It leaves me to wonder what ever happened to "the customer is always right."

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MgclMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2005

Although the address is Mosinee, this property is closer to Wausau than to the small town of Mosinee. It has a "northwoods" theme. The front desk staff were very courteous and friendly. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The continental breakfast had the typical assortment of carbohydrate-heavy offerings---rolls, muffins, toaster waffles, instant oatmeal, etc. There isn't a restaurant on-site for a real breakfast, but there are some within walking distance (at least during good weather).

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank MNGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing