We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Room 325 – Two double bed room

Encountered only friendly employees throughout our stay. We were met with an enthusiastic welcome at check in and throughout the rest of our stay. Front desk staff and cleaning staff were all extremely friendly. At check in we were informed of the room cleaning policy and that we could have clean towels any time we wanted. We would just need to pick some up at the front desk.

The room was very clean and spacious. It was stocked with sufficient toilet paper and paper towels. Bathroom amenities = two bars of soap and an all in one shampoo/conditioner product.

The room had two double beds and a recliner with a flat panel TV. There was a combination desk/kitchen table set up with two chairs. Room was well lit. No problem with HVAC.

Large closet with plenty of hangers.

Kitchenette Area
Full size refrigerator
Dishwasher
Two burner stove top
Microwave (with popcorn)
Coffee pot (with coffee)
Toaster
A sign in the room indicated that a toaster oven could be borrowed for the night
An assortment of dishes, pots, pans etc.

Dog Policy
The hotel is dog friendly. They only allow dogs on a specific floor or floors. We were originally placed on the “no dogs allowed floor” (second floor), but were moved to a different floor when they saw we had a dog. There was an additional fee of $25.00 per stay for dogs.

Sound
No issue with sound from other rooms. The only time sound was heard was if I was standing next to the door. Then some hallway noise was audible.

Location
It is located directly across the street from an indoor water park. An outlet mall, grocery store and a Gander Mountain store are close by. Fast food choices include an Arby’s, Subway and Culver’s.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Wausau! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. I have shared this review with our staff so that they are all aware of the great job that they are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

I was in town for work and got a corporate rate here. The rooms were roomy with a full fridge, micro & stove top. There is a grocery store near so I went to get dinner and items for breakfast . Worked out well. Bed was good and once I got the temp regulated it was all good. I would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I really love this hotel. To me this is a classic "up north" hotel where the staff really cares about every customer and does everything they can to make every stay successful.

Rooms: The rooms are spacious and clean. They have a nice kitchenette and big comfortable beds. I also love to nap in the leather chair in the room as well.

Extras:
1. Borrow a movie. They have a whole list of movies you can borrow for free at the front desk and watch in your room.
2. Outdoor BBQ. They have a BBQ out back that you can use for free. Just ask the front desk for utensils.
3. Pantry. It is nice to have a place in the lobby to purchase a little snack or treat. The prices are also reasonable.

I love staying at this hotel. Everyone is so nice and the hotel is clean. I will return to the hotel and I recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souixtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return again. If there's anything that we can do for you when you return please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Pros - the staff was extremely kind and helpful! Anything that was needed was provided with a smile:). The kitchen was a definite plus; particularly in light of the fact that there was no complimentary breakfast. The one-bedroom suite with the living room offered enough room for a family and the dog:)

Cons - While I know this is a pet-friendly property (in fact, we brought our dog along), it is not as clean as others we've stayed in. When my daughter pulled out the sleeper sofa, we had to wipe it down with multiple wet paper towels to get all the hair and dirt off of it. I placed the towels in a baggie and discreetly showed it to the front desk. They smiled and threw them away. Each day, at the entrance to the hotel, the garbage can was overflowing with beer and soda cans/bottles and cigarette butts were all around. The same was true of the gazebo/grill area. I had to ask for the over-flowing garbage to be picked up (which they promptly did:) and the leftover food to be swept away.

If you're planning to stay here, be aware that they offer weekly (not daily) housekeeping as a standard. I had to empty our own garbage daily, and if you wanted fresh linens, you needed to take the used ones to the front desk for an exchange. Not a really big deal, but just an FYI...

With so many options available for various properties, we probably would not return to this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oriole54499, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review and we do appreciate your feedback. I apologize for any of the inconveniences that you had throughout your stay and I want you to know that we are using this information to better the services at the hotel. We have just this week hired on addition staff to be able to help with emptying garbages and keeping up the cleaniness of the hotel for busy weekends like the time that you were just here.
Again I appreciate your feedback and we hope that you will keep us in mind for the next time that you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My co-worker observed that the rooms here are slightly smaller (narrower) than average, but that only matters if you're trying to cram a family of 5 into one room. (If you're a romantic couple or a business traveler who wants to *avoid* having a family of 5 sleeping next door, then this is the perfect place to stay.) Staff was pleasant. Room was perfect: immaculately clean and with up-to-date amenities. Sofa, desk, new TV, working WiFi. Sound proof. Wall-control electronic thermostat. Full-sized refrigerator, stove, and microwave with a free bag of unpopped popcorn inside. (Nice touch!) This place is what I look for in any hotel. I would (will) absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadTownMeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Room was very pleasant. Very clean. Has full size frig, (small kitchenette). They even give you a bag of popcorn for the microwave. We have stayed there before and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We needed to be in the area for a family reunion and my husband found this hotel. We have 3 children and often look for hotels that have suites or a separate bedroom as they offer more space. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was! VERY clean. We had a full kitchen (stove, microwave, large fridge/freezer, dishes, etc.) in our 1 bedroom suite, a quite comfortable pull out queen sofa, and we requested a roll away bed. There was still enough room to walk around in the space. Big closets, free washer/dryer (although you would have to buy your own soap), nice TV's/DVD player, did I mention VERY clean? Also, the staff was very friendly and efficient and even called up to our room shortly after we checked in to make sure all was well and that we received the roll away we requested. When we have to travel this way again we will definitely consider this hotel. The only drawback and sometimes a deal breaker---No Pool. Since we were only there 1 night and we had other plans not a big deal, but could be a problem for future stays. Although it is literally right across the street from a large indoor waterpark where we understand you can buy a day pass to play in their pools.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tschin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Wausau, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Address: 803 W Industrial Park Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range: £75 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing