We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

we were in town for some business, we generally stay at a different hotel but they decided not to honor the rate I have received there for the past 2 years so we stayed here. All I can do is thenk the Days for not honoring the rate, this hotel is far superior, much nicer in every way! When we return to Wausau area this is where we will be staying,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chevydmax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
26
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We met with some friends who stayed at the water park because they brought their son & a friend. We did not want to spend the money at a hotel that we wouldn't use. We stayed at the Candlewood Suites and were very happy with the friendliness of the staff and the price. As it turned out, the water park was located across the street. When we were in our suite, I went to get some ice. The person at the front desk saw me, came out with 2 bags of ice and said that the refrigerator in our room makes ice for our convenience. Our room was clean and the sheets were very comfortable. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Nice location of this clean and comfortable hotel. Spacious rooms with a relaxing feel after a long drive. Full fridge with microwave adds a great touch. Small fitness room but fits the average need. Very friendly staff at check-in and check-out. No breakfast offered at all, many items to purchase in the hotel lobby to take back to room. There is grocery store right in area if you think about stopping before the night to have something to make in the A.M. Restaurants and bars are just a half block away, you could and would walk it in the warmer months.

Great place to stay, I would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Candlewood Suites Wausau, we greatly appreciate it when our valued guests let us know how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything that we can do to improve your stay please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

October 26th, 2012 - Only stayed for one night, we were just passing through for a weekend of college tours. Front desk was friendly and informative. Rooms were very clean and larger than expected. 2 queen beds with plenty of pillows. Bathrooms were spotless! Couldn't have asked for anything else. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone. It is beyond me how someone could rate this hotel as terrible, give me a break!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover4ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
We are so glad that you decided to stay with us when visiting the colleges in the area and thank you for your review. We appreciate that you are willing to take the time to let us know how we did. I'll be sure to pass your review on to all of our staff as well and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. We wish you the best of luck on your search for colleges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Room 325 – Two double bed room

Encountered only friendly employees throughout our stay. We were met with an enthusiastic welcome at check in and throughout the rest of our stay. Front desk staff and cleaning staff were all extremely friendly. At check in we were informed of the room cleaning policy and that we could have clean towels any time we wanted. We would just need to pick some up at the front desk.

The room was very clean and spacious. It was stocked with sufficient toilet paper and paper towels. Bathroom amenities = two bars of soap and an all in one shampoo/conditioner product.

The room had two double beds and a recliner with a flat panel TV. There was a combination desk/kitchen table set up with two chairs. Room was well lit. No problem with HVAC.

Large closet with plenty of hangers.

Kitchenette Area
Full size refrigerator
Dishwasher
Two burner stove top
Microwave (with popcorn)
Coffee pot (with coffee)
Toaster
A sign in the room indicated that a toaster oven could be borrowed for the night
An assortment of dishes, pots, pans etc.

Dog Policy
The hotel is dog friendly. They only allow dogs on a specific floor or floors. We were originally placed on the “no dogs allowed floor” (second floor), but were moved to a different floor when they saw we had a dog. There was an additional fee of $25.00 per stay for dogs.

Sound
No issue with sound from other rooms. The only time sound was heard was if I was standing next to the door. Then some hallway noise was audible.

Location
It is located directly across the street from an indoor water park. An outlet mall, grocery store and a Gander Mountain store are close by. Fast food choices include an Arby’s, Subway and Culver’s.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Wausau! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. I have shared this review with our staff so that they are all aware of the great job that they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
309 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

I was in town for work and got a corporate rate here. The rooms were roomy with a full fridge, micro & stove top. There is a grocery store near so I went to get dinner and items for breakfast . Worked out well. Bed was good and once I got the temp regulated it was all good. I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I really love this hotel. To me this is a classic "up north" hotel where the staff really cares about every customer and does everything they can to make every stay successful.

Rooms: The rooms are spacious and clean. They have a nice kitchenette and big comfortable beds. I also love to nap in the leather chair in the room as well.

Extras:
1. Borrow a movie. They have a whole list of movies you can borrow for free at the front desk and watch in your room.
2. Outdoor BBQ. They have a BBQ out back that you can use for free. Just ask the front desk for utensils.
3. Pantry. It is nice to have a place in the lobby to purchase a little snack or treat. The prices are also reasonable.

I love staying at this hotel. Everyone is so nice and the hotel is clean. I will return to the hotel and I recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank souixtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return again. If there's anything that we can do for you when you return please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Address: 803 W Industrial Park Dr, Rothschild, WI 54474-7900 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing