We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little short of 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2011

It was a very good hotel. It seem clean and the staff was very friendly. We had no real issues. It was quiet and comfortable.
Now I will nit-pick on why it can't get 5 stars in my book:
We got a good discounted rate but I think I would have felt oversold if I would have paid the regular asking price.
The shower needs updating. The showerhead was very weak.
The location is right by some sort of power plant; it takes away from the feel of the Wisconsin vacation.... but most of the hotels are bunched together here so you probably can't avoid that easily.
Breakfast was not very good. The eggs were inedible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolnatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2010

My friends and I stayed at Stoney Creek Wausau in June unexpectedly when bad weather made us stop earlier than we had planned. The front desk staff was very courteous and accomodating. We were given a double room and a single room across the hall from each other. In spite of the fact that the hotel was almost full, it was very quiet. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was good. I have stayed at several Stoney Creek properties (in Quincy, Des Moines, and Galena) and all of them provide comfortable, affordable lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yooperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed at Stone Creek Inn for two nights. It was very quiet, and the beds were nice. The pool area is very dark at night. The continental breakfast area was not very clean- the counters weren't cleared off- and the food wasn't in logical places. The bagels were on one side of the room, while cream cheese was on another. It appeared that a cleaning lady would come by every once in a while to restock, but not clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAl81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear Traveling, I thank you for your positive comments as well as sharing your annoyances. Just so you know, we are reassesing our entire breakfast program with emphasis not just on the food choices, but the layout and logic of our presentations. I will share your concerns regarding improving our speed in keeping it cleaned up as well as the ligting concerns you expressed in the pool area with our General Manager. We hope to see you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My son and I spent one night here on our way to Green Bay and absolutely loved the Stoney Creek Inn.

We had a deluxe room with a microwave and fridge for a great rate.

Beds were very comfortable - really nice pillows.

The hotel is three stories - the lobby was warm and inviting with a fireplace and a rustic look to it. There was a small elevator lobby with a few couches on the third floor.

The bathroom drove home the Northwoods theme with the shower curtain, soap dish and wall hangings. One minor complaint was the relatively small amount of counter space in the bathroom.

The night stand had only an easy to operate clock radio - not one of the high tech clocks in many hotels that are diffiuclt to operate. The remote control for the TV was a regular remote - not one of the typical hotel remotes with various pay options.

Clean, comfortable and safe - would love to come back here sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysuindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

loved the Stoney Creek Inn. It's contemporary rustic. The room was great, extended King with bunks. Very roomy and comfy! The staff was great, the place was clean and quiet. Nice larger sized pool and seating. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed here with our extended family. 14 in (3) suites. Clean and spacious rooms. Fairly close to Granite Peak Ski area. Continental breakfast was "so-so". Large jacuzzi was "over-chlorinated."

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away and chose Stoney Creek Inn from the description and pictures on the internet. I'm glad we did. We stayed in a themed suite and the room was gorgeous. Everything was immaculate and well stocked. The continental breakfast was excellent with many options, rolls, muffins, bagels, french toast and waffles for reheating, biscuits and gravy with juices, milk and coffee. Also coffee is available 24/7. The staff was always courteous and someone was always around to help. If we get out to this area again, we already know we will stay here.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelWhenCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Wausau, WI
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
498 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range: £76 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing