We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My kind of hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My kind of hotel room”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My co-worker observed that the rooms here are slightly smaller (narrower) than average, but that only matters if you're trying to cram a family of 5 into one room. (If you're a romantic couple or a business traveler who wants to *avoid* having a family of 5 sleeping next door, then this is the perfect place to stay.) Staff was pleasant. Room was perfect: immaculately clean and with up-to-date amenities. Sofa, desk, new TV, working WiFi. Sound proof. Wall-control electronic thermostat. Full-sized refrigerator, stove, and microwave with a free bag of unpopped popcorn inside. (Nice touch!) This place is what I look for in any hotel. I would (will) absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadTownMeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
26
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Room was very pleasant. Very clean. Has full size frig, (small kitchenette). They even give you a bag of popcorn for the microwave. We have stayed there before and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mom in illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We needed to be in the area for a family reunion and my husband found this hotel. We have 3 children and often look for hotels that have suites or a separate bedroom as they offer more space. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was! VERY clean. We had a full kitchen (stove, microwave, large fridge/freezer, dishes, etc.) in our 1 bedroom suite, a quite comfortable pull out queen sofa, and we requested a roll away bed. There was still enough room to walk around in the space. Big closets, free washer/dryer (although you would have to buy your own soap), nice TV's/DVD player, did I mention VERY clean? Also, the staff was very friendly and efficient and even called up to our room shortly after we checked in to make sure all was well and that we received the roll away we requested. When we have to travel this way again we will definitely consider this hotel. The only drawback and sometimes a deal breaker---No Pool. Since we were only there 1 night and we had other plans not a big deal, but could be a problem for future stays. Although it is literally right across the street from a large indoor waterpark where we understand you can buy a day pass to play in their pools.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tschin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Really nice place and friendly staff. Like having your own little apartment where you can cook your own food and kick back at the end of the day. Quiet location away from the highway and traffic but close enough to get to everything easy.

Room Tip: They are all good from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glrbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My fiance and I stayed for 2 weeks - a very long time - and we only got our room cleaned twice. The sheets and bedding were not changed, and neither were the towels. We had to go down and get extra supplies on an almost daily basis. To make matters worse, when they did clean, they didn't change the sheets! There was food crumbs and god knows what else in our bed. We went down to complain and the guy at the front desk acted as if he had heard it all before, and gave us new sheets that we had to put on ourselves. They only clean once a week, which is utterly bizarre, because even the cheapest places will clean daily. It was disgusting, and I would NOT reccomend this place to anyone. Who knows how often they REALLY change the sheets and just pretend to. I don't know, I was very disappointed. It would be a nice place if the staff would actually do their jobs. The room was nice though, better than most. Just wish it were clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding. The room came with all the essentials including a stove, refrigerator, and microwave with popcorn included. It was a fantastic room for the money. We already recommended the place to our family the next day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

$92 bucks plus a $25 pet fee mid-week and a nearly empty hotel?? Other than that this is a nice property to stay at. The suites have refrigerator, sink, microwave, & dishwasher. Rooms are larger than average with 10 foot ceilings. Rooms were very clean. Front desk staff was nice. We slept well but not until the person above us stopped walking around. If you stay here get a second floor room.. The night would've been a disaster if there were a couple of drunks up there partying till the wee hours. Comfortable bed too! They have a dedicated dog walk area in the back of the hotel. Free Wifi worked great. I would stay here again.

Why do hotels charge a pet fee? Do they clean the room different after the dog checks out? No. It's just an additional fee they can extort from pet owners. Children do much more damage to hotel rooms than dogs yet they don't charge breeders extra to have kids stay? Stand up and unite dog-owners!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lungfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Address: 803 W Industrial Park Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing